We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Easily India’s best 5-star experience!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 696 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Easily India’s best 5-star experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

TAJ MAHAL aka Taj Mansingh – from the moment you enter till the moment you leave, one thing that’ll make you smile all the time is the thoughtfulness, courtesy and friendliness of the hotel staff – they are the ones who make Taj Mahal EXTRAORDINARY!
Besides that, the hotel being a luxury unit of Taj, is flawless, classy and up-to-date with world class amenities. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, equipped with modern gadgets and one side has a view of Lutyens Delhi – beautiful!!
The restaurants are amazing – During my stay, I ate at Varq, Machan, House of Ming and Emperor’s Lounge – each one better than the other.. each one fantastic! VARQ especially is the best fine dining experience ever :)
If you have the chance, by all means, stay at Taj Mahal.. highly highly recommended. You’ll LOVE it.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of Lutyens Delhi instead of the pool side..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vartika36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,220
    449
    84
    36
    15
See reviews for
225
360
181
881
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

What a fabulous hotel! We stayed here for 2 nights celebrating our 13th anniversary and my Italian husband's first visit to India, my home country, for an entire month staying with the Taj & Oberoi group. As a professional travel agent I have stayed in innumerable luxury hotels but this hotel gets top marks for customer service and just being genteel all around. The lobby is beautiful and check in is done on a comfortable sofa instead of behind a counter. Everywhere the flowers were amazing. As soon as you enter any of the Taj properties you are enveloped in the aroma of jasmines. I tried to buy a bottle of the jasmine oil but I was told it comes from France in litre size bottles at $2000+ a litre. Believe it, it smells intoxicating! We were greeted with traditional Indian aarti, marigold garlands and a welcome drink. We checked into the Club room 1018 with a lovely view of the pool. A lovely personalized letter from manager Amit Mehta was waiting for me, along with flowers, fruits and chocolates. The amenities at all the Taj hotels are superb, down to the loofah, comb, toothbrush, toothpaste, Qtips, shaving kit, everything you could possibly need. The soaps, shampoos etc are by Forest Essentials, India's leading Ayurvedic natural beauty brand. I loved them so much I went straight to their boutique at Khan market and practically cleaned off the shelves!
We decided to go for room service the first day and ordered a chicken biryani. The clerk who took the order was extremely kind and insisted on sending a dal with her compliments. The food arrived in a timely manner along with Anil Sharma an in room dining attendant who was extremely gracious in his manner. The biryani was the best we had on this trip, it was simply superb. Mr. Sharma then proceeded to ply us with complimentary desserts and fruits, none of which we could possibly eat, we were so stuffed!
We had breakfast at the Club breakfast room on the 8th floor on the first day. Here we ordered eggs and had personalized table service. Everything was impeccable. The next day we had the buffet breakfast at Machan. There is absolutely nothing like an Indian Masala Omlette and it was quite fabulous here and at every Taj hotel we stayed at. This is a very flat, as opposed to fluffy omlette with tiny bits of onions, tomatoes, cilantro/coriander leaves and it is so tasty! As soon as I introduced my husband to it, he became a fan, hence we had it at every hotel.
This hotel comes highly recommended. Despite being a chain hotel, the Taj group gives you the warm feel of a boutique hotel. Please do read my reviews for the rest of the hotels on my month long trip.

Room Tip: Club rooms with breakfast are the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bengal-tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

I have been there for 2 days on a business trip.
Very few hotel in the world can compete with this city hotel.
Materials are the best possible, design is at the top, details are so good that very often are surprising and all services deserve a rate of 6.
Every thing looks brand new and just waiting for you.
I's a medium / big size hotel and it is recommendable both for business and leisure trips. I reccommend it with pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maucami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

This hotel never fails to live up to the high standards it sets itself. The staff bend over backwards to be helpful and are wonderfully charming and engaging. The food was delicious and the location is perfect for business meetings, sight seeing or shopping.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

I booked directly on the web site and received a true deal. So I was expecting that something was wrong or they would up charge me with lots of fees. Nope, the weekend deal was real and the hotel surreal. Ok, it was not the best 5 star I have ever stayed, but it certainly was 5 star in all my expectations and services. One of the good tests of that extra quality is the hand cream given as part of the toiletry and I can tell you that the tickness of the cream exuded luxury. Don't hesitate in booking. The ITC is a good hotel also where my friend stayed, and I would be perfectly fine with either.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hughsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
5.3 km away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 696 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
4.3 km away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#2 of 696 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,496 reviews
1.9 km away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#14 of 696 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#7 of 696 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,689 reviews
1.7 km away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#20 of 696 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
0.8 km away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#22 of 696 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Property: Taj Mahal Hotel
Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,229 - ₹ 25,803
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing