We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE WORST hotel experience ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Shiva Intercontinental
Ranked #679 of 1,123 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 June 2017

I would give -10 rating, if I could. They had bed bugs all over the place. And when I reported, they switched me to another room. We checked in to the new room only to find out it had even more bugs than before. 3rd room was the same case. It smelled really really bad. Lot of blood stains over the "never changed" bed sheets.
When we complaint to the management, they were very very rude.
Its not a 3 start. Not even a 1 star. Its a scam.

Room Tip: NEVER EVER fall for this cheap hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deepakwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

My friend and I spent one night at this hotel and it was one night too many. We arrived late around 9 o'clock at night but my friend had booked the hotel earlier expecting me to be tired when I arrive. They charged himRs.1800 for a room that is advertised 745 R on trip advisor. My friend did not have access to Internet or any other hotel booking site and they took advantage of that. When I arrived at the hotel the room was muggy, oily, rundown, the carpets were full of skin flakes, the lights or filled with spiders and bugs, mould was sitting in every single corner of the room wet moist bathroom from a previous customer, I was so tired I could not even utter my discuss. I truly thought that all hotels in India were the same because that was my first impression and my first time in India. It is NOT! We moved next door to a clean environment and for half the price. On Tripadvisor the breakfast was included, and when we requested they said it was not included that it would be extra everything was extra even the visits when the air conditioner wasn't working and the toilet paper. I hate being taken advantage of in a foreign country. We went to speak to the owner would just happen to be in his air-conditioned office, and he was very defensive, shifty eyes, rude, and accused my friend of excepting the price that he had quoted and it was too late! He also said by the way that trip advisor fools people by putting the price down and he unfortunately has to match that price and paper trip advisor the difference which is completely falls again. I took pictures of the The room we stayed at which was room 701 but I hear from other unsatisfied customers that all the rooms are the same and I did look nothing like the ones posted to the TripAdvisor site under luxury room! ( i checked on other sites, same thing)
Please stay away from this hotel it is packed with locals and there's children because they know the true price and they get a deal but tourists are taken advantage of.
Please look around before you get ripped off by Shiva intercontinental hotel in New Delhi.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Yvanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

My friends and I stayed here for one night, our first room was a little stuffy so we asked to move to another room which was on the ground floor... It was a bit cleaner, but still not the most luxurious hotel experience.. The breakfast was mediocre, the best part was the fruits! If you're a germaphobe consider bringing extra bedsheets and pillow cases. The service was friendly and check-in went smoothly.

Room Tip: Try to get ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

This trip was an exciting one as I was traveling to New Delhi in winters for the first time.
After too much of speculation and browsing through various bduget hotels we shortlisted Shiva Intcontinental for my three night short stay in Paharganj, Delhi. The rooms aren't as spacious as they seem in the images. The decor is too heavy and lavish but its far from what it is. The furniture isnt in good shape. For instance, the bed was uneven inspite of changing the room the first day itself.
The Room service is delayed and at times NOT AT ALL, in case of my colleague, she wasnt given the morning tea inspite of reminders. The staff is courteous and always smiling but that is it, only on the face. Mostly all of them are expecting BAKSHIS all the time.
The BIGGEST INCONEINENCE we faced was depsite of winters there was hot water which was barely HOT.
SHIVA INTERCONTINENTAL IS LESS THAN A BUDGET HOTEL. A LODGE HAS BETTER AMENITIES.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Breedlove2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Nice room , staff are friendly and good wife with full speed and room maintains good food was also good and tasty but taking room service tax is more hotel is in good location and easy to reach railway station

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Korada S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Amax Inn
#20 of 777 in New Delhi
810 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#27 of 777 in New Delhi
2,934 reviews
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 777 in New Delhi
3,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#55 of 777 in New Delhi
1,770 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#34 of 777 in New Delhi
4,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shiva Intercontinental? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shiva Intercontinental

Address: 8478/13 Arakshan Road | Ram Nagar, Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #679 of 1,123 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range: ₹ 1,014 - ₹ 1,394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Shiva Intercontinental 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra, Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, Hotels.com, Agoda, ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Shiva Intercontinental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing