We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean and well located” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #59 of 696 Hotels in New Delhi
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and well located”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Spent our first 4 nights in Delhi here, had a pick up from the airport which ran smoothly in the early hours but when we arrived our room wasn't ready (even though we had pre-arranged an early check-in). We were put into a back room that wasn't great but then moved to our actual room later in the afternoon.

The place is very clean, the staff very eager to help but the breakfast was quite poor an insanely over-priced. Room 306 is well recommended, very comfortable and plenty of space.

We were not happy with the tour operator who works out of reception in Ajanta - not because of a trip we booked with them, but because they tried to intimidate us into booking with them. We booked some trips with an outside company (who worked out to be amazing) and we were told constantly by the tour operator in Ajanta that this company was very bad and we should definitely not go with them. This obviously made us question the decision and company that we went with - but happily turned out to be very pleased with them. We didn't appreciate the scare-tactics used by Ajanta in trying to get our business.

Basically, the hotel is nice for the price - just don't go near the tour operator...

Room Tip: room 306 is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at the Hotel Ajanta.

We are glad to know that you found our one way complimentary airport pick up service useful and convenient.

We are seriously concerned about the inconveniences you highlighted and will be deal with at the earliest. The team at Hotel Ajanta always works to provide the maximum satisfaction to our esteemed guests.

Give us an opportunity to make amends and we do hope that you will come back and witness our improved service.

Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    642
    307
    129
    153
See reviews for
290
461
305
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We are a Berlin based marching band (beat'n blow) and we stayed at this hotel in March 2012 for total of 4 nights and were quite satisfied with our stay. The arranged airport pick-up driver showed about almost an hour late, though. Most of the staff in the hotel was really cooperative and friendly, the rooms are nice (especially the ones with a balcony/street view) although the bathroom drainage wasn't functioning as well as it's supposed to be. We enjoyed the food served in the restaurant. There is a very nice place on the top floor were one can order food and something to drink, but be prepared for long serving times and not-cold-enough-and-scar beer, especially later in the evening. Other than that we felt welcomed there and would probably stay there again.
PS: Do not buy bottled water from the small shops on the street as it may be a fake rather than pure water! Get your water in the hotel for 20 INR.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guest,
We are extremely delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Ajanta. The appreciation of the hotel and its services are received with pleasure. It gives us great pride and encourages us to offer even higher levels of excellence. The delay in service that you have highlighted is noted and would be kept in mind to deliver better services to our guests.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Warm Regards
Team at Hotel Ajanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I would recommend this place and pick up from airport is very helpful. The staff is cooperative and well mannered.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parveen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind comments. We are glad to note that you had a wonderful stay at Hotel Ajanta. It is a pleasure to know that you have particularly found the airport pick-up facility and staff services to your satisfaction.
We look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Sincerely
Team at Hotel Ajanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights after a long flight.we where picked up at 1am and taken to hotel free of charge. Staff very nice room nice location great central. Enjoyed it very much. My boys even went back on the way through for a couple of nights .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jinther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Ajanta.

We are pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated by the members of our team.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Warm regards,
Team at Hotel Ajanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Hotel Ajanta is a good Hotel with nice rooms and the pick up arrangement from Airport is very helpful. However, the service is very very poor. The whole staff is well mannered.But that's about it. I reached 11.30 pm at night and was very tired. Wanted to have a quick dinner and go to sleep.I received cold food from the room service.When i asked to change change the order and get hot food, the waiter was kind of forcing me to eat the same food.Only after complaining to the front desk, the food was changed.When i ordered 2 cups of tea the next two mornings, i got 4 cups and charged too.No one bothers to improve the service. They will just listen to your complain and say "yes sir".Thats it. To make up, they informed me that I will be upgraded to a superior room free of cost and kept waiting for an hour at 3pm in the afternoon when actually I wanted to rest. After 3-4 calls to the front desk, i was eventually taken to a roof top room which was a bad single bed standard room. So i insisted to stay back in my previous deluxe room. Their focus is to only serve foreigners.I had booked for 3 nights but checked out a day earlier. Will never advise anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are good.Dont order food to the room.Better eat outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review. We are grateful for your note complimenting the services and facilities of our hotel. However we regret that you had to face inconveniences, contrary to our aim.

The comments are noted and taken into regard as we believe that we stand to benefit from them. Please give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves on your next visit.

Looking forward to serve you with better services.
Warm regards,
Team at Hotel Ajanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#46 of 696 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#42 of 696 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#68 of 696 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Shelton
Hotel Shelton
#82 of 696 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Property: Hotel Ajanta
Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,775 - ₹ 3,209
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelGuru, Hotel.de, HRS, ClearTrip, Agoda, HostelWorld and Stayzilla so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotel Delhi
Ajanta Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing