We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not YMCA as you think but it's a more than 3 Star Hotel with name YMCA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YMCA Tourist Hostel
Ranked #230 of 940 Speciality Lodging in New Delhi
Sydney, NSW
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“It's not YMCA as you think but it's a more than 3 Star Hotel with name YMCA”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Everyone thinks, it's YMCA but this YMCA in New Delhi, India is like more than a 3 Star Hotel, Porter to take your luggage to your room, Telephone and LCD TV's in rooms, Room Service, Doorman at main Entrance Door. Swimming Pool. Massage Parlour, internet facility room (with extra charge)

Location is just near Jantar Mantar, 500 meters to Cannought Place (City Centre).

Room rate includes Buffet Breakfast and Buffet Dinner,

Room rate is much cheaper than any centrally located Hotel's, I travel a lot in India and have been to Delhi many times and always prefers to stay at YMCA as it's very safe too

What else one needs?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ajit_from_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    45
    40
    25
    29
See reviews for
20
19
32
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Booked online, wasn't asked for payment but was assured of my reservation, arrived at 1:30am and everything was in order. Found the building to be old, dark, and "grungey". Breakfast buffet was good, but with a limited selection of items. Supper buffet was rather tasteless, probably designed for European/American appetites. Internet service was in a small room, fairly fast, cost Rs40/hour, Stayed for 4 nights and always appreciated coming back to it at the end of a long day of touring the city in tuk-tuks,

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This was my second time staying at the YMCA Tourist Hotel in Delhi. The first time I stayed was in June 2010 and it was clean, comfortable and felt safe. However, this second time was during the winter and I didn't enjoy my stay one bit. The bed sheets were damp from the cold and the wool blankets were thick enough to keep me warm. As a result, I didn't sleep well at all. I don;t think I will come back again to YMCA - although as a woman, this is the safest place to stay (plus Jai Singh Rd is a nice area in Delhi), they should do something about the quality of the rooms.

Room Tip: It's OK to stay here during spring or summertime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I had gone with my family to meet an aunt who was staying there. We made the wrong decision to eat dinner and decided to take the buffet. This was the most atrocious food I have eaten for Rs. 2400/- for five people. There was hardly any choice. One salad, plain rice, one dal, one mixed veg, rotis, chicken curry and desert. This was supposed to be a buffet!!!

For starters the food was cold. The chicken curry and veg dish had so much oil, it was a heart attack waiting to happen. There were two rotis stuck to the bottom of the pan that one had to peel off. (Waiters were doing just that.... waiting for their shift to get over....) not one bothered or offered to refill the pan.

The ice cream for desert only came because we had ask for it. And when it did they gave such a measly amount it was pathetic.

I don't recommend any to eat at this poor excuse for a restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sushmalaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed for 3 nights. There was no problem at all checking in even after midnight. The rooms provided were clean and comfortable - the mattresses a bit too comfortable - could be a problem with people having spinal problems. Breakfast provided was adequate. Staff very efficient and helpful. Most importantly very near to the station which is a big bonus. In short, good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brianbrian_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.9 km away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.4 km away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#64 of 714 in New Delhi
2,956 reviews
7.6 km away
Imperial Apartments
Imperial Apartments
#431 of 714 in New Delhi
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Bright
Hotel Bright
#112 of 714 in New Delhi
325 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Alka Classic
Hotel Alka Classic
#283 of 714 in New Delhi
143 reviews
0.2 km away
YWCA International Hostel
YWCA International Hostel
#29 of 940 in New Delhi
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YMCA Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Tourist Hostel

Property: YMCA Tourist Hostel
Address: Jai Singh Rd. | P.B. 612, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 940 Speciality Lodging in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,503 - ₹ 3,851
Hotel Class:3 star — YMCA Tourist Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you all know, the Indian society is popular for its hearty hospitality. Therefore, we at the Tourist Hostel (New Delhi YMCA) thoroughly believe in the popular Indian saying –“ Atithi Devo Bhava “ which means ‘Guest is God’ ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your YMCA Tourist Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Tourist Hotel New Delhi
Ymca New Delhi
Ymca Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing