We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding and delicious!”
Review of Food Tour in Delhi

Food Tour in Delhi
Ranked #1 of 207 Shopping in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer customised food tours, cooking classes, photography walks, and shopping tours in Delhi city These tour services are meant for tourists who want to explore authentic Indian cuisine, sights, heritage and charms of new and old India. We listen to what guests really want and design our tours according to their needs. Our focus is on promotion of real Indian cuisine and culture as experienced by residents of New Delhi. The tours showcase best of Indian sights and food served by reputed food vendors who have been in business for 3 or more generations at the same spot. With us, you'll get the real India experience. Number of dishes included in our food tours vary between 15-30 depending upon type of food tour chosen. Guests can also combine these food tours with photography walk, tea tasting and many other exciting activities. Free pick up and drop facilities from hotel in air-conditioned vehicles, bottled water, wipes, sanitizer are included in tour price at no extra cost. Food safety and hygiene plays a very important part in everything we do and all of food vendors included in our tours have impeccable reputations for good food and hygiene.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 5 December 2013

An absolutely amazing tour. Raj and Jaidev have put together one of the most fun, informative, and delicious tours we have been on anywhere in the world.

Be ready for a long night of eating and learning. The tour is a bit expensive but it’s absolutely worth it. Raj and Jaidev are very selective about the places they take you, so every bite tastes great, but you also know that everything is relatively hygenicallly prepared. All of the vendors are multigenerational businesses who really care about their food and are proud to have you try it.

Do yourself a favor an book this tour. Raj and Jaidev are great hosts and great people.

1  Thank ZManSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for this review. It was a great experience for us too and thanks once more for referring your friends too. We had an awesome time with you all and look forward to repeat the experience whenever you're in India next time.

Thanks & Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"indian food"
in 81 reviews
"street food"
in 41 reviews
"sikh temple"
in 39 reviews
"hand sanitizer"
in 16 reviews
"spice market"
in 32 reviews
"curries"
in 12 reviews
"kulfi"
in 13 reviews
"great introduction"
in 12 reviews
"butter chicken"
in 7 reviews
"cultural experience"
in 7 reviews
"different parts"
in 5 reviews
"rickshaw ride"
in 9 reviews
"indian culture"
in 11 reviews
"great company"
in 5 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 5 reviews
"chandni chowk"
in 10 reviews
"paratha"
in 10 reviews
Filter

466 - 470 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Really entertaining, enlightening and tasty perspective of the city. Well devised and delivered. Highly recommend to anyone with a few days in Delhi. Great way to see parts that you wouldn't otherwise see. Enjoy.

1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Hello Paul,

Thank you very much for this review. It's very nice to know that you could enjoy this tour even after being so familiar with Indian food.We hope that your stay in India will be fruitful and productive.

Thanks & Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The trouble with writing this review is that I want to get over how much good food, fun and excitement this tour provided without spoiling any surprises that you will experience if you book it.

I am a greedy englishmen who has been cooking and eating Indian food all of my adult life. I have been lucky to make friends with a great many Indians while living in London for the past 13 years and they have taken me to the best Indian places to be had in the city (and there are many). They were good, really good but the food we had on this tour of old and new Delhi was in a different league. We had dishes I knew and ones that I didn't. We had dishes that I thought I knew but I now know different. The lassi, oh my the lassi. I used to be fairly ambivalent towards lassi, now I'm trying to find a local potter to make me a clay mug (you'll find out)

The food alone would have made this a great experience, but in addition to that the company of Rajeev and Jaidev made it all the more special. Their knowledge is encyclopaedic but more than that they were both very warm lads with a great sense of humour. We were out with them for 8.5 hours from when they picked us up from our hotel until when they dropped us back and the time flew by.

The last thing to say is please go on this tour. If you do I pretty much guarantee that you will recommend it to everyone else.

Have fun and have a light lunch!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank aurum1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Hello,

It's so nice to hear from you again. Thank you very much for writing this review and staying in touch. We had a great time traveling with you and hope to repeat it again very soon with your favourite lassi


Thanks & Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This tour exceeded our wildest expectations - we saw parts of Delhi we would have never experienced, ate a ton of great food, learned about the city, its culture, its different neighbourhoods, all the while receiving first class white glove service with Raj and Jaidev! From start to finish everything was perfect.

Highlights (among many others) must have been exploring Old Delhi, sampling ice cream prepared inside a mango, a trip to the spice market (be prepared to sneeze a lot), touring the kitchen of the temple, and of course the amazing food all throughout. Make sure to save some space for the last stop! We even went back to one of the places the following day by ourselves to buy more chocolate. By the end of the evening we were completely stuffed, which was a shame, because Raj and Jaidev were ready to keep us going - maybe a missed opportunity to experience Delhi after hours! (but perhaps a good excuse to return again soon to do the tour one more time ;-)

Overall a great way to spend a day in Delhi, to see things off the beaten tourist trail, and something I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

1  Thank Joan4891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for the kind words. We're really glad to know that you enjoyed the tour so much, especially since we loved it too. It was a pleasure to explore Delhi and cuisine with you and we look forward to seeing you again. There is still a lot which you should see.


Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I wish my brain had more storage space for the sights, sounds, smells, tastes, etc that i experience on this tour. This is a first class operation and very personable. follow the guides lead to a world that most foodies can only read about or watch on TV.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
4  Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hello Mike,

It's so nice to hear from you again and thank you very much for writing this review. That day was one of the the best and most memorable one for us too. Next time you're here, we'll try our best to include visit to embassy too

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Food Tour in Delhi also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Food Tour in Delhi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing