We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolute "must do" when in Delhi”
Review of Food Tour in Delhi

Food Tour in Delhi
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 45.20*
and up
Old Delhi Street Food Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 191 Shopping in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer customised food tours, cooking classes, photography walks, and shopping tours in Delhi city These tour services are meant for tourists who want to explore authentic Indian cuisine, sights, heritage and charms of new and old India. We listen to what guests really want and design our tours according to their needs. Our focus is on promotion of real Indian cuisine and culture as experienced by residents of New Delhi. The tours showcase best of Indian sights and food served by reputed food vendors who have been in business for 3 or more generations at the same spot. With us, you'll get the real India experience. Number of dishes included in our food tours vary between 15-30 depending upon type of food tour chosen. Guests can also combine these food tours with photography walk, tea tasting and many other exciting activities. Free pick up and drop facilities from hotel in air-conditioned vehicles, bottled water, wipes, sanitizer are included in tour price at no extra cost. Food safety and hygiene plays a very important part in everything we do and all of food vendors included in our tours have impeccable reputations for good food and hygiene.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I wish my brain had more storage space for the sights, sounds, smells, tastes, etc that i experience on this tour. This is a first class operation and very personable. follow the guides lead to a world that most foodies can only read about or watch on TV.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
4  Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hello Mike,

It's so nice to hear from you again and thank you very much for writing this review. That day was one of the the best and most memorable one for us too. Next time you're here, we'll try our best to include visit to embassy too

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 422 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is easily in the Top Ten of my all time best travel experiences!! Having visited Delhi about 20 times in my life, I've never come close to experiencing the journey that JD and Rajeev took us on. In my opinion, it's a must do for any traveler that has a love of food and culture. The places they took me and my friend Mike (from Chicago) to, even my Delhi residing relatives would not have been able to find. You can not do this on your own, I promise you. Besides the incredible tastes, these two were able to feed our ears, our noses and our soul. Oh, they're also hilarious, knowledgable and incredibly professional. All the places they take you to have been certified through years of research by JD and Rajeev to be safe and hygenic. Rajeev also pours hand sanitizer on your hands about every five minutes! JD will take snaps so you can focus on your five senses instead of fumbling with you camera. I highly recommend this to any visitor of this amazing city!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
5  Thank colombiaorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hi,

Thank you very much for " Top Ten of my all time best travel experiences!". Coming from someone like you, it is a great honour and encouragement, Traveling with you was an eye opening and awesome experience for us too.It was a very enjoyable and day to remember.


Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My brothers and i never stay in India and this is the first experience in our first day in Dheli. TAKE THIS TOUR because the owner is simply fantastic. All food is great, and thank to Rajeev we see an incredible place that never can see if don't stay whit him. The food is very varice but this not only street food, but and point of view intorno the indian,s culture. Higtly suggest. He take pick-up to drop off, very friendly, professional and if you Red other comment is ALL TRUE!!! CANNOT MISS.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
3  Thank MattewTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hello Matthew,

Thank you very much for writing this review. It's very good to know that you loved the food tour. It was an excellent experience for us too. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in India as well.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife and I enjoyed the street food tour of Delhi on 18 October 2013. What a fantastic way to start a vacation! Jaidev and Rajeev were the perfect hosts, informative and sociable, and took us to places we would never have heard of and would never have found. From hotel pick-up to drop-off, it was quite perfect: air-conditioned car, bottles of water, hand wipes after each food stall (how thoughtful!). The food and food-customs are all put in historical and cultural contexts making this a real learning experience. If you are British and think you know Indian food, you may have to think again and expand your horizons. Don't worry about getting sick from the food. Rajeev and Jaidev have never had customers get ill after their tours, and all the places they take you are tried and trusted. Be prepared to get close to the bustle, noise, and smells of Old Delhi, and be prepared to cough when in the spice market (the chili dust is lung-penetrating stuff!). Don't hesitate to tell them your preferences because you will find them as flexible as you want them to be. Jaidev also took photos of us at the various locations and later sent us links where we could download. Quite wonderful. Don't hesitate to book this tour. You won't regret it. I never flatter. All the other reviews on this page are spot on. Book it. Now.

3  Thank KeithUK1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for writing this review. We're really glad that you enjoyed your day in Delhi with us. It was a very good learning and enjoyable experience for us too and we look forward to meet you again

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

If you have a single day in Delhi - even a half day! -and do nothing else, TAKE THIS TOUR. As an Indian food enthusiast and adventurous traveler, the Indian Food Tour in Delhi was one of the most enjoyable travel experiences of my entire life.

Rajeev and Jaidev were professional, communicative, humorous, friendly, and protective - all the qualities you'd want in tour guides and food experts, especially in a country where street food and culture can be intimidating.

From our first bite of curry in Chandni Chowk to our last late-night beer in New Delhi, this tour was nonstop action, learning, and flavor. We sampled chaat, sniffed and sneezed our way through the spice market, tasted a kebab unlike any other, discovered new Indian breads and curries we'd never tried before in the States, feasted on kulfi fit for a king (truly - the ice cream maker caters royal and celebrity weddings), visited a Sikh temple food kitchen, checked out European-style chicken pastries and artisan chocolate at Connaught Place, and finished up with a laid-back evening at a local live music joint where we heard awesome indie musicians over some spicy french fries.

You truly cannot miss this one-of-a-kind experience - Rajeev tailors everything to YOUR tastes, YOUR preferences and YOUR timeline, meaning the tour can be as short as 5 hours and as long as...all night! You will be able to taste foods you would never try on your own and learn the food and cultural histories of everything you eat - Rajeev is a born-and-bred Delhi food expert, and it shows.

If ever we return to Delhi, the first call we'll make is to Rajeev for a "redux." Cannot miss!

6  Thank amandaebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Hello Amanda.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We too had an awesome time with you
It's really an honour when someone says that the tour was one of most enjoyable experiences they ever had. It really means a lot to us.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Food Tour in Delhi also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Food Tour in Delhi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing