We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Claridges New Delhi
Ranked #35 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly helpful staff”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I would say it was not quite five star but we enjoyed our stay and stayed three nights. The rooms were not large but the bed was comfortable and housekeeping staff were particularly helpful. The breakfast deserves a special mention as it kept two teenage boys very happy! I can't in all honesty say that the food at night was always consistent ( we ate at Servillas and the cafe) but on the whole it was fine. We liked the location as it was away from the hustle and bustle of Connaught Place and as it was so cheap to get a taxi there, it really was not an issue anyway. The standard of massage at the spa I thought was very good and very professional. Worth doing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquelynrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    651
    197
    82
    57
See reviews for
339
783
133
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We started our wonderful India adventure with a friend who had been staying at Claridges for several weeks. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The room was spacious, attractive and clean. If I return, I would not hesitate staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eprVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The Claridges is a fine hotel in a good location. However, a few comments. Western tourists tend to confuse "The Claridges" in India with "Claridges" in London. One friend commented that "You will love Claridges in India. We stayed there in London - it is luxury!" Wrong. It is not the same brand. It is totally unrelated. The Claridges is a perfectly fine 4 star hotel. It is not a 5 star hotel regardless of the billing. My friends and I stayed in "Claridges Club" rooms - 3 levels up from "deluxe" rooms. They were 4 star. The hotel is badly in need of some charm. It is nondescript in every way. Everything painted beige/white. Nondescript furnishings and decor. The doorways, etc. are smudged and grimy. The marble in the baths stained. Just a
little rundown in appearance throughout. The service is satisfactory/excellent and the rooms are comfortable. However, don't expect 5 star quality or a truly memorable experience. I would rate both about average.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasJetLag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We had three nights here as part of a tour package, so I cannot comment on cost. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We had one overlooking the pool and this was very nice, as a previous reviewer has said, so cannot comment on other rooms. We ate at Pickwicks and the Chinese restaurant, and were happy with both.

The only comments are firstly, location. It is in the diplomatic area, which has the advantage of being quiet and pleasant, but is not in walking distance of the major sights, nor any other eating places that we could find. Having said that, we did walk to nearby Ghandi SMITRI (virtually next door) and also to Indira Ghandi Museum (about 4 blocks).,

Secondly, watch what you sign and check that the supposedly carbonised copies do actually match! In Pickwicks, we were presented with two different dockets to sign - the top copy was folded over, which was very odd, so we looked closely and found that the duplicate copy was ours but not the top copy! So check each transaction - we found this applied over most of India anyway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The Claridges Hotel New Delhi is a competent if somewhat forgetable hotel. Although a heritage property, the hotel rooms are big city style, and possibly a little tired. The staff are very helpful and we had a problem with our travel arrangements which they heloped us with. The hotel restaurant was expensive, but the food was good. As ever, it was irritating to stay at a good hotel and then have to pay for WiFi!! Overall, despite the flaws we enjoyed the stayed and our time in Delhi.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fireflyOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.8 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 715 in New Delhi
2,889 reviews
2.0 km away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,695 reviews
2.2 km away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 715 in New Delhi
2,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 715 in New Delhi
3,669 reviews
1.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
0.8 km away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 715 in New Delhi
2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claridges New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claridges New Delhi

Property: The Claridges New Delhi
Address: 12 Dr Apj Abdul Kalam Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,098 - ₹ 15,292
Hotel Class:5 star — The Claridges New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridges, New Delhi is located in the heart of Lutyens Delhi. This gracious three-storied hotel is within close proximity of the business districts, diplomatic missions, shopping centres and historical landmarks like the India Gate and Rashtrapati Bhawan. The hotel offers a wide choice of accommodation ranging from well-appointed, deluxe rooms to luxury suites, some with their own private terrace. The rooms are amongst the most spacious in Delhi and are a blend of classic and contemporary styles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, ClearTrip, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Claridges New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Claridges Hotel New Delhi
Claridges Hotel New Delhi
The Park Hotel Delhi
Claridges New Delhi
Hotel Claridges
Claridges Hotel Delhi
The Claridges Delhi
Claridges India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing