We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for normal food”
Review of West View The Grill Room - CLOSED

West View The Grill Room
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overpriced for normal food”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We had dinner at the westview and were quite dissapointed by the quality of the food in comparaison to the price. At around 5000 rupies per person one would expect perfect meat and a wide choice for the anti pasti bar. This restaurant would be considered very expensive even in europe for this type of quality. However, the service was very good and the waiters very friendly. The cocktails are nice so are the deserts.
Too bad the meat isnt excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rse08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    27
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“interactive, live grill, mouthwatering array of options - utopia for meat & seafood lovers”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

If u book a seat in advance, u can get to sit besides the glass wall & see half of Delhi from atop. The concept is unique - This is the first such experience that I had in India.

The dinner starts with soup options that the server would take an order for.A large table at the middle of the restaurant has a very large variety of starters. Very difficult to do - but try not to eat much of these super cool starters & salads..... as more attractive ones follow.

As you walk into the third section - the maincourse, you see a huge open refrigerated space with different kinds of raw meats - different marinations, different cuts & so on......A section for seafood too.

As u select the marinated options, they are sent to the grill master. For the non marinated meats, u get to have a chat with the chef & decide on the accompaniments, sides, & spices & of course way of cooking.

This can keep on happen as many times & for as much time that ur stomach muscles start sending strong messages to the brain for 'overloading'. However restrained one is, it is almost impossible to not reach that stage.

My knowledge of English is not that bad but I seriously lack adjectives to describe how good the food is & how memorable it can be.

Desserts r superb too.

A great place for a romantic dinner & also for a faily get together or with friends or alone......actually good for all moods, all occassions & always ....... a must try

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yummraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“CARNIVORE HEAVEN!!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is a totally unique experience for a meat lover in Delhi. This is a place where you can actually pick the raw meat off the ice and tell the chef what to do with it. I just love it. Of course, the appetizers are on a massive table in the middle of the restaurant and the dishes include smoked salmon, parma ham, oyesters and assorted cheeses, cold cuts and salads, but the main stay of the restaurant is the meat and wine selection.

Again, it comes with a standard caveat that i issue with all my reviews of costly places, this one aint cheap. It costs around Rs. 3000 per person without drinks. The meal is a set meal which includes the starters, meats, soup and dessert. I've already addressed the starters above so ill proceed with the others.

The main course can be listed as follows: SEAFOOD:salmon, halibut, prawns, lobsters, pomfret, softshell crab POULTRY : chicken, quail, duck MEAT : steak, aussie lamb chop, rosemary and thyme lamb chop, bratwurst, bockwurst, fillet steaks, chorizo

The Dessert options are quite a few but a must eat is their caramlized banana cooked in rum served with vanilla ice cream. I've tried making it at home, just doesnt taste as good.

The restaurant has an outdoor section which is awesome if the weather is good since it is on the rooftop of the hotel. The service is excellent as is the food.

I would definitely recommend it for couples or even for some business/client dinners since the ambience is quite versatile since classy never goes out of style.

Also on certain nights they have a talented singer who sings classics. Adds to the overall experience. Great place.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShivaTheDestroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the finest dining experiences of my life”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Got turned on to this place as I wanted the best restaurant in Dehli. Someone said it was Bukhara so off we went to the ITC. We got to the hotel and felt like eating european food instead so we went to west view. This place is awesome. All buffet, seriously gourmet. The appetizer table was stunning. The meats were gorgeous and everything made to order. Deserts also excellent. The chefs all do rounds to the tables to assure satisfaction. Front of house service is superb. I have never felt so welcomed and taken care of at a restaurant, and of course the food was fabulous. Excellent view as well, though of course the view is of Delhi's "skyline". Truly an oasis in the midst of the chaos of the city.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank traumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique dining”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

If you are a meat freak and you love it fresh then this your place ! You have pork,lobster,beef,chicken and what not fresh and raw ! And you are the chef jere ! You tell the chef what you want and how you want ! Dining can't become as interactive as this ! Imagine you having that steak along with a glass of wine on the 25th floor of the maurya sheraton overlooking the lush greens of Delhi, it can't get better than this ! Though it is expensive but paying for something unique.... ITs worth it !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishabhsansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West View The Grill Room also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing