We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss this tour!”

Old Delhi Bazaar Walk & Haveli Visit
Ranked #1 of 52 Food & Drink in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our Old Delhi tours are combination of Food, Heritage & culture with walking and cycle rickshaw( Pedi cab) ride to make a comfortable experience at Old Delhi. It is off the eaten / beaten path and a feast for all the senses. We recommend our guests to see Delhi not just as a sightseeing tour or sitting simply on a cycle rickshaw / Pedi cab or in a taxi BUT see it through our eyes to experience the city on the whole with its past and present, with its beliefs and its culture that co-exist. Our walks give a taste of the city and make you sink in the frenzy of its colours, vivacity and irresistible charm. Your senses come alive as you will encounter the many captivating sights and sounds this amazing city has. It indulges you in its artistic enticing food to refresh, rejuvenate your mind, body & soul as it satisfies one's cravings. This also gives an insight to Indian heritage, culture, traditions and Culinary Experience. Disengage yourself from the rest of the world and walk the streets of Shahjanabad / Chandni Chowk with us, the passionate local family ( fifth generation)from the Old City of Delhi. You will get a completely different look of India through the eyes of the local family living in the same area. You will be personally lead around the neighbourhood's winding streets, sharing the neighbourhood's rich history, delicious food & culture. After the walk, you will visit and enjoy complimentary homemade meal at one of the last standing beautiful Haveli (an Old Private Mansion in the old city in which single family is living from five generations) of Delhi.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Do not miss this tour!”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I had a memorable evening with Dhruv and 2 others on this tour. Experiencing a neighbourhood in Old Delhi through the eyes of a local guide is a truly unique experience. Sampling street food that was phenomenal, visiting Dhruv's haveli and having a meal with him and his family, flying a kite on the rooftop, these were all things that most tourists would never exeprience. Keep up the good work Dhruv!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank dbasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,831
    102
    17
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Eye-Opener for the Indian Culture”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

A "poor" man sitting on the street, earning his money with boiling tea ... and earning 400$ per Day!
Walking around at night in the small streets of Old Delhi Bazaar as the only remaining tourist ...and feeling completely safe and at ease!
Eating from small one person mobile street stands... and not getting ill!

I can only recommend this great tour, which brakes several thinking muster about traveling in India. Moreover it was a great experience for the eyes, the tastes, the mind and my heart.

Thank you, Drhuv!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank KristienO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Absolutely great. Not necessarily a great fan of organized tours this sounded different and so it was. We took the tour on our 2nd day in Delhi (in the evening) when you can still fell a bit intimidated by the bustle - not least so in old Delhi. But this turned out to be a perfect introduction not only to the food but to the crowded narrow streets - so much so that even Varanasi some days later was easy to handle. We got to taste some great food during the walk and later in the haveli visit where we were also introduced to kite flying. And to stand at a terrace overlooking Old Delhi - well that was also a great feeling.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Henrik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent and tasty way to see Old Delhi.”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I went with my 10 year old son and we both had a great time. In my 10 year olds' words, it was "amazing, the food was really good and I really enjoyed flying a kite from he roof at the end along with the firecrackers". We had a wonderful evening, it was a great way to explore Old Delhi and then enjoy a home cooked meal served by two very gracious hosts. It was pricey for how we were traveling but worth it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisajanecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The BEST Way to See Old Delhi”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Dhruv grew up on Old Delhi - he and his wife are the fifth generation in his family to live (with their two charming teenage daughters) in their haveli (classic Indian private courtyard mansion), and they open up their restored house to you from top to bottom (literally - you can fly kites from the rooftop five stories up with a 360 degree view of Delhi or hang out in the courtyard at street level). Richa, Dhruv's wife cooks up a feast (with your help, if you're so inclined, and in any event with lots of show-and-tell; btw - bottled water used for cooking and drinking), and Dhruv takes you around Old Delhi's lanes and bazaars for a completely unscripted long ramble. He knows everyone, knows what street food is safe for Western tummies, and won't let you pay for anything... it's all included, from bicycle rickshaw rides, to street food, to his services as enthusiastic photographer, to gratuities...(he tells you right up front that he will be insulted if you try to tip him, and he means it). His English is perfect and idiomatic, as is Richa's. We needed to shop for presents (which turned out to include some silver jewelry that my wife couldn't resist) and Dhruv did all the bargaining for us at each shop we chose to walk into (and he hates to overpay). We can't praise this experience highly enough - it was one of the highlights of our three-week trip. The house can accommodate large parties or small and the entire experience would be perfect for kids too.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank philmNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Delhi Bazaar Walk & Haveli Visit also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Old Delhi Bazaar Walk & Haveli Visit? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing