We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this one!”

Old Delhi Bazaar Walk & Haveli Visit
Ranked #1 of 52 Food & Drink in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our Old Delhi tours are combination of Food, Heritage & culture with walking and cycle rickshaw( Pedi cab) ride to make a comfortable experience at Old Delhi. It is off the eaten / beaten path and a feast for all the senses. We recommend our guests to see Delhi not just as a sightseeing tour or sitting simply on a cycle rickshaw / Pedi cab or in a taxi BUT see it through our eyes to experience the city on the whole with its past and present, with its beliefs and its culture that co-exist. Our walks give a taste of the city and make you sink in the frenzy of its colours, vivacity and irresistible charm. Your senses come alive as you will encounter the many captivating sights and sounds this amazing city has. It indulges you in its artistic enticing food to refresh, rejuvenate your mind, body & soul as it satisfies one's cravings. This also gives an insight to Indian heritage, culture, traditions and Culinary Experience. Disengage yourself from the rest of the world and walk the streets of Shahjanabad / Chandni Chowk with us, the passionate local family ( fifth generation)from the Old City of Delhi. You will get a completely different look of India through the eyes of the local family living in the same area. You will be personally lead around the neighbourhood's winding streets, sharing the neighbourhood's rich history, delicious food & culture. After the walk, you will visit and enjoy complimentary homemade meal at one of the last standing beautiful Haveli (an Old Private Mansion in the old city in which single family is living from five generations) of Delhi.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We had already done an Old Delhi/Chandni Chowk daytime tour before taking Dhruv's Old Delhi Bazaar Walk etc at night. The first tour, though interesting, was a typically superficial tourist experience compared to our adventure with Dhruv. He regaled us with many insights into the real world behind the street scenes, made us part of his chats with local storekeepers as he showed us around their shops, bought us lots of delicious snacks we had not dared to try and impressed us with his passion for this amazing world he lives in. Dhruv was more like a charming and generous host than a tour guide. He literally took us behind the scenes to meet his delightful family in their stunning haveli where we were treated as dinner guests, shown around and given a delicious traditional meal. We spent over a month touring northern India and saw many wonderful sights but the experience with Dhruv was unique in making us feel almost a part of this fascinating world rather than merely observing it. It was also unique in that we were not asked to buy anything, not allowed to pay for anything and Dhruv said at the outset he would be offended if we tried to tip him! This tour is excellent value.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank dmmeagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDelhiFoodTrail, Owner at Old Delhi Bazaar Walk & Haveli Visit, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Friend,

Thank you for taking out time and putting your kind words for Old Delhi Bazaar Walk and Haveli Visit.

I am very happy to know that you enjoyed this walking tour and the street food delicacies. My two decades of experience in the travel and tourism industry helps me to understand that a tourist wants to see something different also along with the famous tourist attractions but they are little apprehensive of getting lost in narrow lanes and eating something which is not suitable for their stomach.

During this walking tour, I try to offer various experiences and share the treasure of heritage, culture and food with authentic Indian delicacies in my Old Delhi and suitable for the Western stomach.

Your kind words will definitely encourage me to continue sharing my passion for Old Delhi with more people who would really like to see what Old Delhi is and what is hidden behind the doors.

Thank you once again.

With warm regards,
Dhruv Gupta
Founder & Travel Advisor
+919810750217
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,854
    104
    17
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great experience - do it!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

In a city that can drive you mad, Dhruv's calm style and informative, non-scripted talk is a breath of fresh air. My wife, unfortunately, was ill at the time of the tour. Dhruv could not have been more helpful in assisting her. Dhruv's wife's cooking was superb and the whole tour provided a great opportunity to discover more about the real Delhi. Dhruv's English is superb and he is extremely helpful in answering any questions on life in Delhi. Highly recommended

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank KMF99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDelhiBazaarTour, Owner at Old Delhi Bazaar Walk & Haveli Visit, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear Friend,

Thank you very much for taking out time to post your encouraging comments. I am glad that you enjoyed the experience of the walk through Old Delhi bazaar. I certainly look forward to welcoming you again at the Haveli and showing you more of my Incredible India.

Warm regards,
Dhruv Gupta
Founder & Friend
+91 9810750217
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Não deixe de fazer”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This experience was really like visiting a friend's home, The best way to get to know any place. It was an extraordinary experience!
We are lucky to see and feel Delhi from a true perspective and no doubt this enriched our lives forever.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank verena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDelhiBazaarTour, Owner at Old Delhi Bazaar Walk & Haveli Visit, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear Friend,

Thank you very much for taking out time to write such a heart touching review of the Old Delhi Walking Tour & Haveli Visiting Experience.

I am glad that you enjoyed the experience. I certainly look forward to welcoming you again sometime and assure you that each experience will be new and different since that is what Incredible India is all about.

My passion is simple, to share with our guests the flavors of India that I treasure and love.

Warm regards,

Dhruv Gupta
Founder & Friend
+919810750217.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

An excellent tour of old Delhi, it's definitely off the beaten track! We got to see things the normal tourist would not. Dhruv and his family are very warm and welcoming - all in all a wonderful tour the like of which I never been on before but would highly recommend to any India newbie!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Manish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“outstanding in all respects!”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This was a very exciting way to see Old Delhi, with a wonderful guide who has lived in this area his entire life and made the trip so enjoyable and informative for us. I would highly recommend Dhruv Gupta to anyone who is interested in seeing Old Delhi!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank valerie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldDelhiBazaarTour, Owner at Old Delhi Bazaar Walk & Haveli Visit, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear Friend,

I want to sincerely thank you for taking out the time to write about your experience in Chandni Chawk / Old Delhi. I am so happy that you enjoyed the tour thoroughly. It was such an honor to meet you. I hope you would visit us again soon.

warm regards
Dhruv Gupta
+91 9810750217
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Delhi Bazaar Walk & Haveli Visit also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Old Delhi Bazaar Walk & Haveli Visit? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing