We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Review Highlights
Awesome and professional. The best rafting company in India!

My girlfriend and i stayed with at Aquaterra's camp. Great facilities, amasing food and treated... read more

Reviewed 9 February 2019
Christopher H
Perfect rafting trip with a wonderful crew!

I did the Siang (Brahmaputra) rafting tour + a private extension tour by car in Assam and... read more

Reviewed 1 January 2019
284markusn
Read all 132 reviews
  
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
111
19
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
19
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adventure travel atali ganga kali river kuari pass base camp grand canyon hot pakoras adventure companies nourishing food lavish spread indian adventure bhel paneer non veg bucket list once in a lifetime his knowledge
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We booked Aquaterra from Sydney, Australia as my wife (originally from Pune India) had heard a lot of good things about them in the past. We specifically wanted to do a moderate trek, as my sister-in-law and niece from Pune would be joining us.
The booking agent at Aquaterra was quite helpful in sorting out the options, and given the timing and our requirements was able to organise a group to trek Dodital in late May, early June. The price was reasonable, and the timing worked.
One word of caution, Aquaterra are not like a western full service trekking company. It is your responsibility to get to the point of pick up, which in this case was Haridwar. We had to organise getting to Delhi, and getting on the train to Haridwar from Delhi. Aquaterra did book the tickets but "forgot" to forward them to us, so there was a lot of angst trying to contact someone that early in the morning (6:00am) as we did not know which carriage to get on. We jumped on the train anyway and my wife sorted it out with the train conductor who had us listed on the manifest. Lucky she is a Hindi speaker, for a foreign tourist this would have been disaster. Aquaterra should sort out the travel arrangements and have someone there to ensure the travelling party is OK, don't assume everyone is a local!
From Haridwar we travelled to Uttarakashi and Camp Kufloon which was the first nights stay. The drive was over 7 hours which was not pleasant but expected. Camp Kufloon is quite basic however comfortable and the hosts are very hospitable.
The hike up to Dodital and Darwa Pass was challenging enough and we were very well looked after by the guides. They set everything up and the mules carried all our gear so all we needed to do was walk! The campsites were all very nice and our guides went out of their way to make us as comfortable as possible despite the daily afternoon and evening rains. The food was incredible, at least 4 to 5 dishes for the main meals and vegetarians are very well catered for. I'd do another trek with them for sure.
In summary, great trek, very good service, but look after the connections for foreigners a bit better.

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank AndyRuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquaterraindia, Owner at Aquaterra Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Andy

Thank you for your review of your trek with Aquaterra Adventures. Am glad you enjoyed the trek leadership, the food and the team that set it up for you.

I must admit to being a bit confused about the problems with the transfers. As was communicated to your wife, your tickets were Wailtlisted as May is a very busy time for the Indian Railways. Your tickets were only confirmed a day before departure and were sent to your wife the same afternoon, well in time for your train.

We hope this has not soured your experience with us and hope to see you on an Aquaterra Adventure soon!

Best
Aashima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

My 10 year old son and husband have been trekking with Aquaterra for years - from treacherous Stok Kangri to freezing Chadar to picturesque Har ki Dun and now the rolling meadows of the Dayara Bugyal in Uttarakhand - Aquaterra does it with care and the confidence only experience can bring.

Dayara is a perfect trek (hike rather) for the trekking novice (aka me) to find their feet and test if tent living, au naturel loo breaks and succumbing to the vagaries of nature is your thing. The pouring rain meant hours in our tents but with stunning views to wake up to, I'm starting to get what the trekkies marvel at.

Aquaterra IS its people and Jeetu, Rana and the rest of Vaibhav Kala's very able team are what make this adventure company stand apart.

My only grouse is the food - too much, too fancy!

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank aneeshawadhwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquaterraindia, Manager at Aquaterra Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Aneesha

Thank you for your review of your trek with Aquaterra Adventures. Am glad you enjoyed the trek, the leadership, the views and the team that set it up for you.

We take your grouse as a compliment, as for most trekkers the meals are another great reason to choose Aquaterra Adventures.

We look forward to taking you further on your trekking journey!

Best
Team Aquaterra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Six of us spent this last weekend at Camp Aquaterra and I want to take this opportunity to thank you for your excellent hospitality and organization through all the planning, as well as on the trip. Aryaman, Ashima and the accounts team were really helpful in answering the million questions we had and could not have made it any easier for us to plan. A big shout out to Pankaj sir, Champ and Sanjay sir for all their warmth and support during our stay and for going all out to make sure we were comfortable and had a blast at the same time. All the Aquaterra staff on camp were super friendly and really gave out vibes of one big family, of which we also felt a part in the 3 days that we were there. The food, cleanliness, and amenities more than exceeded our expectations and all I can say is that we will definitely be back very soon on another trip organized by Aquaterra.

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank VedantA23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquaterraindia, Manager at Aquaterra Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Vedant

Thank you for a great review. It was a pleasure hosting you at Camp Aquaterra. We hope to see you soon for more Adventure!

Best
Team Aquaterra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Aquaterra hosted our ascent of Pangarchulla in the spring of 2013 (my review says 2016 because that is as far back as TripAdvisor would let me go). I am now long overdue for a return engagement. In any event, I am leaving this belated review because this company and its tremendous staff are well deserving of a superb review. They handled our train transportation to/from Delhi to Haridwar, truck transportation between Haridwar and Joshimath, accommodation in Joshimath and at the Auli Resort (the latter while acclimatizing to the altitude) and an amazing trek to the peak of Pangarchulla. Without exception, Aquaterra's staff were friendly, hard working and always mindful of our safety. If you book any trek, climb or rafting adventure with this outfit, you will not be disappointed. Top notch service for your bucket list adventure.

Date of experience: April 2016
2  Thank WorkForVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Fantastic arrangements by Aquaterra Adventures gives you the best advantage to make it to the summit!

Date of experience: February 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank AMBIKA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews