We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt by exorbitant over charging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Claridges New Delhi
Ranked #36 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

We decided to spoil ourselves for our last night in India and stay at the Claridges. We booked a triple room and were blown away with our huge room with all the luxuries one could wish for. The included breakfast was also very generous and delicious.

We were extremely happy with everything up until checkout where 7 beers from the minibar worth 195Rs each and one sprite turned out to cost 4012.16Rs. I have never seen such a long list of service charges and taxes in my life (photo attached)! I am sure that most people that stay here don’t bat an eyelash but I thought it was a gross overcharge that just can’t be justified.

This greed on behalf of the hotel will be enough to prevent me from staying here again and has lowered what would otherwise been a 5 star review.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank PabloBakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClaridges, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing to us on Tripadvisor.

We have made a note of your feedback and regret your experience. Please be assured that it has our immediate attention and would be reviewed internally to avoid any recurrence for our guests.

I would like to assure you that your feedback is indeed very critical, meaningful and valuable to us as we constantly strive hard to offer our guests an inspiring and enriching experience.

I know that we cannot undo your experience, however may I urge you to allow us an opportunity to serve you better next time.

We look forward to welcoming you back here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 2,253 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
273
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

In an age when the hotel experience seems to be shifting away from Delhi’s central area to high-rise steel and glass structures on the periphery, Claridges remains one of the preeminent hotels of central Delhi. Staying here is a joy, made better by a well trained and helpful staff. The staff was flexible regarding unanticipated changes in my arrival and departure schedule and while it was as confusing and frustrating for them as it was for me, they adapted and assisted in a completely professional fashion. Like any other aging hotel, there are occasional cases of fraying around the edges though, when compared to other hotels with a similar pedigree, Claridges has fewer issues. The room was more than merely “comfortable” and any minor problems (need for firmer pillows) was speedily corrected. The in-hotel restaurants remain strong, especially the Dhaba. While there were problems with the breakfast at the Pickwick, there was an obvious dedication to both recognizing and correcting the problems. There was a time when Claridges and the Imperial were the classy twin sisters on Janpath; while the Imperial has raised the price of admission beyond the reach of mere mortals, the Claridges remains accessible and welcoming. I look forward to my next visit.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClaridges, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your personal experience in this review.

It is always our endeavor to offer our guests efficient and professional services, and we are glad that you liked the hotel and enjoyed the services. We feel truly encouraged by your review and assure you of our continued efforts to innovate and bring to you and all our guests, similarly enriching and inspiring experiences.

We hope that you will return again, do allow us the pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

Wonderful classic hotel. we stayed there on three different occasions on our tour. food excellent in restaurant. Imported wine not cheap but then it is not anywhere in India. Look out for high taxes on drinks and food in all hotels in India this increases the price dramatically. Rooms excellent, garden area lovely for a drink and the pool area very nice. All in all an oasis of calm in a very busy city!

Room Tip: quiet on the back. make sure you have a view from your room some do not!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweedie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClaridges, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your personal experience in this review.

It is always our endeavor to offer our guests efficient and professional services, and we are glad that you liked the hotel and enjoyed the services. We feel truly encouraged by your review and assure you of our continued efforts to innovate and bring to you and all our guests, similarly enriching and inspiring experiences.

We hope that you will return again, do allow us the pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

We stayed for three night en route to Goa.
The Hotel was a really treat and a smashing way to celebrate a "big" birthday.
Hotel is a great location in New Delhi from which to explore to whole city both New and Old.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank purdyandrew101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClaridges, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your personal experience in this review.

It is always our endeavor to offer our guests efficient and professional services, and we are glad that you liked the hotel and enjoyed the services. We feel truly encouraged by your review and assure you of our continued efforts to innovate and bring to you and all our guests, similarly enriching and inspiring experiences.

We hope that you will return again, do allow us the pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

This lovely hotel was our first stop on a three week trip through Rajasthan and after a very long flight, a most welcome sight to behold. The entrance and reception hall was very luxurious and the staff very attentive; although we arrived early in the morning, they realized our predicament and we were in our room by 9 am. A very filling breakfast at the on-site restaurant Pickwicks helped us begin the adjustment to “India time”. Our room was very well appointed and had a very nice view of the pool area with the brilliant blue of the water contrasting so wonderfully with the the bright white of the marble everywhere. The whole building gave us a sense of subtle elegance from the long marble hallways to the sweeping stairways leading to the main floor. The concierge was very pleasant and always had time to make change or provide advice on questions we had concerning the local sites. And the respectful nod and salutation from the guards out front made us feel like they worked personally for us. From this point on, we would be staying in more traditional accommodations but, for just a touch of pampered elegance, The Claridges proved to be just the right launch point for our adventure. A great place, one we would love to visit again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sunnytoes54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClaridges, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your personal experience in this review.

It is always our endeavor to offer our guests efficient and professional services, and we are glad that you liked the hotel and enjoyed the services. We feel truly encouraged by your review and assure you of our continued efforts to innovate and bring to you and all our guests, similarly enriching and inspiring experiences.

We hope that you will return again, do allow us the pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 777 in New Delhi
3,058 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#11 of 777 in New Delhi
2,200 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#35 of 777 in New Delhi
4,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#27 of 777 in New Delhi
2,939 reviews
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 777 in New Delhi
3,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Address: 12 Dr Apj Abdul Kalam Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#27 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: ₹ 9,745 - ₹ 17,643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
Hotel Claridges
Claridges Hotel Delhi
The Claridges Delhi
Claridges India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing