We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in a busy city”
Review of Maidens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maidens Hotel
Ranked #11 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“An oasis in a busy city”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Maidens is a lovely colonial hotel with good, friendly service and lots of character throughout. A quiet location away from the madness of Delhi. Upgraded to a suite on the way back. Food is decent, nice gardens and a swimming pool. Internet is expensive

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathieO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for posting your views about Maidens Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are overwhelmed to recieve your feedback and have shared it with all our team members. Your every word has been very motivating and inspiring for all of us.

Thank you so much for placing us high on your expectation levels.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back to Maidens in not too distant furture
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    412
    89
    21
    5
See reviews for
189
491
61
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the start of a tour of north and central India. We were upgraded to one of the refurbished rooms, which was lovely - comfy bed, walk-in wardrobe and an enormous bathroom with Crabtree and Evelyn products. The refurbished rooms are definitely worth the extra cost (which isn't that much, anyway), judging from what I could see of the older rooms. Service and food were both good, though the dining room can get a bit crowded at breakfast if there is a large tour group in. Although the hotel isn't right in the centre of Delhi, it is a three-minute walk to the metro station, which is on a direct line to Connaught Place, Old Delhi, and other places of interest. The metro is incredibly cheap, brand new, spotlessly-clean and air-conditioned (way, way better than the London Underground!), so there is absolutely no need to pay for an expensive taxi or dodgy rickshaw. It is also quite experience to emerge from this incredibly modern transport system into the chaotic timewarp of the Old Delhi bazaars.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank crazyspaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great delight having you stay withus at Maidens and read your review on Tripadvisor. We thankyou for sparing your valuable time to post your comments.

It is great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us & liked the ambience of the property. We thank you for your positive feedback about the hotel. Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to perform even better.

It is our endeavour to serve our guest and we look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights after the flight from London, before starting our tour of northern India. We were upgraded to a suite on the fourth floor with a big sitting room and large, powerful shower. The hotel is calm and quiet with peaceful grounds and has a real feeling of grandour and India's colonial past (see photographs). It was scrupulously clean, both in our room and in all the public areas. A great place to stay after an overnight flight. But the pool, though attractive, was too cold to swim in early March .

Although it was about an hour's taxi ride from the airport around lunchtime, the route is interesting and mainly through the tree-lined boulevards of New Delhi. It only took 40 minutes back for an early morning flight. Located close to the Old Delhi area, this hotel felt very safe. All the staff were helpful, pleasant and offered good advice. No problems changing sterling travel cheques at a reasonable rate.

We had dinners in the garden restaurant where there was a good choice of Indian and international dishes. If you prefer less spicy Indian dishes you have only to tell the waiter as they are all cooked just for you. But, like all hotels in India, the wine was very expensive at approaching INR3000 (£40) a bottle or about £5 for a (very) small glass. Breakfast buffet was good, with eggs and breads cooked to order.

Thoroughly recommended: we will return the next time we visit Delhi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandP_Cotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great delight to read your review on trip advisor. It is great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us & liked the ambience of the property.

It is our top endeavour to serve our guest and we are very pleased that we have exceeded your expectations during your stay.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
698 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here for the first night of a 6 day Taj tour and again on the last day. Lovely huge rooms. Attentive staff. We ate twice in the garden restaurant and enjoyed both times. The pool was huge and clean, a nice place to relax. Beers were 225 rupees plus tax and a bottle of Indian wine 425 rupees. A couple of tips. Some of the rooms are smoking and if you are a non smoker remember to request a non smoking one because the whole corridor smelt smokey. If you want water or soft drinks there is a tiny shop just outside the hotel on the other side of the road,take a left from the front gate. If you turn right from the hotel and walk 5 mins and cross just after the metro station there is a really helpful chemist more or less in the carpark at the hospital again across the road. Cashing traveller cheques at the hotel was easy as was changing sterling into rupees. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest

I sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our hotel and services. Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

The team at Maidens hotel Delhi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We spent two nights here at the tail end of a trip around Rajastan. I was very impressed with this place. Because we were kind of sick of being on the road, we spent an afternoon just hanging out at the pool, which was amazing. The grounds are kept perfectly, and it is an amazingly peaceful retreat, which feels very much removed from the surrounding city. The rooms were large and nice, and the service and restaurant were great. My only two complaints are (1) the air conditioning was a little funky, and you couldn't control it directly from your room, and (2) this place proved a constant challenge for taxis and autorickshaws to find. I read that complaint in a few reviews before I left, and just assumed it was the reviewers fault for not explaining it correctly to the driver, etc..., but it really is true. We routinely had taxis get lost once they got in the general vicinity. I know its the oldest hotel in town, but for some reason it seems off the radar to a lot of drivers. In any event, the metro is very close and that proved very convinent for getting around town.

All in all, this place is just a half-step below the real perfection of some of the 5-star places in town, but it is still very nice, and a great deal if you can get a good price online.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at trip advisori. We have all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our guests.

We have carefully noted your feedback regarding air conditionong and taxi's and can assure we will address this immediately.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
11.1 km away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
5.5 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
10.3 km away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
6.0 km away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#20 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
4.8 km away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maidens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maidens Hotel

Property: Maidens Hotel
Address: 7 Shamnath Marg, New Delhi 110054, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#38 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,622 - ₹ 13,119
Hotel Class:5 star — Maidens Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maidens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maidens Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Maidens Delhi
Hotel Maidens
Maidens Delhi
Maidens Hotels
Maiden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing