We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NIce but filled with greedy people”
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #59 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Pune
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“NIce but filled with greedy people”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The hotel is good and value for money. But once you enter the hotel the hotel staff is gunning to get money for every possible thing. The staff is okay filled with expat Nepalese people who hardly seem to be professionals but more of like amateurs. The location is pathetic and all the time filled with goons so the hotel earns heavily by giving you taxi service at twice the rates.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pushkar_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for staying at Ajanta Hotel. We are pleased that you found our property agreeable and good value for money. However we regret that your experience with the support staff did not meet your expectations. We believe in ensuring a great stay for our guests in terms of customer care, our amenities such as restaurants, room service, our taxi pick up and drop facilities. So it is an uncharacteristic account that you had to experience such inconveniences. We would be certainly investigating these incidences and ensure that the same is not repeated in future.
Best Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    671
    316
    132
    154
See reviews for
310
482
321
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Like any other cheap Paharganj hotel expect misleading false promises while booking. Free airport pickup/drop is one of them as you would be charged while checking out.
Front office staffs lack proper customer friendly behaviour.Rooms are hot as hell and do not cool before 5 hours of continuous running of air conditioner. Sometime they shunt you to some adjoining properties which are not owned by them.So simply avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank ghosh6927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing Ajanta Hotel for your recent business trip to New Delhi. We express regret that you seem to have had an unfortunate experience with the staff at Ajanta hotel on this occasion. It is very atypical of our staff as our team is highly experienced and attentive to our customers’ requirements. However we want our guests to feel at home when they are at Ajanta Hotel, therefore we have sent in a prompt inquiry and we would be investigating the described events.
We would like to ensure our guests that we will keep striving hard to give them an even better comfortable and contended stay at our property. We really hope to be your hosts in New Delhi again.
Best Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Overall stay was good.Room service was fine but the waiters expected tip all the time.wi-fi was paid &was not provided by hotel n it didn't work all day but for couple of minutes after mid-night.it was good though,I am going to stay there on my next visit as it is not expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at Ajanta Hotel
.
We have noted the points highlighted by you and assure you of the best services in future. Overall you were happy with our Hotel and service, which is good. I have to thank you for sparing time to write your review on this public forum.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2012

it was ok kind of hotel.with all basic facilities.best part is centrally located and very near to new delhi railway station and connaught place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harish1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Ajanta Hotel for you stay in New Delhi.

It is a pleasure to know that you found our service and amenities to your satisfaction.
Being centrally located and next to the Railway and Metro stations is a big plus for us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Fleecing and hidden charges are hallmark of this hotel. While booking the room on phone, the manager informed me that there will be free airport pick-up instead of complimentary break fast. I agreed. I reached the hotel late in the night and they provided me small stinking room without ventilation and AC hardly operational.
At the time of check-out the cashier demanded Rs. 140/- for airport pick-up/parking fee. When I resisted (pick up being free), he behaved rudely. And MOST SHOCKING, he asked me what consumables I have taken from the (gift looking) basket. I told I took only water bottle. He checked the room and retorted “the peanuts packet is missing”. One can imagine the kind of hospitality this hotel offers. The basket which looked like welcome gift proved to be tool being used by this hotel for mis-selling the products.

I recommend not to ever opt for this hotel. Or make the terms and conditions very clear before checking in, if at all you happen to be there !!!!!!

GURDIP SINGH
CHANDIGARH.

Room Tip: I recommend not to ever opt for this hotel. Or make the terms and conditions very clear before check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 9Gurdip9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#53 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wood Castle
#14 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#28 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Property: Hotel Ajanta
Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#51 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,227 - ₹ 4,004
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Yatra, HostelWorld, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotels
Ajanta Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing