We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel let down by service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
Ranked #57 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
186 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“A good hotel let down by service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

I stayed at the Met twice recently - at the beginning and end of a tour around Rajestan. The rooms were very pleasant with comfortable beds and good quality linen and pillows making for a very good night's sleep. The location of the hotel is also good however I must say I felt that the service lacked the personal touch. Although the staff greeted you every time you went anywhere in the hotel, it all seemed to be a bit of a chore for many and seemed to me to lack any sincerity. I couldn't say I felt welcome and, although it is possible to say that this is what happens in a large hotel, I had some excellent service in other large hotels in India. If being treated as a welcome guest is not important to you and you just want a comfy bed, then the Met is fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luciafrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We are delighted to know your liking of our rooms, beds and linens being used in the rooms. We have noted your concern regarding the personal touch which you found missing in our team. Our team will surely learn from your observation and will work hard to improve.We regret your experience was not as positive as that of others on this site but thank you for sharing this with us.We assure you an much better experience in your future visit at our hotel.

With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    646
    228
    65
    34
See reviews for
295
397
139
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

The hotel is on excellent condition and the rooms are excellent. The hotel has a Japanese resturant
, Sakura, and the food is very good. Highly recommended, located in New Delhi.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kula61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear Guest,

“Great Hotel ” Wow, what a compliment, thank you! We are overjoyed to read that you had such a fantastic stay with us and that you found our hotel & Rooms in excellent condition. The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa has recently undergone a full revamp and now ready with its brand new look. Also thank you for liking our Sakura restaurant and its food.We serve Authentic Japanese cuisine at our Sakura Restaurant.

It is always great to know when a guest is truly impressed and we shall certainly look forward to your return.

With warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaipur
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

It was urgent business meeting at Delhi which made me to choose this hotel ( first week of June 12), certainly great location but reception and service does not match with it. First of all for check in when I inquired about tariffs I was given some different rates but when I said that it's some different on website, he agreeed for that, . Room cleanliness was ok, room service was average..

I had spa in the evening... Staff was courteous, good, it was good

Wish to see some improvement in service.. Otherwise great location advantage.

Room Tip: It's ok... Not much of difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janyjaipur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review. We are lucky to be located at the heart of the city and its too convenient for our guests.We also thank you for special mention of Our Neoveda Spa.

I am very sorry to note that your stay experience was not as positive as that of others on this site but thank you for sharing this with us. Like all other hotels we also have special internet promotional rates on our hotel's website and these rates are not available for offline bookings. That was the reason that our front desk staff was hesitant in offering you these special rates.

We will work hard in the areas mentioned by you and all needful will be done on high priority.

Will look forward to welcome you again at The Met

With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

I stayed here two nights on official work and was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Its a clean hotel with friendly staff and plenty of options for eating and drinking. I specially thanks for Mr. ANSHUL GUPTA (Front Office Staff Member) for his supporting & friendly support.Checkin was incredibly fast and efficient which was a really good start for the stay because I arrived late after a long haul flight.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 621harish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to know that your stay in our modern rooms with good services was an lovely experience for you. We also thank you for special mention of one of our team leader.

Our team will look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again

With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

I stayed here two nights on business and was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The price\value ratio is very very good for Delhi and although this is not a "full" service hotel (it only has 2 restaurant, no impressive lobby and limited amenities) for a short a business trip it was excellent.

Checkin was incredibly fast and efficient which was a really good start for the stay because I arrived late after a long haul flight. Throughout the stay the staff were extremely courteous and attentive - from the doormen to housekeeping, reception and the restaurants.

The room seemed very new, not tired and worn. Bathroom was very good with a nice large shower. Everything worked and worked well - hot water, air con, lights etc... Not always the case in India.

I asked for late checkout until 4 pm and they immediately agreed. Very good, considering most places won't do much past 2 pm.

Overall I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel. I'm not sure I'd stay a week but for 2-4 nights it is more than fine.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanzeev, General Manager at The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to know that your stay in our modern rooms with good services was an lovely experience for you. .We have three restaurants at our hotel named as Sakura service Japanese Cuisine, Chutney Bar + Tandoor Restaurant- serving Indian Cuisine alongwith an well stocked bar and Zing Serving international cuisine. May be you had visited only 2 restaurants.

Our team will look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again

With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.9 km away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#47 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
0.9 km away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#58 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
1.5 km away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#18 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#20 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
0.9 km away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
1.4 km away
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Hotel The Royal Plaza
#75 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi

Property: The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
Address: Bangla Sahib Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#36 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#37 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#50 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,223 - ₹ 10,567
Hotel Class:5 star — The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE METROPOLITAN HOTEL & SPA, New Delhi, a Five Star Deluxe full service hotel, is located in the heart of the business and commercial hub of New Delhi, and provides easy access to most of the corporate and financial centres, ministries, embassies and the International Trade Fair grounds. THE MET is the perfect destination for an international traveler looking for easy access to doing business in New Delhi. This urban oasis in its New Avatar with its luxurious ambiance and lush landscaping is an experience in itself. THE MET, a fine blend of style and substance, is a member of Luxury Collection of Great Hotels of The World, an international hotel marketing brand. Each of the meticulously designed guest rooms and suites at the hotel features personalized comfort, luxury and all the necessary amenities to satisfy the modern discerning traveler. The Met houses renowned restaurants to mesmerize guests with eclectic options to choose from distinctive dining and wining experiences. To the global gourmet, The Met offers the award winning Sakura, India's first Japanese restaurant, Chutney, Bar + Tandoor, offering dinners an indigenous fusion of pan-Indian cuisine, Zing, the all-day world cuisine restaurant featuring an international platter set to tantalize the taste buds. The Met & all its Outlets Sakura, Zing, Chutney Bar + Tandoor Restaurant, NeoVeda Spa have been awarded with Certificate of Excellence 2015 by Tripadvisor, Highly Commended Spa Hotel India 2016 & Best Sustainable Hotel India 2016 by International Hotel Awards,Excellence in Hospitality Industry 2016 by International Quality Awards,Powering Global Travel Award 2015 by GTA, Luxury City Hotel 2012 by World Luxury Hotel Awards.In addition, The Met has a full service Business Center, Club Lounge, stylish Banquet Halls and Meeting Venues, Neoveda Health Spa with Swimming Pool to provide the extras that our corporate business traveler expects. The hotel is home to Craft House a luxury lifestyle store, with its exclusive range of Indian handicrafts, pashmina, jewelry, Ayurvedic spa products and the most unusual and unique Indian tea selections. The Met's passion for excellence endeavors not only to satisfy, but also to surpass all the needs of its guests to ensure that they LIVE MET SMART. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ClearTrip, Fastbooking, Prestigia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropolitan Hotel And Spa New Delhi
Metropolitan New Delhi
Hotel Metropolitan Nikko New Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel Nikko Delhi
Metropolitan Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing