We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Everything you need to know” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jorbagh BnB

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jorbagh BnB
Ranked #12 of 1,033 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything you need to know”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Hi, was travelling around India and had two rooms here for 4 nights.

The location is the best it is a 2-3 minute walk to the station which is on the central line. For those looking at undeground train stops, it will take you from 5-15 minutes anywhere you want to go in the city. It is the safest form of transport in my view having used it extensivelly at all times while in Delhi. The street walk to the station is ultra safe walking whatever time, a big issue for me. Private guards along this street of private mansions make it particularly safe. There is also a small kiosk next to the station where you can get snacks, smokes and drinks. The park nearby is also worth strolling through. It provides a retreat away from the craziness of the city.
There are also tuk-tuks at the station which will take you anywhere. Prices are going to be around 60-120 ruppees depending how far you go. About a pound give or take.

The owner is indeed a good man and will help you as much as he can. He will go the extra distance. Breakfast was very good, with plenty of variety and indeed hidden Indian specialities along with the regular stuff. Service all around was very good and we were treated well. Free bottled water in the hall was a big help for making coffees and for 'sneakily' grabbing one either for bed (to hydrate after the curry) or on your way out in the morning. I am sure that's acceptable.
Pravin also helped us by booking train tickets, events, golden triangle road transport (private driver) and much more, he does not take a cut but has trustable suppliers who he uses and you should just go for it and not bother asking around. Safe trusted driver and reasonable price.

The rooms are good, nothing extravagant but they were homely, comfortable and clean. I found the bathrooms also very nice. One of our rooms had a big nice modern bathroom whereas the smaller room had a small but clean bathroom. The premises are clean all around and the rooms particulalry being cleaned daily. The safety deposit box is useful but the rooms are very safe anyway, I left laptops and pads lying around when we were out with no concern. You honestly don't have to worry about your stuff here. Obviously don't leave a rolex or money envelope under your pillow.

Four and not five stars because:

One drawback is that we were cold in our rooms at night, there was only an old little blow heater which made it warm but which sucks the oxygen and you can't really leave it on all night, even if you do it might die on you. There is an A/C unit though this did not provide heat, so the room could do with some better heating, an a/c unit with heat option would be more than ok.

The smaller room we had, did not have a t.v. which I thought strange...

Wifi signal is indeed free and strong throughout the premises, though it could use a higher speed connection, this is India. I don't think it was more than 2-3 megs.

Also, you will have to leave your shoes at the entrance of the lobby upstairs. Though at first I thought a bit annoying, once you go out in Delhi you then understand why its actually a good thing!


Overall I would stay here again and I will (providing Pravin will have me back) when I revisit India next year. It is basically a three story house, with the owner living on the penthouse/ third floor and the other rooms of the mansion are rented out. Pravin will look after you well, even adult-sitting you, though if you don't like someone over you and need a little more privacy, the sort you get in a big hotel, or you want to party hard then maybe this place is not for you. Most people would find the personal touch and excellent customer service refreshing.

Thanks again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mariosuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
23
37
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

A wonderful stay, in a lovely home away from home. Excellent service from the staff and Mr Sharma (the owner). He couldn't do enough for us. His local knowledge went along way in making our stay wonderful. Lovely rooms, lots of space, extremely clean and with all modern facilities. The Jor Bagh B&B is located in South Delhi and is literally minutes ( traffic permitting) from Connaught place, Lodhi and the main areas of Delhi. I shall be going back again very soon. Better than ANY hotel i have stayed in Delhi (including the ITC, Taj, Oberoi and Le Meridien)!

Room Tip: The bedroom at the front of the B&Bm facing Jor bagh road is the one to go for! It has a plasma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarrySingh_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

I couldn't be more positive about my experience at this lovely guesthouse. Pravin and Anju are personable, friendly and accomodating hosts, and so is their staff. I had a few special requests and found everyone extremely helpful. The room I had was really comfortable and betrayed good taste as well as a sense for what makes you feel welcome. A good hearty breakfast is prepared whenever you'd like to have it. - The location is quite unbeatable - right in the centre of New Delhi, close to Lodi Garden and a short walk to a metro station from where there is direct access to Old Delhi, the biggest railway station and to Connaught Place. I used to live in Delhi and know the city fairly well, and I have always considered Jor Bagh one ideal place to live. So go for it, I am sure you'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e_kurzweil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

There was nothing lacking in terms of comfort and convenience staying there, and the owners are very warm and friendly as well as helpful. The location is impeccable and it doesn't take long at all to feel very much at home both in the B'n'B and in the neighborhood. Staying there was my first trip to India, and what could have been an overwhelming experience was a very easy and pleasant one instead, in large part thanks to Pravin and Anjoo.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We know Delhi very well and usually stay with friends but this year that was not possible. We wanted somewhere (not a hotel) in a nice part of Delhi and found Jorbagh BnB on the Internet. We could not have made a better choice. We were looking for a home away from home and we certainly found it.

The bedrooms (there are only 3) and bathrooms were completely refurbished only a year ago and are sizeable, clean and nicely furnished. There is a pleasant breakfast room and a nice South facing terrace all on the same floor. The breakfasts are delicious and healthy with juices, fresh fruit, cereals and eggs ( try the masala omelette !) all on the table and all served with a smile by young Ramesh.

So for us everything was perfect but what made the stay extra special was the owners Pravin and Anjoo Sharma. They are both delightful people and very courteous and gracious hosts. Mr Sharma is extremely helpful and knowledgeable on any issues or requests that one might have and we shared many pleasant conversations with him during our stay.

And of course, Jorbagh itself is an excellent location. A nice residential area with local markets, a near by metro station and taxi rank and the beautiful Lodi Gardens only a short walk away.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 km away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#20 of 701 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
2.2 km away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#6 of 701 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
2.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Ambassador, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 701 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
2.6 km away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#2 of 701 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,551 reviews
3.8 km away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#14 of 701 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jorbagh BnB? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jorbagh BnB

Property: Jorbagh BnB
Address: 197 Jor Bagh, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,033 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,511 - ₹ 5,646
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant. Secure. Central. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing