We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option in Delhi--would recommend it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #60 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
224 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good option in Delhi--would recommend it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Airport pick-up went smoothly (they tacked on the 140 INR parking fee when we checked out--we were expecting to pay at the time of pick-up, but didn't--just FYI.) Laundry was reasonable--pants 30 INR and shirt 25 INR and done in 24 hours. I agree that the travel desk was overpriced, but that is to be expected. There is free use of the desk-top computers, but wifi is 100 INR for 24 hours (slow). I agree that lunch/dinner items at the restaurant were excellent and served in generous portions as well. Breakfast buffet was just okay though--They charged us 180 INR for it. AC in the rooms worked okay, but it went out periodically throughout our 3-night stay--it was toasty in Delhi. Don't expect hot water to work too well, but it's so hot, you probably won't want it!

Room Tip: If going in the near future, avoid the third floor if possible. They are re-doing the floor and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethhess00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Ajanta for your stay.
We are happy to know that you could avail of our airport pick up service. Your kind comments about our food is very much appreciated. We always look forward to serving our guest with top - notch hospitality and it feels good to get such positive reviews.

Laundry service is indeed taken care of from our side.

Give us a chance to have you on your next trip.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    665
    315
    132
    154
See reviews for
302
479
317
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed here during my visit to Delhi in september 2011. I stayed for 3 nights and used their cabs for sight seeing. The room was good and the service was excellent. The cab drivers knew all places very well and they did not waste our time by going through unknown routes.

I recommend this place to anyone coming to Delhi and a few of my friends had already stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vchackos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Guest,

It is heartening to receive your review. This is exactly the kind of review we work hard for. Glad to know you liked our hotel and service and enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. We would be happy to have you & your friends stay with us.

Look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is a good choice for anyone's first few nights in Delhi.

We used the free airport pickup which arrived with no problems, this is very useful for anyone arriving as it can be a bit overwhelming when you walk out of arrivals and everyone is trying to get you in their taxi!

Our room was fine, though it did have no window. Beds were very comfy. The bathroom was spotless and very well equipped.

My only gripe was that is was very noisy - we had no window so it was not external noise but other guests and hotel staff chatting and shouting up the stairs. We did find this to be a common thing all over India, not just at this hotel - quietness is just not respected - take some earplugs!! I did mention this to reception and the lady advised she would have a world and to be fair the noise was a lot less the second night.

The hotel has a travel desk, which while a little overpriced, is convenient if you need to book any taxis or day trips.

There is a rooftop restaurant which served very good food, with great views out over the city.

Overall, I was happy with our stay here and would recommend it for anyone wanting a step up from the real budget grotty places in Pahar Ganj

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vixx83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at the Hotel Ajanta.

We are glad to know that you found our one way complimentary airport pick up service useful and convenient. Your appreciation about our clean room & bathroom and good food is very welcome.

In our Hotel we have few rooms without windows. But these are very well air conditioned.
We regret all the noise you had to face. Really good to know you liked Ajanta and you visited the roof top as well.

Yes, we have our travel desk they assist in planning tours all over India.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Clean and well run, we had an issue with the first room, they changed us without issue. service was reasonable. We got free airport transfer with our price, the only cost was 140 rupee airport parking fee. One issue, the hotels travel agent was a really nice guy but !!! His prices were very high, we checked the price for a taxi to Shimla other travel agents and the Taxi stand all quoted 7000 rupees, he initially wanted 12,000 and dropped to 11,000 rupees.

The area around the hotel s pretty poor with no facilities at all.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Ajanta and taking time to share your feedback with us.
The team at Ajanta Hotel is always keen to make their guest’s stay comfortable, this is why we are recommended by Lonely Planet and well recognized in Delhi.

Regarding your point, we would like to inform you that the person who had quoted you a taxi for Simla at INR 7000 was only for petrol and driving charges. However, we provide everything – car + driver + medical claim (in case of any mishap).

We look forward to serve you even better during your future visits to the city.

Warm regards
Team at Hotel Ajanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

this is one of the best hotels in pahargunj near new delhi railway station, it has good rooms, trained staff, for me it's value for money as its near to all business center and easy to reach all place like CP, dariyagunj. over all it's good and value for money hotel.

Room Tip: Value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul_Shah1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,
We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay at Hotel Ajanta New Delhi. Yes, we are very close to the New Delhi Railway Station and guests find this very convenient. We are also next to most shopping centres and places of tourist interest.
This experience helps us understand our guests better and this is why many guests come back to us. Your acknowledgement regarding our services is very encouraging.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Ajanta Hotel New Delhi.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 707 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#52 of 707 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wood Castle
#13 of 707 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#34 of 707 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Property: Hotel Ajanta
Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#43 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,685 - ₹ 3,565
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, Agoda, Ostrovok, Hotel.de, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotel Delhi
Ajanta Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing