We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“feel like home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 701 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“feel like home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I have stayed this hotel more than 5 times. Over 4 years, most of staffs have not changed and they greeted by my name. Their memory is amazing. Especially, I was very impressed one of lift security man. He always remembers my floor and press very quickly.

Only down side of the hotel is breakfast. It is getting worse and worse. I believe the chef has changed. I could eat very little for breakfast. For Taj, they should really improve breakfast. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank churachura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,250
    456
    86
    37
    15
See reviews for
231
368
182
900
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plainville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Taj’s Delhi branch is typically elegant (typical for a Taj), and well located but it was not busy in November, and it was dead on the weekend. We had dinner in its Grill Room on a Saturday and we were the only customers there all night---which gets things off to a spooky start. The food was nicely presented and graciously served, but the Grill Room features supposedly “continental” cuisine, all of which comes with a touch of indian flavoring—which is fine if that’s how you like your French food. Probably better to avoid the Grill Room.
Concierge service was not satisfactory: The evening concierge assured me that the hotel’s representative would be first in line at the railroad ticket office on the morning of our departure to get two of the tickets that are held for day-of-journey sale to “last-minute” buyers, and that I could positively count on being on the right train. I should stop at the desk the next morning to pick up my tickets. He got a 1,000 rupee tip for his assurances—$20.00, the gross annual product for a smaller Indian village. The next morning there were no tickets waiting for us, and the day-time concierge had to make a couple of phone calls to be told (or so he reported): Their representative had gone to the station but there were no more tickets available. Maybe tomorrow?
The biggest reason, however, for the low rating that we are giving the Delhj Taj is:
We had made our reservation for three nights through the Taj’s reservation system and then we made a reservation for a fourth night through Expedia. In the cab from the airport to the Taj we decided to cancel the fourth night, and so advised the check-in man on arrival, but he said that reservations made through Expedia would have to be cancelled through it. I couldn’t seem to get through to Expedia by computer (Indian computers apparently don’t connect to Expedia’s US site, only to it’s Indian site), so I called Expedia long distance ($42 on our hotel bill) two days before our Expedia check-in, and was told that although I was indeed giving Expedia two days notice, I wasn’t giving notice of 48-hours-not-counting-day of-arrival required by the Taj’s cancellation policy, for which reason Expedia couldn’t refund the pre-paid $478 charge for the night unless authorized by the hotel to make the refund. For the balance of our stay the Taj gave me the runaround on the authorization, and thereafter it ignored two emails sent to the email address provided by the front desk, and the snail-mail letter that came after those.
They must really need the cash. The action in big-money hotel stays in Delhi has apparently moved elsewhere. Seems reasonable.

Room Tip: Call the Oberoi
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shinhanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a whirlwind trip through Delhi for a day (meaning we were in this hotel only for one evening, and then left at 6am the next morning). For that brief time, including dinner at Varq, our impression was that this was wonderful. The amenities in the hotel room were great, it was incredibly clean, the people there were incredibly helpful. The food at Varq is great. The metal leafing in the food was beautiful and tasty. The only downside is that the pool was closed so we were unable to use it, and it was a bit cold to be outside at night (stayed in December) so we did not utilize what looked to be beautiful outside lawns. Great place!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the club rooms. It was beautiful and spacious. The outlets allowed international...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cc1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed here on business several times and every time the service is exemplary. The rooms are well appointed with molson brown toilet tries etc but in honesty are as you would expect for a 5* hotel - nothing more.
The food at all restaurants is superb - have never eaten so much curry in my life - the chef even wrote down several recipes for me to try at home!
In the spring, the Taj organises a "Brunch" every Sunday. This is served in the beautiful gardens and there is endless fine food, champagne and live music. To be recommended.
All in all I could not fault the Taj and have made some great business contacts here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessTravellerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

The Taj Mahal is very conveniently located for those who have things to be done in all areas of Delhi. Unfortunately, we were extremely busy while there so I cannot tell you about pool, spa or restaurants.
The room-the rooms are clean and nice sized. The bed was awful...it was so hard. I thought they mixed up the mattress and the box spring. However, they do have a pillow menu which included a feather bed so once that was added it helped. Also, in the bathroom the showers have the "no slip" mat in the shower which I personally think is gross but that is me.
Room service-We first had room service and it was very good we only ordered indian dishes. The second time we ordered was okay. The matar paneer was very watery and had a weird taste(the first time i got it was delicious) the tandoori chicken was nice.
The staff-they were all very friendly and helpful. I left my shoes at another friends hotel where i was getting ready for a wedding and they sent a driver to get them granted it was like 40 USD but still I appreciated them going the extra mile.
Oh and last, we booked the room apparently on accident for only one person(we were two) and so when we went to check out they informed us that the actual cost of the room would be almost double what we expected. That was not a good way to end the stay but it was 2:30 AM and we had a flight to catch so we just sucked it up.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
5.3 km away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 701 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
4.3 km away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#2 of 701 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,556 reviews
1.9 km away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#14 of 701 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 701 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,735 reviews
1.7 km away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#20 of 701 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,394 reviews
0.8 km away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#22 of 701 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel

Property: Taj Mahal Hotel
Address: Number One Mansingh Road, New Delhi 110011, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,181 - ₹ 28,564
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Mahal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal Hotel is one of the most distinguished addresses in Lutyens’ Delhi, and reflects the heritage of Mughal Delhi. Graceful architecture blends aesthetically with modern facilities. The hotel is a city landmark, centrally located, in close proximity to some key areas of the capital. The 294 rooms and suites are luxuriously appointed with the latest in in-room comforts, and all are “rooms with a view” which adds to the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelGuru, Prestigia, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Expedia so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal New Delhi
Taj Palace Delhi
Hotel Taj Mahal
The Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel India
Taj Palace Hotel Delhi
Taj Palace Hotel New Delhi
Taj Hotels New Delhi
Taj Mahal Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing