We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm amidst the chaos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Claridges New Delhi
Ranked #31 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
106 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Calm amidst the chaos”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Serene and peaceful are not he first words that one might associate with New Delhi, so The Claridges is something like a refuge in the middle of chaos.

It’s not a huge property and the location is very good – on a quiet tree-lined street just of Janpath, within walking distance of the Lodi Gardens, Khan Market and Racecourse metro station. You step into the driveway and are enveloped by civility, the green gardens, peace and quiet. The grounds staff are unobtrusively welcoming, giving the whole picture a somewhat ironic colonial feel

The Claridges seems to exude the feeling of quiet empire – for example in the design of the buildings and rooms and the costumes of the staff. The rooms themelves are very sufficient – nice bathrooms with rainforest shower, Gilchrist & Soames amenities, modern controls and big flat screen tv, plenty of drinking water, and turndown tea service. The whole operation works very well.

As the closest convenience is 1.5 Km away at the Khan market, one might have to rely on the hotel for food. But somehow the food isn’t that good. The buffet is of variable quality. The selection is not that wide. The coffee shop isn’t even that big. The menus are made of flimsy paper. This is a five-star hotel?

Lastly, the facilities- there Is a decent bookstore in the hotel. The health club is compact but has the basics. The swimming pool is not that big (perhaps 18 meters end to end) and fills with bodies to fast. Better for a dip than a swim. However, the swimming and gym attendants are very nice. A case of good software, bad hardware!

All in all, I would stay at the Claridges again, because it’s not easy to find comfort and peace in the middle of New Delhi.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamarx200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking out precious time off your busy schedule to write a geunine feedback for us.

We are delighted as you appreciate our hotel location, staff and services. We take your feedback about our coffee shop menu seriously and we are working towards developing a new one.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the heart of Lutyen's Delhi at The Claridges, New Delhi.

Warm Regards,
The Claridges Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    643
    195
    79
    57
See reviews for
332
773
133
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Spacious lobby & coffee shop
Restaurant is arranged inside as well as around pool
Had complimentary pick from airport & cab was absolutely clean, they offer you chilled water on your arrival so felt welcoming
They gave us complimentary meeting room for our stay for 3 days
Staff is very courteous
Check in & Check out procedure is very quick
The Dhaba on 1st floor is a good Indian cuisine restaurant

Room Tip: Go in for a pool side view, wont find any market or access nearby hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shyamganjewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you staying with us & your encouraging words.

We are glad you have exceeded your expecations. We continue to aim and achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Warm Regards,
The Claridges Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

In simple terms I loved this hotel, it was outstanding, I stayed for only one night and wish it was longer I couldn’t fault anything. Loved the Vodka bar however this seems more of a men’s area showing what seemed to be very mild porn which may put others off. Very close to the subway at Racecourse. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, again simply outstanding

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you your kind words.

Feedback like yours is definitely an encouraging sign and it will be utmost pleasure sharing it with my team.

Lookin forward to welcoming you back with us.

Warm Regards,
The Claridges Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, AUstralia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is a wonderful hotel! Excellent service, spacious rooms, excellent food choices and a really delightful place to stay after a hectic day in Delhi. Our luggage was delayed a few days and the staff were so kind and helpful - we were not distressed at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piano06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We Thank You for choosing to stay with us & your genuine feedback.

Comments like yours motivate us even more to go out of our way every day to care for our guests. We are glad to have met all your expecations.

Warm Regards,
The Claridges Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The room we had in this hotel was lovely, the service very good and the staff very friendly. However, the pool was a little disappointing and the poolside service could have been better. Excellent food in the Mediterranean restaurant and the service was really good. One recommendation - try the Indian wine which was really surprisingly good - especially the Rose. Several restaurants in the hotel to try. We had a room with a balcony.
There is a lovely garden in which to have tea. Unfortunately it was not available during our stay as it was being returfed. We went in the low season and received an upgrade. Try to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pringle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Claridges New Delhi, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stayed with us.

We appreciate your gesture for having spent some time for your feedback. We are glad to have met your expectations during your stay.

Looking forward welcoming you back to The Claridges, New Delhi.

Warm Regards,
The Claridges Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.2 km away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#20 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
2.8 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
4.5 km away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
2.0 km away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
3.6 km away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Property: The Claridges New Delhi
Address: 12 Dr Apj Abdul Kalam Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,109 - ₹ 14,605
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, ClearTrip, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
Hotel Claridges
Claridges Hotel Delhi
Claridges India
The Claridges Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing