We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay an oasis of calm”
Review of Maidens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maidens Hotel
Ranked #11 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay an oasis of calm”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed for three nights - our room was huge but it felt a little sparse and may be in need of a touch of modernising/refreshing. We also needed extra blankets as got cold at night (stayed January). Bathroom was equally huge but not as modern as some of the pictures featured on guests photots, had some nice period art deco features though. Our room rate didn't include breakfast and this was quite dear for the selection but it was adequate, and buffet style so could help yourself. The staff were always very polite, helpful and friendly and the general hotel we thought was well maintained. Travelling in January the pool was not in use but it looked a little dated anyway. The hotel is located just a short ride from the metro so you have easy access in and out od the centre of Delhi and this was great for us, and just so cheap. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for peace and quiet with a bit of colonial charm, but not if you want the hussle bussle of the city and it literally on your door step.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ozzy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Maidens Hotel for your stay and sparing your valuable time to post your comments on trip advisor.
We are happy to learn that your visit to our property was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you, were to your satisfaction.
We thank you for your positive feedback about the hotel. As indicated by you, we have conveyed your compliments to the concerned staff member.
Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and encourage us to achieve even higher standards.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    413
    88
    21
    5
See reviews for
191
493
62
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This hotel is so impressive. When you drive through the gates you are given a warm welcome. The staff at this hotel are so friendly and attentive, nothing is too much trouble. A good example of this is when we had a bottle of Champagne in the bar and fancied some french fries to snack with it. As soon as I had said it a member of staff disappeared and a few minutes later appeared with some freshly cooked chips, Wow! There is a nice restaurant serving a good selection of food.

One thing we noticed was how colonial this hotel is.The Maidens has huge rooms and high ceilings, so you do feel a real sense of space. We stayed here twice and on both occasions were given a most luxurious suite. The rooms were huge and immense. They had a separate entrance, lounge, bedroom, study area, dressing room and a very large bathroom. Our rooms were truly palatial.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay here again if we visit New Delhi in the future.

Room Tip: If your budget will allow treat yourself to a suite, it would be wonderful treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank smokeyrolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Sir,
It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens and we thank you for your valuable time in evaluating our product and services on trip advisor.
We are happy to learn that your visit to our property was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you, were to your satisfaction.
We thank you for your positive feedback about the hotel. As indicated by you, we have conveyed your compliments to the staff member.
Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and encourage us to achieve even higher standards.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My 2nd stay at the Oberoi Maidens Hotel.

A grand old white Colonial property with spacious rooms in a quiet area of Delhi.
My wife and I were fortunate to receive an upgrade to a deluxe room; the room included a large lounge with high ceiling. Both the lounge and bedroom had wide screen televisions. The bathroom was large and modern with a double shower. I swear the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in.
A delightful little courtyard allowed us to sit out at lunchtime, in warm February sunshine, whilst enjoying a cold beer and delightful Indian snacks from the restaraunt.
That evening we enjoyed a superb prawn curry that was well served by Richard and his team.
All staff were first class.
A hotel I fully recommend to start or end your Indian tour.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GJholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens and we thank you for your valuable time to post your comments on the trip advisor.
We are happy to learn that your visit to our property was pleasant and comfortable and that the facilities provided to you, were to your satisfaction.
We thank you for your positive feedback about the hotel. As indicated by you, we have conveyed your compliments to the concerned staff member.
Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and encourage us to achieve even higher standards.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We really liked the building which was an old colonial space and the rooms were very spacious. It was clean and well kept and the bed was very comfortable. We were disappointed with the service. Perhaps our expectation was that of an Oberoi hotel as it is being run by the Oberoi group but we found some of the staff couldn't answer questions about the city. Maybe the lack of an individual dedicated as a concierge was to blame. In regards to the location, it is near old delhi but we felt like we would have liked to have been more central. It took a long time to get to some areas of Delhi (likely a traffic issue too) and it would have been nicer to be more centrally located. We only had the buffet breakfast, which was more simple than the other hotels we had been at in india and the quality of the food was average. Also the breakfast area was fairly small and felt a bit cramped. It would have been nice if they had the terrace open with tables outside. Also wish there was free wi-fi.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drJ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay at Maidens. I thank you for sparing your valuable time to post your feedback on trip advisor.
We are extremely distressed that you have been inconvenienced during your recent stay with us. We thank you for your time and your valuable feedback. This will assist us in improving our operations further.

Thanking you and assuring you of our very best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed in this lovely old Colonial hotel for one night in December. We arrived late afternoon and left very early the next morning so we stayed here for only about 12 hours in total. The rooms are massive with very high ceilings, but are very sparsely furnished which makes it feel a bit empty and not very cosy. The bathroom has a shower and bath combined. Unfortunately, as was the case with most of the hotels we stayed at in India, getting the water temperature correct was very difficult! The cold water didn't work at all in our bathroom so to flush the toilet we had to use the bucket from the rubbish bin and fill it up from the bath tap and put in the top of the toilet and then flush. The hot water worked, but it wasn't piping hot. Since we only stayed here for one night, we didn't bother complaining about the water issues.
The restaurant at the hotel had amazing food - it was actually the best Indian food we had in our entire India trip! It was very expensive though. The one thing that they could work on though is the atmosphere in the restaurant and bar - it was very quiet and they had really bright fluorescent lighting. We felt the need to whisper.
The grounds of the hotel are very nice, and are a welcome treat after being in the hecticness of Delhi. The hotel doesn't seem to be very close to anything like restaurants, bars, etc.
Even though it was a really nice hotel, for the price we paid, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaidensHotel-Delhi, General Manager at Maidens Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Maidens and we thank you for your valuable time in evaluating our product and services on trip advisor.

Whilst most of our services have met your expectations, we are sorry to note that some plumbing issue caused you inconvenience during your stay. The issue has been shared with the concerned team to ensure that such issue do not reoccure with any guest.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all times.

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
11.1 km away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,766 reviews
5.5 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,888 reviews
10.3 km away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 716 in New Delhi
2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#43 of 716 in New Delhi
3,646 reviews
6.0 km away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#24 of 716 in New Delhi
2,666 reviews
11.4 km away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#4 of 716 in New Delhi
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maidens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maidens Hotel

Property: Maidens Hotel
Address: 7 Shamnath Marg, New Delhi 110054, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#33 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#38 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,624 - ₹ 12,864
Hotel Class:5 star — Maidens Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Maidens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maidens Hotel Delhi
Oberoi Maidens Delhi
Hotel Maidens
Maidens Delhi
Maidens Hotels
Maiden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing