We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A JEWEL AMONGST THE CHAOS”
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #58 of 736 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Be assured to be serviced with a smile right from the pick-up service, receptionist to your house keeping staff without being questioned or with the least delay. We requested a room change almost each day which was offered with the least amount of question.

Room Tip: All rooms are different from one another see a few that would match your mood swing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashraf1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay at Ajanta Hotel, Delhi. We are overwhelmed by your kind comments
and are glad to learn that you had a memorable stay at our hotel. We are also happy that you
found our house keeping services and rooms praiseworthy.
At Hotel Ajanta, we strive hard to provide best services to our guests. Our house-keeping staff pays individualized attention to take care of all your needs. The free airport-pick up makes sure that you do not face any hustles at the airport.
Once again, we are thankful for the review and look forward to become your host in future.
Regards ,
The Hotel Ajanta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,118 of 1,933 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had booked ourselves into Ajanta for 2 nights following our arrival in Delhi. The airport pickup was good, the guy was patiently waiting for us. We got a superior room instead of a normal room for the first night for reasons unknown to me, but who am i to complain ;-).

The next day we were moved back to an economy room which in all honesty looked in better shape and was cleaner. We went out for the day exploring Delhi. Onour way back my girlfriend tripped from the sidewalk and fractured her wrist. After getting back to the hotel they were very helpful and quick to advise us a clinic to go to and arranging a car for us.

At the clinic the driver was waiting patiently for us and after it was decided that we had to stay the night at the clinic it was no problem for him to drive one of us back to the hotel to get our gear.

There ends the good experience with Ajanta Hotel and from that moment on the scamming started:

We had booked the room through booking.com against a reduced tariff, the hotel manager decided that he thought it would be appropriate to charge the standard tariff + taxes. We had booked 2 nights but because of the situation only made use of one night and the hotel manager charged the second night against half price because of the late checkout ( it was 18.00 by the time I checked out). Furthermore he decided 1500 rupees was appropriate for the use of the taxi for getting to and fro and to the hospital. This was teir standard tariff for hiring a taxi longer than 4 hours so it seemed appropriate.

And then came the big finale: after getting in the car to get back to the hospital the hotel manager came out after us and stopped the car and demanded 500 more rupees claiming i had only paid a 1000 for the car. Ofcourse not true so I told him that and told the driver to get going because I felt something was going on. The hotel manager instructed the driver to stay put and once again demanded 500 rupees stating the car wouldn't go anywhere if i didnt pay up, he knew he had me cornered with 2 heavy backpacks and 2 small day packs in the car so another cab wasn't exactly an option... So after a few foul remarks from my side and shoving the 500 rupees in his face we were off. I got dropped off nicely at the clinic.

The hotel was good, rooms were reasonably clean if a bit dusty, airport pickup service is ok but the hotel manager is a crook, as simple as that.

Room Tip: Only difference between superior and economy is the size of the room. the economy rooms are higher u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rutger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for reviewing our property on the public forum and are glad that you choose us during your recent trip to the city. We are happy to learn that you found the hotel and the services nice. Our team strives to comfort every guest with utmost care and ensure to offer a relaxed stay. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused and will investigate the issues mentioned by you. We assure to take necessary actions, if applicable.
Your feedback is highly appreciated that enables us to work upon the areas that need improvement. We would love to host you again during your next trip to Delhi.

Best Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in Ajanta- on ofe my friends in India had recommended the place. The room tariff was significantly reasonable compared to most hotels and rooms are very very comfortable. Room service was a bit slow though restaurant service and food was remarkable.
The sunset from the Roof top with the back drop of Jama Grand mosque was the highlight.
Staff was very knowledgeable and I felt very secure.
Will recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucya99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us as your host on your recent trip to the city. Hotel Ajanta takes great pride in ensuring that our guests enjoy a hassle free trip to the city. For this, we’ve made sure that our rooms are not only airy and spacious, but also provide much needed comfort to the global traveler. The food served at our restaurant is meant to satiate your eclectic tastes and we’re happy that we’ve lived up to your standards. The impeccable staff at Hotel Ajanta would nonetheless, make you feel secure and homely, and help is never far away when you’re at Hotel Ajanta. We thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Best Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed here twice. The first time it was excellent and all my ratings would have been 5 star based on this visit alone. The room was very clean, great facilities including a safety deposit box and a fridge. The food in the resturant was delicious and the service was good. The front reception staff and room service staff were excellent, so helpful and keen to go the extra mile. We even booked a tour with an outstanding driver Mr Tapa, who was a fantastically genuine and decent man. The tour was great- to Agra and Japuir but as usual watch out for guides taking you to shops to see how things are made and then feeling pressured to buy something you dont actually want or like.

Sadly however when we returned for our final night after the tour it was like a different hotel. The room was not clean, asking staff for help was not well received which was very disappointing after our first stay.

Overall great hotel if they think you will return, don't tell staff when you plan to leave Delhi and this is a great option.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CA020277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guest during your recent visit to the city. We deeply appreciate and thank you for receiving a positive response at your end. The rooms at Hotel Ajanta though affordably priced, guarantee you the comfort of a good stay complete with all modern amenities, like the ones you mentioned. Our hospitality and staff are unmatched given their perseverance to not only make the guest feel welcome, but also safe and looked after.

However, we regret that upon your next visit, you came across a rather unpleasant experience. We’d ensure of a better experience next time and would love to play host to you, as well.

Best Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Little more on the expensive side at ~Rs2000 per night, but it was better than expectations. I arrived at IGIA at midnight and was met by the hotel driver - the room was clean, modern, new a/c machine, warm water, big TV with a hundred channels, mostly Indian musicals and adverts but 3 channels of cricket including one showing Sky Sports live T20 match from the UK! Perfect!
Restaurant (vagabond) is not all that special, you can find nicer close by. I would recommend this place to a new visitor to India who wants the assurance of being picked up at the airport and a nice western style introduction to Indian hotels before you get into slumming it! I stayed 2 nights in July 2012 and would happily return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben23_0UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guest,

We’re thankful to you for taking out the time to post your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. Hospitality is a way of life at Hotel Ajanta and not just business. Therefore, we take extra care to make our guests feel secure and safe in a new place. It is with this intent that our free airport pick up services have found a special mention amongst our guests.Also, our rooms besides being spacious and comfortable are equipped with all modern amenities to make your stay even a pleasant one. We are pleased to know that you were able to enjoy your trip and your appreciation has been received by the team with utmost gratitude.
Thanks once again and it would be a pleasure to be your host in future as well.

Best Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#39 of 736 in New Delhi
1,206 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#22 of 736 in New Delhi
785 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 736 in New Delhi
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#49 of 736 in New Delhi
909 reviews
Wood Castle
#25 of 736 in New Delhi
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: ₹ 1,808 - ₹ 3,680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Booking.com, ClearTrip, Yatra, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, TravelGuru and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotels
Ajanta Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing