We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Invisible threads are the strongest ties

Whilst preparing for our first Himalayan trek, we were well aware that the company we book with is... read more

Reviewed 11 April 2022
MagicalEarth
,
Los Angeles, California
Great Rafting!

Great Camp, Great Rafting, Great Beach and Great People! Ideal place to go with friends as well as... read more

Reviewed 6 April 2022
roopesh2015
,
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Read all 162 reviews
  
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
139
21
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
139
21
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river rafting atali ganga kuari pass nourishing food lavish spread great rafting dry bags wonderful trek high altitude these guys support staff surreal experience taking care safe hands trek leader rapids crew
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2019

Aquaterra Adventures organized a six-day vacation with four days of trekking and camping, for our family of four. It was our first experience trekking in the Himalayas, and the Dayara Bugyal trek was an ideal beginner trek. Aquaterra is without doubt the best adventure tour operator in India. Their arrangements and equipment were flawless, guides were knowledgeable and caring, and food was excellent. Thanks to good planning by the guides, we were able to avoid crowds and rain, and experience the majesty of the Himalayas and the serenity of the high-altitude Bugyals (meadows) in the best possible way. All of us will cherish this experience for a lifetime!
After landing in Dehradun airport, we took a cab to Mussoorie and stayed overnight. The next morning, we were picked up by our Aquaterra guide and driven to a remote Himalayan village (Barsu), where we stayed at the basic but charming Dayara Resort, with beautiful views of Gangotri and nearby peaks. On day 3, we trekked up to Barnala Bugyal and camped for the night. Day 4 was a trek to our campsite just below Dayara Bugyal, and Day 5 we trekked to Dayara Top for some magnificent panoramic views of the Garhwal Himalayas and Dayara Bugyal itself. Having left early, we managed to beat the crowds and had the entire place to ourselves. Day 6 was the long drive back to Dehradun. The driver organized by Aquaterra was very safe on the mountain roads, and the guides were super friendly and knowledgeable about the area and flora and fauna. The cook rustled up excellent meals (imagine pizza while camping, and pakoras and samosas with evening tea!), despite the rain and cold.

Date of experience: June 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Mysore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquaterraindia, Owner at Aquaterra Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Dear Sriram,

Thanks so much for your note and the careful noting of all aspects that made your trip special.

We are glad we could make your first trek a memorable one, do share images when possible.

We wish you a super year and lots more hiking trips in the future, where we hope to see you with us.

Warm regards

Vaibhav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2019 via mobile

Camp Bagi (near Mori, Uttarakhand) is a beautifully located and professionally maintained wilderness camping site. Operated by Aquaterra, the gold standard in adventure tours in India, it offered us a highly memorable rafting, hiking and camping experience over the 4 days that we stayed there (May 28-31, 2019). 

The equipments, the instructors and the safety protocols are of highest standard, as they should be in any adventure activity. One feels safe and reassured while running a river or hiking in a forest with team aquaterra, as they don't cut corners. Dhruv Rana is a well informed, well traveled and expert chief instructor/manager who manages his team professionally. All the instructors and staff were capable as well as courteous (special mention our affable instructor Pankaj and the mess/kitchen staff Vijender). Though simple, tents were spick and span, toilets clean and hygienic and meals were delicious and well presented (despite the hardships associated with the remote location). 

All in all, a thrilling, relaxing, rejuvenating trip. Thanks a lot team aquaterra, you rock!!"

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank Rajesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquaterraindia, Manager at Aquaterra Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Dear Rajesh,

Thank you for visiting Camp Bagi, and for choosing one of the loveliest mountain camps in the Himalaya.

We are so glad you noticed the quality of equipment, guides and safety provided. Adventure travel is only as good as the gear, guides and guidelines ; and Dhruv Rana is one of the best!

We are grateful for your visit and we hope to see you back!

Regards

Shambhavi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2019 via mobile

Professional team of guides that can't do enough for you. Brilliant food and really comfortable jungle camp. Great range of expedition options to choose from. Fabulous company.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank louisel590
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquaterraindia, Owner at Aquaterra Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Dear Louise,

Thanks for your note, and your observation of our guides and camp.

We hope to see you back, and maybe on a long expedition this time,
Regards

Vaibhav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2019

My girlfriend and i stayed with at Aquaterra's camp. Great facilities, amasing food and treated very warmly. Professional guides, on point safety and overall id say the best rafting company in India. Nice job!

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquaterraindia, Manager at Aquaterra Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Dear Chris,

Thank you for sharing your lovely images with us, and for your lovely note. Our guides are the most seasoned and we are so happy to read what you think, and its not far from the truth, we daresay!

many thanks and hope to see you back!

Regards

Shambhavi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2019

I did the Siang (Brahmaputra) rafting tour + a private extension tour by car in Assam and Nagaland.

Aquaterra did a fantastic job for both tours. Both tours were really unique and special. The most impressive thing was, how they managed to organize such a complex tour like Siang rafting in absolute perfection. The crew was absolutely great. Very experienced, service oriented, professional and enthusiastic.

Aquaterra made this trip a wonderful once in a lifetime experience for me.

For sure I will be back someday for my next tour with Aquaterra.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank 284markusn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquaterraindia, Manager at Aquaterra Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Dear Markus,

Greetings and thanks for your note, you did visit one of the more pristine parts of India, and that always helps!

We are happy to note we delivered to your expectations and we certainly hope to see you back!

Regards

Vaibhav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews