We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Food Tour in Delhi

Food Tour in Delhi
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 131.00*
and up
Full Day Food Tour Of New Delhi & Old Delhi
Ranked #1 of 224 Shopping in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer customised food tours, cooking classes, photography walks, and shopping tours in Delhi city These tour services are meant for tourists who want to explore authentic Indian cuisine, sights, heritage and charms of new and old India. We listen to what guests really want and design our tours according to their needs. Our focus is on promotion of real Indian cuisine and culture as experienced by residents of New Delhi. The tours showcase best of Indian sights and food served by reputed food vendors who have been in business for 3 or more generations at the same spot. With us, you'll get the real India experience. Number of dishes included in our food tours vary between 15-30 depending upon type of food tour chosen. Guests can also combine these food tours with photography walk, tea tasting and many other exciting activities. Free pick up and drop facilities from hotel in air-conditioned vehicles, bottled water, wipes, sanitizer are included in tour price at no extra cost. Food safety and hygiene plays a very important part in everything we do and all of food vendors included in our tours have impeccable reputations for good food and hygiene.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 8 December 2013

On our first day in India it was raining and thunderstorms, but that most definatley did not dampen our spirits, this was one of the most wonderful tours we did, it was beyond our expectations all the food was exceptional and our 2 wonderful tour guides were beyond amazing, thank you Raj and Jaidev, the was very informative and delicious, visiting places that you would not see if you travelled by yourself. If i was to ever visit again i would definatley do this tour again.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank BarryDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Hello Barry,

It's so nice to hear from you again. We too remember that rainy day and still appreciate your decision to go ahead with the tour. In a way it was good as the weather got cooler. It was a great experience meeting you and your friends.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"indian food"
in 87 reviews
"street food"
in 46 reviews
"sikh temple"
in 39 reviews
"hand sanitizer"
in 18 reviews
"spice market"
in 34 reviews
"curries"
in 13 reviews
"kulfi"
in 15 reviews
"great introduction"
in 13 reviews
"butter chicken"
in 7 reviews
"cultural experience"
in 7 reviews
"perfect guide"
in 5 reviews
"an absolute"
in 5 reviews
"rickshaw ride"
in 9 reviews
"indian culture"
in 11 reviews
"old dehli"
in 5 reviews
"great company"
in 5 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 8 reviews
Filter

511 - 515 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

This would have to be one of the highlights of our India trip.

Communications prior to the tour was prompt, fuss free and easy. It was also great that full payment is to be made after the tour is over - I was thinking if we were unhappy with the service we can opt to not pay the full amount. Haha... but of course that did not happen. We had a great time, Rajeev and Jaidev were the perfect hosts.

What I love most about the tour is it is not only about food. Rajeev & Jaidev also took the time to explain so much about their wonderful city, stories behind certain structure/building and their culture. It's also a bonus that they are both very well versed in English, very warm and have a good sense of humour. We really had an enjoyable time :)

The tour was well planned and executed - we had to be reminded (again & again!) not to eat too much as we go along but it's hard not to considering that all the food was delicious. They had a short break in between (an attempt to help us digest the food we had in order to feed us more food!) and took us to a Sikh temple which was something we would not think of going. I'm glad we did, it was an awesome experience.

I lost count of the number of food we tasted but all were tasty and delicious. They are very particular about hygiene and how the food is prepared. The places might not seem to pass the usual hygiene standards that we are used to back at home but just trust them on this - we survived the tour with no Delhi Bellies. So that's a testament.

All in all, if you want to try real Indian food in a real Indian setting then this tour is for you.

Tips:
- Wear comfortable pants/clothing (stretchable might be best!)
- Do this on your first day in Delhi. We feel that exploring the city with the locals without commercial influences was great and gave us added confidence to later roam about and navigate through Chandni Chowk and Chawri Bazar by ourselves.
- We had our tour at 2pm and they planned the timings perfectly for us to catch sunset on top of the spice market building, which was awesome.
- DO NOT have a heavy meal prior to the tour, keep it light.

Date of experience: November 2013
1  Thank Haz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Hey Haz,,

Doing the tour with you was one of the most fun and eye-opening experience we had in a while. We're glad that you chose us and enjoyed the tour. Stay in touch and keep traveling.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

An absolutely amazing tour. Raj and Jaidev have put together one of the most fun, informative, and delicious tours we have been on anywhere in the world.

Be ready for a long night of eating and learning. The tour is a bit expensive but it’s absolutely worth it. Raj and Jaidev are very selective about the places they take you, so every bite tastes great, but you also know that everything is relatively hygenicallly prepared. All of the vendors are multigenerational businesses who really care about their food and are proud to have you try it.

Do yourself a favor an book this tour. Raj and Jaidev are great hosts and great people.

Date of experience: November 2013
1  Thank ZManSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for this review. It was a great experience for us too and thanks once more for referring your friends too. We had an awesome time with you all and look forward to repeat the experience whenever you're in India next time.

Thanks & Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Really entertaining, enlightening and tasty perspective of the city. Well devised and delivered. Highly recommend to anyone with a few days in Delhi. Great way to see parts that you wouldn't otherwise see. Enjoy.

Date of experience: December 2013
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Hello Paul,

Thank you very much for this review. It's very nice to know that you could enjoy this tour even after being so familiar with Indian food.We hope that your stay in India will be fruitful and productive.

Thanks & Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The trouble with writing this review is that I want to get over how much good food, fun and excitement this tour provided without spoiling any surprises that you will experience if you book it.

I am a greedy englishmen who has been cooking and eating Indian food all of my adult life. I have been lucky to make friends with a great many Indians while living in London for the past 13 years and they have taken me to the best Indian places to be had in the city (and there are many). They were good, really good but the food we had on this tour of old and new Delhi was in a different league. We had dishes I knew and ones that I didn't. We had dishes that I thought I knew but I now know different. The lassi, oh my the lassi. I used to be fairly ambivalent towards lassi, now I'm trying to find a local potter to make me a clay mug (you'll find out)

The food alone would have made this a great experience, but in addition to that the company of Rajeev and Jaidev made it all the more special. Their knowledge is encyclopaedic but more than that they were both very warm lads with a great sense of humour. We were out with them for 8.5 hours from when they picked us up from our hotel until when they dropped us back and the time flew by.

The last thing to say is please go on this tour. If you do I pretty much guarantee that you will recommend it to everyone else.

Have fun and have a light lunch!

Date of experience: November 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank aurum1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Hello,

It's so nice to hear from you again. Thank you very much for writing this review and staying in touch. We had a great time traveling with you and hope to repeat it again very soon with your favourite lassi


Thanks & Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Food Tour in Delhi also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Food Tour in Delhi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing