We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Food Tour in Delhi tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Food Tour in Delhi
from US$ 131.00
More Info
from US$ 55.00
More Info
from US$ 45.20
More Info
from US$ 83.88
More Info
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveller rating
471
22
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
471
22
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indian food street food sikh temple hand sanitizer spice market curries kulfi great introduction butter chicken cultural experience perfect guide an absolute rickshaw ride old dehli great company an amazing experience chandni chowk
Filter
Updating list...
454 - 459 of 499 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

If you have a single day in Delhi - even a half day! -and do nothing else, TAKE THIS TOUR. As an Indian food enthusiast and adventurous traveler, the Indian Food Tour in Delhi was one of the most enjoyable travel experiences of my entire life.

Rajeev and Jaidev were professional, communicative, humorous, friendly, and protective - all the qualities you'd want in tour guides and food experts, especially in a country where street food and culture can be intimidating.

From our first bite of curry in Chandni Chowk to our last late-night beer in New Delhi, this tour was nonstop action, learning, and flavor. We sampled chaat, sniffed and sneezed our way through the spice market, tasted a kebab unlike any other, discovered new Indian breads and curries we'd never tried before in the States, feasted on kulfi fit for a king (truly - the ice cream maker caters royal and celebrity weddings), visited a Sikh temple food kitchen, checked out European-style chicken pastries and artisan chocolate at Connaught Place, and finished up with a laid-back evening at a local live music joint where we heard awesome indie musicians over some spicy french fries.

You truly cannot miss this one-of-a-kind experience - Rajeev tailors everything to YOUR tastes, YOUR preferences and YOUR timeline, meaning the tour can be as short as 5 hours and as long as...all night! You will be able to taste foods you would never try on your own and learn the food and cultural histories of everything you eat - Rajeev is a born-and-bred Delhi food expert, and it shows.

If ever we return to Delhi, the first call we'll make is to Rajeev for a "redux." Cannot miss!

Date of experience: October 2013
6  Thank amandaebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Hello Amanda.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We too had an awesome time with you
It's really an honour when someone says that the tour was one of most enjoyable experiences they ever had. It really means a lot to us.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were very brave and signed up for this food tour on our first day in Delhi (and first time in India). There were five of us, four baby boomers and a fourteen year old, keen to learn more about the culture but more than a little concerned about what we might be confronted with.

Rajeev and JD could not have taken better care of us over NINE amazing hours, experiencing the tastes, stories, sensations, sound, spirit, movement, and traffic chaos of Delhi. This is a unique way to experience the food culture of Delhi with someone who has strong vision and knowledge of what makes the city's street food so special and is absolutely passionate about sharing it.

Yes, there were some concerning moments. Downing those cold sloppy green filled chaats in one mouthful was one of the more difficult moments for me - but an experience not to be missed nevertheless.

A highlight of the tour was the visit to the spice market at sunset. The chilli fumes were so strong it catches your breath - and trading is continuous no matter what the time of the day. But seeing it at this time of the day, with the workers framed by the evening light and smoke from cooking fires was a very memorable experience.

Despite our first day in Delhi anxieties we had NO negative outcomes from eating the huge range of foods that Rajeev and JD introduced us to on this tour. This tour is a unique, not to be missed Delhi experience.

Date of experience: September 2013
5  Thank Purplefig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Hello,

Thank you veru much for this excellent review. We're really happy to know that your food tour in Delhi was up to your expectations and enjoyable. We hope that the rest of your journey was as enjoyable.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The time we spent in this tour was as good as it can get. Not only we had some truly excellent Indian food, but also experienced some amazing things which you can't find anywhere else. Right from some amazing food from oldest and most famous food places to rikshaw rides in chaotic lanes of Old Delhi to that walk in spice market; everything was wonderful.

Best thing that I liked was this tour was much more than just a normal food tour. Our tour guide Rajeev took us to many attractions of the city and explained everything in detail. Everything during the tour was related to the food culture of city in one way or the other and it was really great.. We had the chance to visit a charitable kitchen of a Sikh temple and it was a moving experience. The walk through crowded markets too was very unique and must do for everyone. Thankfully we were never presented with a sales pitch as faced by most tourists almost all over the world and we really enjoyed our walk. .

As far as food is concerned, I don't have any doubts about it. If you love Indian food, then do this tour. You'll not regret the decision.

Date of experience: September 2013
2  Thank BagginsF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Hello,

Thank a lot for writing this review for us. We're really glad to know that you enjoyed the food as well as sightseeing. We had a great time exploring Delhi with you.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a very good activity for tourists who want to try real Indian food when traveling in New Delhi. There is a very large variety of very delicious food available in New Delhi and this tour is the best way of exploring it and the city. We started this tour early evening via pickup from our hotel and spent almost 7 hours eating the best Indian food as well as sightseeing some very unique places which are hard to find anywhere else. Our food expert, Rajeev was very friendly and explained everything we had in good detail. We specially liked the part about eating in places which were being run for generations. It was a delicious taste of Indian history and culture.

Date of experience: September 2013
6  Thank Bessi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelhiFoodTour, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

HI,

Thank you very much for the "Best culinary tour" tag and the excellent review. It's very much appreciated. We're very happy to know that you liked the food tour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

With only a quick two days off of work to enjoy India, Rajeev was able to accommodate my last minute request to participate in a food tour. The food tour was incredible and definitely the highlight of my trip! I was able to try numerous delicious street food options while also getting to take in the sights of Delhi. Rajeev and Jaidev were also excellent host.

Very highly recommended for any food lover!

Date of experience: October 2013
12  Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelhiFoodTour, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Hello Lindsay,

It so nice to hear from you. Thank you very much for writing this review. We're really glad that you liked the tour and thanks for the kind words. We look forward to meet you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews