We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city hotel”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #12 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great city hotel”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The location is very good for all travellers. The ambiance is one of the best colonial styles in the world. The hotel has quite a character. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The room was spacious, clean and very comfy. The spa offered in the hotel was very good as I took Ayurveda body massage that is typically Indian. The restaurants, especially italian, was also good using fresh food with Indian touch of course. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danuta2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,051
    561
    190
    86
    43
See reviews for
420
1,098
224
661
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The Imperial is a very plush hotel in fantastic surroundings, with a lovely pool and fantastic restaurants.

We stayed for just one night, but made the most of every minute. The rooms are very impressive with incredibly comfortable beds.

Afternoon tea in the Atrium is a must. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honey333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I love this hotel... I honestly don't have a bad thing to say it! My partner and I stayed here for 1 night before going travelling around India. We was a bit apprehensive about staying her, as we have stayed in many 5* hotel and have been treated very bad in most of them, as we are dressed very standard and don't look the part. This hotel exceeded my expectations! We was treated like kings and queens! Wonderful staff, beautiful hotel, and amazing food! If you are looking for a luxury hide away in Delhi... This is a must! Its probably the best hotel I've ever been to! And it was great value for money! My only regret is that we only stayed for 1 night! Would love to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte517169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morges
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

we thought it would be a treat but not really.
the building and the premises are superb and are kept in good conditions, the food is excellent form breakfast to the Indian restaurant in the evening.
the major bug is in the staff training who are not all concerned by the customer but by their comfort.
the staff by the pool hides in their place when so much is needed to be done to clean the environment
the room service takes your order but fail to deliver
the receptionist advises you to take a full tour when you only want a train ticket
and the list could be longer
so in a nutshell it is a superb experience but...

Room Tip: Delhi is building a new Underground Line, bad news if like us you are allocated a room facing the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpiniMorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2012

In terms of customer service you might get a better deal at the excellent Shangri-la. But, if you're going to Delhi, The Imperial really is the place to be. Everything oozes class - from the well spoken staff, the excellent restaurants to the jasmin scented hallways.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagnussonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
5.8 km away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,832 reviews
0.7 km away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,773 reviews
1.1 km away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 715 in New Delhi
3,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 715 in New Delhi
2,740 reviews
5.7 km away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#8 of 715 in New Delhi
2,792 reviews
2.4 km away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 715 in New Delhi
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: 1 Janpath, New Delhi 110001, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,696 - ₹ 31,039
Hotel Class:5 star — The Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel New Delhi
Imperial New Delhi
Imperial Hotel Delhi
The Imperial Hotel Delhi
Hotel Imperial
The Imperial New Delhi
Grand Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing