We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Claridges New Delhi
Nearby Hotels
US$ 127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Eros Hotel(New Delhi)
US$ 136
US$ 101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Piccadily Hotel(New Delhi)
US$ 86
US$ 65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 112
US$ 93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 86
US$ 58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 83
US$ 79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 104
US$ 89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 70
US$ 59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Roseate(New Delhi)
US$ 209
US$ 166
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodhi(New Delhi)
US$ 215
US$ 189
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,531)
Filter reviews
2,531 results
Traveller rating
1,310
797
248
98
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,310
797
248
98
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdhaba restaurantvodka barfront lawnsevilla restaurantjade restaurantkhan marketlodhi gardensclub roomlovely hotelchoice of restaurantsdiplomatic areabreakfast roomnice poolgolden trianglean oasisindia gatefive star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
755 - 760 of 2,531 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Nice Art Deco style of hotel, lovely lawn at the front a nice place for a drink. Ate at Pickwicks, a bit cafe like, but food good. Drinks more expensive than home which was a surprise.
Room average, not huge and quite dark but clean with all amenities for a 4/5 star hotel.
I have only given this hotel 3 stars as I was kept awake for second night by a very noisy wedding party out by the swimming pool the windows are not double glazed so was very loud and did not finish till gone 1am, despite me being told by reception they would move people who had congregated outside our window this never happened, breakfast average.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClaridges, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Dear Liz,
Thank you for taking the time out to review us. It is disappointing to know that your stay experience was not up to the mark. This is not the kind of experience we wish to offer our guests. At The Claridges, we have always tried to maintain the highest standards of quality in each and every serving of ours. We regret your feedback and assure you that necessary steps will be taken to avoid such occurrences in future. We request you to treat this experience in isolation and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We arrived on the 16th around 1am, we were given a room on the 1st Floor, rm number 135, for those of you to staying in Claridges in the future, this room should be avoided, we discovered on getting up in the morning that there is a window of sorts but it's boarded up, when we raised the matter with management we were greeted with surprise that there should be an issue, we were not offered an alternative room for our second night, it significantly took the edge of our first days in India. We also had the misfortune of arriving just when the Indian government in its wisdom decided to make 500 and 1,000 notes illegal tender ! This left us in a very difficult position, when we approached the hotel for currency, they did not have a currency facility in the hotel, we were told that there was an ATM about 30 mins away, which for Dehli that's means at least an hour each way and the ATM ques were massive!
I do appreciate that the hotel has no control over government policy, I do however think they could have tried much harder to help us and many many other guests in the hotel with the same problem, for those interested I am setting out our trip round India in the coming days where other hotels did much more to help with this financial crisis.
Getting down to basics, the hotel is tired, the bathrooms dated and in our case the sink and bath had permanent scuff marks, our door had a piece missing in the corner. The retaraunts of which there are 3 were all reasonable, our preference was the Italian restaraunt which you enter from the outside, a limited but decent menu. The staff were friendly, the service good, wine and spirits are not cheap as you would expect, the Indian wine is worth a try, a glass of white wine and a Kingfisher beer,£20.00 tea for 2 on the front lawn was £10.00 the pool area is ok, again a bit of sprucing up would be welcomed,the sun beds are limited and were not spotless.
The hotel had a steady stream of cars arriving and leaving, lots of conferences are held there, it's situated in the Diplomatic area o the surrounding area is reasonable, the Prime Ministerlives nearby, it central for the trip into the City and about 40 mins from the airport in good traffic.
all in all a reasonable hotel, if we had been staying longer we would have dealt with the room differently, it did make our first experience of India less than we would have hoped or expected. So it was ok, for our first stay there, our return stay 14 days later was much better in that they clearly took onboard what we had experienced on our first stay, we had a much better room with a balcony over looking the pool area, for those interested the 3rd floor is good. If only they had delivered on our first stay !

Room Tip: Try and get a room over looking the pool area, avoid room 135 at all costs!
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John4058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClaridges, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Dear John,
Thank you for taking the time out to share your detailed review. We regret that our services did not match up to your expectations and that you had to face multiple issues whilst your stay at our hotel. Your feedback regarding different aspects of your stay like room and currency facilities has been noted and communicated to concerned departments. We assure you to look into it and take corrective actions on the same. However, we are glad that we were able to provide you a pleasant stay experience on your return visit and also you enjoyed a meal at our award winning restaurant, Sevilla. Do give us an opportunity to serve you again for an enhanced experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel is cozy, cute. Most of rooms are newly renovated, very spacious. The lay out of some rooms are a bit strange. So be a bit careful with choice of room, dont hesitate to ask them to show you more rooms if you find first ones are not what you have expected. Service in general is good. The lawn and the pool are nice.

However the breakfast is very moderate (with very limited selection of food) in a humble room.

If you are a gym goer, you will find the gym here suffocating: very limited space underground with no window or natural light coming in.

Two restaurants are worth trying: the famous indian restaurant dhaba, and the tapas restaurant.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank quwhiue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClaridges, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time out to review us. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay experience at our hotel. The Claridges is a perfect amalgamation of comfort and luxury and we strive to offer our guests an inspiring and an enriching experience. It is a delight to know that you enjoyed your meals at Dhaba and Sevilla, but at the same time it comes as a disappointment that our gym did not match up to your expectations. We hope you give us an opportunity to service you again in near future to provide you an enriching experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

I really enjoyed this hotel. The staff were excellent and the club room we had was around 40 square metres,much larger than a standard room and at a very competitive rate. Not modern, but old style colonial charm.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClaridges, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Dear David,
Thank you for the review. We are very pleased to provide you a pleasant stay experience whilst your stay at our hotel. The Claridges being the first post independence hotel, we always endeavour to offer best in class services to our guests. Thank you again for the generous rating and we look forward to your next visit. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights recently as part of our cricket tour to watch the India v England Test series.

The hotel is quite stunning from the outside and within the lobby area. The gardens outside the front are a great place for an evening drink (even though it does get quite chilly in December) and this area offers a great feel for the beauty of the place.

It has a real colonial feel to it, which is very different to the modern places being built today.

We had a ground floor room which had direct access from the patio doors out to the swimming pool. We didn't try the pool but was assured it was heated!

The room was quite small (in comparison to where we had just stayed in Chandigarh) but everything was very nicely done and in working order.

We had breakfast twice in the hotel and the selection and quality of food was absolutely first class.

We also ate in the Pickwicks restaurant one night and again the food was very good, with a really good choice available.
Unfortunately we didn't eat in the Indian restaurant - which was a shame because those who did said it was wonderful.

A lovely quick stay and I would have no hesitation in coming back here again.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Shaun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClaridges, General Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Dear Shaun,
Thank you taking out the time to review us and for the generous rating. It is a delight to know that you had a wonderful stay experience at our hotel. This is exactly the kind of experience we want our guests to have when they give us the opportunity of serving them. At The Claridges, our prime aim is to offer top notch services and amusing stay experience to our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your meals at Pickwicks at the same time little disappointed that you couldn’t try the dishes at our iconic North Indian restaurant, Dhaba. We really hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews