We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Connaught Place

Connaught Place
Book In Advance
US$ 58.00*
and up
Connaught Place Tour Including Janpath Market and a Dosa at Saravana Bhavan
Ranked #29 of 403 things to do in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
1 review
“Best Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

CP is the best place of delhi..... U'll get every enjoyment there...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deepika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    716
    699
    338
    119
    62
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Downtown galore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

most happening place in delhi , shops , food, bars central connection on by metro. you cannot miss it .

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank TempoLeopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Avoid it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

The refurbishing and clean-up of this lovely historical shopping district has made a mess that is tragic as much for visitors as for the businesses that struggle to survive there. You have to navigate across still broken up walkways, and will end up finding that the shops do not even have much by way of stocks. For good shopping bargains to to Janpath which is one of the arterial roads from Connaught Place -- ethnic clothes, shoes and artifiacts are in plenty here.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank barefoot_delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine if you're male!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

So, real quick sum up, myself and Girlfriend have been living in Mumbai for 5 months, fine. So we're used to the odd stare or two. Here we (when I say we I mean my GF) got loads of stares and not nice ones. A group of 4 men followed us around the Central Park as we looked at the hundreds of bears there (one for each UN country, nice) We doubled back a few times and they were definitely following us taking photos and acting very strange.

Now, another thing, we got a lot of people talking to us, we were there for an hour and had about 5 people stat properly chatting to us (one about David Cameron and the Tories! Ha) some were just friendly, some were trying to lead us to a "government tourist info place". After the fourth person said it we went by our own accord as they promised us a map. We got in, noticed that they was a few tourists who had been sucked in with lost expressions on their faces, sat down and a nice chap regald us of stories of the UK watching Emerdale and Corrie. He asked a few questions, realised that we had everything for our trip organised and booked, so as he noticed another set of tourists coming in he literally tossed me a map and said good luck!

So the place is fine, different to Mumbai, which is what we wanted to see (you'd never get anything this spread out in Mumbai), we went to the Levi's shop bought a couple of pairs at about a third of the price of the UK (they tailor the length too) went to wenger's for a nibble (hence the extra star) and saw a lot of painted bears!

So go check it out but keep and eye on your stuff, don't get in a rick unles you know where you want to go, don't follow the strangers, shop and go to Wenger's.

And my GF says not to go alone if you're a girl, too much attention.

Helpful?
Thank AndyCognac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bakwas”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

It used to be a very amazing place at one point of time. But now its just a wastage of time wandering in C.P streets. Its very crowded. Moreover even Palika Bazar is no fun. I will definitely not suggest this place.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank supriya123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Connaught Place also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Connaught Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing