We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Bad !” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #56 of 704 Hotels in New Delhi
Marseille, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

The room that we had booked (and confirmed by the hotel) was not available when we arrived.
THey proposed another room in another building, no window and very small. As we refused, we finally had a standard room. As we were three persons, we asked for an extra bed : we had to call 4 times the reception to get it, and we have been waiting for more than 2 hours to get it (we were very tired and wanted to go to bed). The 2 persons that finally delivered the bed had a very strong alcohol smell...
We stayed 2 nights, and the second day, when coming back for a long walk in Delhi, we noticed that the room had not been cleaned.
Staff not pleasant at all, no smile, nothing !
I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laulle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    634
    303
    129
    150
See reviews for
282
455
298
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cottage Grove
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Traveled to India with adult son, found Hotel Ajanta on Google and booked 1 night Feb 17 not knowing what to expect. Got free pickup from airport and were warmly received by hotel staff who after showing us to our room took us on a complimentary tour of Red Fort, Mosque and Spice Market. Tour director Ms Ravi booked a 5-city- Puskar, Jaipur, Agra, Haridwar, Rishikesh - tour for us that along with our driver Ramu became a most wonderful journey we'll remember forever. Stayed our 5 final nights at Ajanta because we loved it so much and continued our tour of New Delhi sights and shopping.

Room Tip: If you don't like what you're getting into, have a backup plan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your gracious review.
We look forward to serving you again. We request you to send us some pictures you had taken on you visit here.
Thank you.
Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

extrmely central so eaze to use and find and tell my freinds about ,also found them professional and upto the mark ,not a small place has many rooms and best part is the food in both the restaurants .
we are back in berlin and are talking about this hotels roof top and the photos we took from there to all our feiends who are looking for a safe hotel in india .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamaberline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and indeed very encouraging to review your appreciative review.
Glad you liked our services and hope you give us another chance to look after you.
Thank you.
Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

ajanta hotel is new delhi was a good hotel for my 2 nights 3 days india adventure which sta\rted and finished in delhi itself unfortunately,imsure indias got a lot to see and ill be back for yet another journey ,at the moment was a whirlwind tour to attend the otm travel mart and we stayed at this lovely hotel very affordable and very convenient with lots of small built in amenities ,sort of like an ibis in europe if you will.

Room Tip: when we reached they were full so no upgrades,but we guessed every popular hotel woudl have not so m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motherlondon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Ajanta Hotel for your stay in New Delhi. We are so glad to know you were happy with the rates, service and overall amenities at our Hotel.
We work hard and to see such a complimentary review is most encouraging.
We hope you give us another opportunity to look after you.
Our Regards,
The Hotel Ajanta Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

My trip to Delhi got messed up as I missed my flight from Bangalore. So, had to change flight and landed at a different terminal. I had originally sent my arrival information to the hotel for arranging free pick-up. When my flights changed, I mailed them again and spoke to them. They confirmed the change by return email. When I landed in Delhi, the pick-up never materialized. So, I called the hotel. They promised to call back and told me not to worry. Within 5 minutes they called and told me to take a taxi and promised to refund the taxi fare. I took a taxi and on arrival at the the hotel, they promptly paid the taxi fare in cash!! That is something I had never experienced in any hotel anywhere! A free pick-up was promised and they honored it.

My stay was comfortable. Breakfast was not included, but I was provided decent options at the restaurant and it was very good. Room was comfortable with basic ameneties. The hotel is just 5 minutes walk from New Delhi train station and one can get Metro connections to all over Delhi easily.

Wi-fi internet is not free but available at Rs.100/- for entire day. That was very useful. But, if you want to use their business center, it is free. Compared to many other hotels in the vicinity, Hotel Ajanta came out as a true and honest service provider. No wonder many international guests were swarming the place. I will go back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sateeshg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Ajanta and sharing the feedback. We are sincerely grateful for the great comments that are quite encouraging to the earnest efforts of our staff. It is with immense pleasure that we note that you enjoyed your stay and found the services and facilities to your satisfaction. We hope you had a great business trip. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back with us.

Our regards
Team at Hotel Ajanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#42 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#38 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#74 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Hotel City Star
#15 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Property: Hotel Ajanta
Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,851 - ₹ 3,016
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Stayzilla, ClearTrip, Agoda, TravelGuru and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotel Delhi
Ajanta Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing