We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent introduction to India for us...”
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #9 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent introduction to India for us...”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The Taj Mahal Hotel was our first stop on our first trip to India, and we had a wonderful time there. The building is not particularly distinguished looking from the outside, but the inside lobby, restaurants, grounds and rooms are top-notch. But what really made the Taj Mahal stand out is the excellent staff. Across the board, we were greeted by professional, attentive, very friendly staff who remembered us and saw to our every need. We were celebrating a special event, and the in-room service staff, led by Mr. Pradeep Dubey, put together a celebratory treat that we will never forget (thank you Mr. Dubey and your fellow team-mates Himanshu, Anuranjan, Ujjawal, Anil, Devender, Aneesh & Peter). There were so many other kind and professional staffers there, but one of particular note is the gorgeous Shilpa in the reception staff, who greeted us on arrival and saw to our every need to getting situated at the the hotel. Also, two restaurants we tried - their 24-hours lobby restaurant (named Machan, I believe) for breakfast buffet and Varq for a high-end Indian gourmet dinner, were excellent.

Room Tip: get to know and appreciate the staff - they will get to know you. And like all hotels at India, your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vancouver-paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,334
    491
    99
    42
    18
See reviews for
256
396
191
955
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

There is no doubt that the Taj Brand reached a height of excellence with this property. The public halls are magnificent, the rooms spacious and inviting and the staff on their toes. This hotel ranks head and shoulders above others in Deli and should be on the top list of discerning travelers. As for food, the breakfast is beyond belief in its comprehensive possibilities and the restaurants personal. Do not be surprised if the chef comes to your table to receive specific comments and suggestions about his product.

Room Tip: Do not be afraid to request upgrade and be sure to joins Leading Hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estrumagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just about to check out of this hotel and had a great stay. The service was excellent and the staff were very accommodating to our every need.The allowed me a late checkout. The rooms were very well cleaned and the room service staff even neatened up my clothes. Just two suggested improvements.

1. Ate at the coffee shop and room service. The food was acceptable but not as delicious and scrumptious as the Taj Vivanta Goa. Really missed the lamb burger we had there, and the kids were craving pizza.

2. I book the 2 bedroom suite. There is no privacy between the two rooms of the suite! I think this needs to be fixed, it would have been odd for my wife and I to sleep in this room knowing our teenager daughters can walk straight in at any time. You must point this out when people book this suite.

For the second alternative you did offer alternatives but as we were a large group it all worked out fine in the end.

Keep up your service levels, it was really a memorable stay

Room Tip: Well the only suggestion is to ask them to fix the mosquito replant when you check in. We stayed on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumeet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

There isn’t much that can be said that is negative about this hotel. The rooms were great. The staff were all friendly. The breakfast was wonderful and we ate dinner a couple of times at the restaurant and it was also great. I can’t think of a better welcome to India. We arrive a couple of weeks before Republic Day and could hear the bands practising at the India Gates on the other side of the trees at the front of the hotel. It was lovely.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spriglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I have stayed this hotel more than 5 times. Over 4 years, most of staffs have not changed and they greeted by my name. Their memory is amazing. Especially, I was very impressed one of lift security man. He always remembers my floor and press very quickly.

Only down side of the hotel is breakfast. It is getting worse and worse. I believe the chef has changed. I could eat very little for breakfast. For Taj, they should really improve breakfast. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank churachura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
4.3 km away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
5.3 km away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
2.4 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#20 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
1.7 km away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,639 reviews
3.0 km away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Property: Taj Mahal Hotel
Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,721 - ₹ 20,409
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, ClearTrip, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing