We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Invisible threads are the strongest ties

Whilst preparing for our first Himalayan trek, we were well aware that the company we book with is... read more

Reviewed 11 April 2022
MagicalEarth
,
Los Angeles, California
Great Rafting!

Great Camp, Great Rafting, Great Beach and Great People! Ideal place to go with friends as well as... read more

Reviewed 6 April 2022
roopesh2015
,
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Read all 162 reviews
  
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
139
21
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
139
21
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river rafting atali ganga kuari pass nourishing food lavish spread great rafting dry bags wonderful trek high altitude these guys support staff taking care surreal experience safe hands trek leader rapids crew
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2015

My first ever river rafting expedition was with Aquaterra,15 years ago. They were the best in business then and today once again I say that they still are the best!

The Chadar trek of 2015 was definitely a test for the quality their service in every way (Organization, resources, knowledge, support, comfort etc). Mother nature with its raging fury, threw one challenge after another our way. Landslide, snowstorms etc, unfazed the Aquaterra team handled all situations with ease and alternate plans were put forth in a matter of minutes. Hot food served in the middle of long cold hike, closed guest houses opening for us, hot baths warming our body and soul after long hikes and days in freezing temperatures.

A very professional team with this amazing ability to make you feel safe and secure, even on an risk laden adventure travel!

Date of experience: January 2015
1  Thank Shailja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2015

Amazing experience, fantastically organized, made some great friends. I would recommend Aquaterra to everyone.

Date of experience: April 2015
2  Thank ravipittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 May 2015

Contemplating whether we should holiday in Ladakh or Jammu, we spent a weekend. Then a friend told us about Aquaterra, India. And the moment we checked their website, there was no looking back. A group of 4, we got the trip customised and the one week of trek was heavenly. Starting from the Delhi Shatabdi train to Rishikesh to our fooding to everything was fantastically arranged.
The only drawback of the trek was that now we can never ever go to those "typical" hotel trips, sleep on those spring beds with air conditioner at 16 degree.. ;)
Aquaterra, you rock.. :)

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank 195kritid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 April 2015

A bunch of us friends recently got in touch with Aquaterra Adventures to set up a whitewater rafting trip on the Tons River in the north Indian state of Uttarakhand. The Aquaterra
team were excellent in every way: they were superbly efficient, highly reassuringly safe and extremely warm, friendly and hospitable. Rana, our expedition leader, was exemplary, and Sanjay and Pankaj made for brilliant guides, scouts and companions. Mahipal, our cook, was a real wizard, whipping up surprises and comfort chow with supreme efficacy out there in the wild. We're talking eggs, parathas, toast, peanut butter, pohe and more for breakfast; rajma, fresh vegetables and delicious mutton and chicken preparations for lunch and dinner; and samosas and pakoras at tea time.

Every day was deeply fulfilling, featuring a perfect mix of rafting, camping and soaking in the exquisite beauty of the Tons valley. The rafting was extremely thrilling—we hit a bunch of class 4+ and a couple of 5- rapids—but we were never nervous. Aquaterra is known for its devotion to safety and we always felt completely secure. There were two safety kayaks near us at all times and our guide was so deft and skilled that our attention was completely focused on the fun part...with a bit of strenuous paddling work too, as our muscles reminded us :)

All in all, we had not a single complaint to offer. We ended our trip with a deep feeling of satisfaction and reinvigoration. Uttarakhand is a truly spectacular region, mostly untouched by civilisation's callous hand. We felt so lucky to be able to absorb and enjoy nature at its most pristine. In addition to that, the efficiency, courteousness, hospitality and attention to detail that we witnessed from our hosts was truly admirable. Aquaterra's renown is deserved and will undoubtedly be our go-to company for any outdoor expeditions in India, as well as the ones they do abroad. I recommend them to anyone seeking to explore India's natural wonders.

Date of experience: April 2015
4  Thank udaybenegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 February 2015

After months of anticipation, we got the dreaded mail - Landslide on the Tsarap Chu, and possibly no Chadar Trek!
With anyone else - that would be the end of it! Not so with ATA ...
Alternate treks were planned, hotels opened up for us, and the Grand Finale was two grand days on the Ganga after another blow a week into our alternate itinerary ... Nubra Valley Trek cancelled due to Extremely Heavy Snow expected. ATA got us out of Leh and into Gadhwal!

Into adventure travel? Want to get home safely? Totally recommend Team ATA!!

Date of experience: February 2015
6  Thank Abhay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews