We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reminiscent of the past era” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oberoi
Ranked #3 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Reminiscent of the past era”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Oberoi is quite different from the other properties i have stayed around in India. Not quite used to the wooden ambience , thought this place looked a bit old fashioned! But yea! it did have the old world charm to it especially the restaurant on the last floor ( cant remember the name though) the bathroom was cramped & the place could do with a bit of modernasation. However, the staff is truly courteaous & do treat the guests well!
all they need to slightly rewamp the place..

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank wereisthesense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Guest,

I sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our hotel and services.

I have taken note of your comment regarding our rooms and do apologize for the inconvenience. The hotel has few renovated rooms and we will be more than happy to reserve them for you on your next visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,263
    378
    78
    18
    12
See reviews for
242
473
129
679
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

My husband and I made a booking here as our car was driving to it. Hence I didn't have time to shop around or compare. We were originally booked (by business associates ) at The India Habitat Centre.I will tell you I almost cried when I saw that hotel. That just couldn't happen so my driver told me the Oberoi was close. Since we were just returning from the Oberoi in Udaipur I knew the Oberoi would be a safe bet. when we arrived they told us our room would be ready in a few minutes and escorted us to the bar. We ordered tea which came out with a lovely service. When they came to take us to our room they said there was no charge for the tea service. That was a nice touch. The room was nice. The bathroom, although small, had beautiful hard wood throughout. The breakfast choices were quite extensive. The part I liked best of the hotel was the gym and spa. The gym has large windows that look out onto one of the pools. When you seem to get a little too hot the attendant will bring you a fresh towel, bottle of water and a chilled jasmine scented towel. If you want a massage try to go to the spa at night.The ambiance is nice as they have lighted candles and soothing music. Go early so you can enjoy a cup of tea first and soak it all in. It was one of the best massages I've ever had.All in all it's a very sound choice in New Delhi. I"m glad we happened upon it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodtrips01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our hotel and services.

We look forward to welcoming you again shortly.

Warm regards
The team at The Oberoi New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed at the Oberoi/New Delhi for a week in January.
Beginning with the pick up with a limousine from the airport, to the reception at the hotel, to the breakfast (ordering from the menu was included in the room price), to the pool and gym and the different restaurants with international cuisine: the Oberoi is definitely one of the best hotels in New Delhi and has a really excellent first class service (this all in my opinion is worth the higher price).
Only the rooms are average for this class of hotels and compared to international standards: if your room doesn't face the golf course/pool it's really noisy as you are facing a main road to the center of Delhi with traffic starting early in the morning (6 a.m.) and you can hear the doorman calling for taxis from the car park with a loudspeaker. And the views are also not to inviting compared to the rooms on the opposite side of the aisle.
So my tip for a perfect "Oberoi experience": try to get a room with an even room-number!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1060Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our hotel and services.

I have taken careful note of your comment on the noise levels from the car parking and will take steps to improve the same. Thank you for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again shortly.

Warm regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

The Oberoi chain of hotels is notable for its excellent service and this hotel is no exception. Oberoi hotels may be categorised as veering more towards business or leisure, in my opinion One only has to look at those in Agra and Jaipur to see the luxury pleasure grounds that have been created. The Oberoi New Delhi is definitely directed more for the business traveller. This is not a criticism as the hotel's facilities are high class and the service discrete and charming.

The food is good but.... It seems that Oberoi hotels are adverse to serving bacon with the eggs. It seems that it comes separately usually once the eggs have been eaten. Remember that it is bacon and eggs. This also occurred in Kolkata. Separately the eggs were not as ordered but replacement was done with smiles.

The location is ecellent being just five minutes by car from Kkhan market for those requiring some retail therapy. I concur with previous comments about the higher the floor the better the view. We had a direct bearing on Humayun's Tomb. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our hotel and services.

I have taken careful note of your comment on the breakfast service and will take steps to improve the same. Thank you for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again shortly.

Warm regards
Reuben Kataria
Executive Assistant Manager Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We have good news and bad news.
The Good news is that you were right about the Taj Mumbai being a beautiful and magnificent building.
The Bad news for the Taj is that:-
Your rooms are better.
Your room service people and cleaners are better.
Your reception and front office staff are 100% better, more customer orientatated and engaging.
Your serving staff are wholly professional and cater for the people they serve and obviously care for compared to a disinterested and unprofessional (Other than one or two ladies who sort to make a difference) muddle.
Your food is beyond excellent and deserves special praise
So Taj one point and Oberoi all the rest.
We will always seek out the Oberoi in our future travels and recommend you without reserve.
Clive & Dee Weatherley

Room Tip: The higher the better view, It really does not matter the room will be good and service great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clive_weatherley52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOberoi-NewDelhi, Manager at The Oberoi, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Mr Weatherley,

I sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our hotel and services. Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

The team at The Oberoi New Delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
5.3 km away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,630 reviews
6.8 km away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,554 reviews
1.8 km away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#7 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
3.3 km away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#15 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
13.5 km away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi

Property: The Oberoi
Address: Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,000 - ₹ 23,500
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Cosmopolitan Hotel overlooking Delhi Golf Course, 5 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your The Oberoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel Delhi
The Oberoi New Delhi
Hotel Oberoi New Delhi
Oberoi Hotel New Delhi
Oberoi Hotels Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing