We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Food Tours of Delhi”
Review of Food Tour in Delhi

Food Tour in Delhi
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 83.88*
and up
Experience Indian Food: Delhi Food Tour
More Info
US$ 55.00*
and up
4-Hour Old Delhi Food Tour
More Info
US$ 95.00*
and up
Indian Cooking Class
Ranked #1 of 188 Shopping in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer customised food tours, cooking classes, photography walks, and shopping tours in Delhi city These tour services are meant for tourists who want to explore authentic Indian cuisine, sights, heritage and charms of new and old India. We listen to what guests really want and design our tours according to their needs. Our focus is on promotion of real Indian cuisine and culture as experienced by residents of New Delhi. The tours showcase best of Indian sights and food served by reputed food vendors who have been in business for 3 or more generations at the same spot. With us, you'll get the real India experience. Number of dishes included in our food tours vary between 15-30 depending upon type of food tour chosen. Guests can also combine these food tours with photography walk, tea tasting and many other exciting activities. Free pick up and drop facilities from hotel in air-conditioned vehicles, bottled water, wipes, sanitizer are included in tour price at no extra cost. Food safety and hygiene plays a very important part in everything we do and all of food vendors included in our tours have impeccable reputations for good food and hygiene.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife and I enjoyed the street food tour of Delhi on 18 October 2013. What a fantastic way to start a vacation! Jaidev and Rajeev were the perfect hosts, informative and sociable, and took us to places we would never have heard of and would never have found. From hotel pick-up to drop-off, it was quite perfect: air-conditioned car, bottles of water, hand wipes after each food stall (how thoughtful!). The food and food-customs are all put in historical and cultural contexts making this a real learning experience. If you are British and think you know Indian food, you may have to think again and expand your horizons. Don't worry about getting sick from the food. Rajeev and Jaidev have never had customers get ill after their tours, and all the places they take you are tried and trusted. Be prepared to get close to the bustle, noise, and smells of Old Delhi, and be prepared to cough when in the spice market (the chili dust is lung-penetrating stuff!). Don't hesitate to tell them your preferences because you will find them as flexible as you want them to be. Jaidev also took photos of us at the various locations and later sent us links where we could download. Quite wonderful. Don't hesitate to book this tour. You won't regret it. I never flatter. All the other reviews on this page are spot on. Book it. Now.

3  Thank KeithUK1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for writing this review. We're really glad that you enjoyed your day in Delhi with us. It was a very good learning and enjoyable experience for us too and we look forward to meet you again

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 388 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

If you have a single day in Delhi - even a half day! -and do nothing else, TAKE THIS TOUR. As an Indian food enthusiast and adventurous traveler, the Indian Food Tour in Delhi was one of the most enjoyable travel experiences of my entire life.

Rajeev and Jaidev were professional, communicative, humorous, friendly, and protective - all the qualities you'd want in tour guides and food experts, especially in a country where street food and culture can be intimidating.

From our first bite of curry in Chandni Chowk to our last late-night beer in New Delhi, this tour was nonstop action, learning, and flavor. We sampled chaat, sniffed and sneezed our way through the spice market, tasted a kebab unlike any other, discovered new Indian breads and curries we'd never tried before in the States, feasted on kulfi fit for a king (truly - the ice cream maker caters royal and celebrity weddings), visited a Sikh temple food kitchen, checked out European-style chicken pastries and artisan chocolate at Connaught Place, and finished up with a laid-back evening at a local live music joint where we heard awesome indie musicians over some spicy french fries.

You truly cannot miss this one-of-a-kind experience - Rajeev tailors everything to YOUR tastes, YOUR preferences and YOUR timeline, meaning the tour can be as short as 5 hours and as long as...all night! You will be able to taste foods you would never try on your own and learn the food and cultural histories of everything you eat - Rajeev is a born-and-bred Delhi food expert, and it shows.

If ever we return to Delhi, the first call we'll make is to Rajeev for a "redux." Cannot miss!

6  Thank amandaebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Hello Amanda.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We too had an awesome time with you
It's really an honour when someone says that the tour was one of most enjoyable experiences they ever had. It really means a lot to us.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were very brave and signed up for this food tour on our first day in Delhi (and first time in India). There were five of us, four baby boomers and a fourteen year old, keen to learn more about the culture but more than a little concerned about what we might be confronted with.

Rajeev and JD could not have taken better care of us over NINE amazing hours, experiencing the tastes, stories, sensations, sound, spirit, movement, and traffic chaos of Delhi. This is a unique way to experience the food culture of Delhi with someone who has strong vision and knowledge of what makes the city's street food so special and is absolutely passionate about sharing it.

Yes, there were some concerning moments. Downing those cold sloppy green filled chaats in one mouthful was one of the more difficult moments for me - but an experience not to be missed nevertheless.

A highlight of the tour was the visit to the spice market at sunset. The chilli fumes were so strong it catches your breath - and trading is continuous no matter what the time of the day. But seeing it at this time of the day, with the workers framed by the evening light and smoke from cooking fires was a very memorable experience.

Despite our first day in Delhi anxieties we had NO negative outcomes from eating the huge range of foods that Rajeev and JD introduced us to on this tour. This tour is a unique, not to be missed Delhi experience.

5  Thank Purplefig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Hello,

Thank you veru much for this excellent review. We're really happy to know that your food tour in Delhi was up to your expectations and enjoyable. We hope that the rest of your journey was as enjoyable.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The time we spent in this tour was as good as it can get. Not only we had some truly excellent Indian food, but also experienced some amazing things which you can't find anywhere else. Right from some amazing food from oldest and most famous food places to rikshaw rides in chaotic lanes of Old Delhi to that walk in spice market; everything was wonderful.

Best thing that I liked was this tour was much more than just a normal food tour. Our tour guide Rajeev took us to many attractions of the city and explained everything in detail. Everything during the tour was related to the food culture of city in one way or the other and it was really great.. We had the chance to visit a charitable kitchen of a Sikh temple and it was a moving experience. The walk through crowded markets too was very unique and must do for everyone. Thankfully we were never presented with a sales pitch as faced by most tourists almost all over the world and we really enjoyed our walk. .

As far as food is concerned, I don't have any doubts about it. If you love Indian food, then do this tour. You'll not regret the decision.

2  Thank BagginsF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Food-Tour-Delhi, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Hello,

Thank a lot for writing this review for us. We're really glad to know that you enjoyed the food as well as sightseeing. We had a great time exploring Delhi with you.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a very good activity for tourists who want to try real Indian food when traveling in New Delhi. There is a very large variety of very delicious food available in New Delhi and this tour is the best way of exploring it and the city. We started this tour early evening via pickup from our hotel and spent almost 7 hours eating the best Indian food as well as sightseeing some very unique places which are hard to find anywhere else. Our food expert, Rajeev was very friendly and explained everything we had in good detail. We specially liked the part about eating in places which were being run for generations. It was a delicious taste of Indian history and culture.

6  Thank Bessi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelhiFoodTour, Owner at Food Tour in Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

HI,

Thank you very much for the "Best culinary tour" tag and the excellent review. It's very much appreciated. We're very happy to know that you liked the food tour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Food Tour in Delhi also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Food Tour in Delhi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing