We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True and Honest”
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #63 of 712 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My trip to Delhi got messed up as I missed my flight from Bangalore. So, had to change flight and landed at a different terminal. I had originally sent my arrival information to the hotel for arranging free pick-up. When my flights changed, I mailed them again and spoke to them. They confirmed the change by return email. When I landed in Delhi, the pick-up never materialized. So, I called the hotel. They promised to call back and told me not to worry. Within 5 minutes they called and told me to take a taxi and promised to refund the taxi fare. I took a taxi and on arrival at the the hotel, they promptly paid the taxi fare in cash!! That is something I had never experienced in any hotel anywhere! A free pick-up was promised and they honored it.

My stay was comfortable. Breakfast was not included, but I was provided decent options at the restaurant and it was very good. Room was comfortable with basic ameneties. The hotel is just 5 minutes walk from New Delhi train station and one can get Metro connections to all over Delhi easily.

Wi-fi internet is not free but available at Rs.100/- for entire day. That was very useful. But, if you want to use their business center, it is free. Compared to many other hotels in the vicinity, Hotel Ajanta came out as a true and honest service provider. No wonder many international guests were swarming the place. I will go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sateeshg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Ajanta and sharing the feedback. We are sincerely grateful for the great comments that are quite encouraging to the earnest efforts of our staff. It is with immense pleasure that we note that you enjoyed your stay and found the services and facilities to your satisfaction. We hope you had a great business trip. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back with us.

Our regards
Team at Hotel Ajanta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,859)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ajanta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,115 of 1,859 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

The bedroom explicitly chosen, confirmed and paid in advance, was not available.
The location is overcrowded and hyper noisy, and pretty impossible to reach (taxis don't want to go there). Breakfast OK. Other clients were furious and complaining not to have their chosen room!!
They advertise with the wrong photos to catch customers.
A calamity! To avoid absolutely!

Room Tip: difficult to recommend any bedroom as they are not at all reliable.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simone038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Guest,
There was a problem with some airlines.
If your stay was at that time, you were genuinely harassed.
We apologise profusely and would be willing to refund 50% of your stay.
With Sincere Apologies
Regards
The Hotel Ajanta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel, in late feb. Our flight was early in the morning, and the promised shared Air port pickup was waiting for us at airport on time.

Even at the early hour, check took less than 10 min. We got a room in the second floor. The room was decent for the amount we are paying, i guess its Value for money. It was almost like the pictured except for a little wear and tear.

Our room did not have any windows, so there was no out side noise, but due to some construction going on in the same floor, there was plenty of noise. We could hear hammering and cleaning going on.

Taxi from the hotel is very expensive, considering that we are 1st time travelers in delhi, we took their taxi services as we did not want to bargain with unknown vendors.

We stayed for only for 10 hours, so cannot commend on the room service. Over all i would rate it 2.5 out of 5. But its a good value for money hotel especially with the airport pickup. Would recommend it to anyone visiting delhi for a day or a short stop over as long as there you get a room in a floor they are not renovating and cleaning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jilfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Dear Guest

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ajanta Hotel. Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share the great compliments. We regret the inconvenience caused due to the ongoing renovation at the time of your stay and express our heartfelt apologies for the same. But we can assure you that we will be welcoming you back with us to even better facilities.
Once again, we express our appreciation for the kind comments. We look forward to meet you again.

Regards
The Hotel Ajanta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this nice hotel. Room was spacious and clean. Bathroom was modern with hot water and good pressure. The restaurant has an excellent (relatively slightly pricey) breakfast buffet. The area (like perhaps all in Delhi) is quite noisy. Earplugs recommended if you want to sleep in past 6am with the horns and traffic noise.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAjantaDelhi, Manager at Hotel Ajanta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for your very complimentary review.
Just for information our breakfast buffet actually brunch is Rs. 275.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Regards
The Hotel Ajanta Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was my first stay. To my surprise the room was too small and doesn't have LCD , ventilation,window and wardrobe.i will never reccomend the room at 1900 price. Althogh the service was satisfactory.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinodbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#52 of 712 in New Delhi
1,118 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#54 of 712 in New Delhi
1,709 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#23 of 712 in New Delhi
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wood Castle
#14 of 712 in New Delhi
1,128 reviews
Hotel City Star
#31 of 712 in New Delhi
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Address: 36 Arakshan Road | behind New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#41 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: ₹ 1,613 - ₹ 3,870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ajanta is a colonial fully renovated hotel with all modern facilities, the minibar, LCD TVs, ACs, coffee / tea makers, 24 hour room service, safety lockers, etc. Airport transfers, taxi and tour services are also available. We are very centrally located near the railway and metro stations and also close to Connaught Place, Jama Masjid, museums and shopping centers. Our in-house bakery and restaurant offers a variety of cuisines for all tastes. Ours is a family run hotel specially preferred by families and single women who find it safe and welcoming. We are proud to say that word of mouth has made us a recipient of so many prestigious awards and the first choice (in the Luxury Budget category) for guests coming to Delhi. We feel privileged to welcome our guests to The Ajanta Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, Yatra, Expedia, Agoda, ClearTrip, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi
Ajanta Hotels
Ajanta Hotel Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing