We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible India for all senses”
Review of DelhiByCycle

DelhiByCycle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Namaste! Welcome to DelhiByCycle! A lifetime experience in the lively streets of Delhi is waiting for you! India is a country of contrast and colours and a strong inspiration for the mind! With our tours we invite you to become part of this unique mix of colours, smells, sounds, tastes and unforgettable images. Take the tour and experience the city of Delhi with all your senses for a true 'street experience'! We have spent many, many hours cycling around, to see and feel what are the best places for you.We offer 4 tours - Shah Jahan, Yamuna, Raj and Nizamudddin - so you can fully explore the different corners of Old and New Delhi.We never try to make things more beautiful, hide difficult sceneries or avoid certain places. Our aim is to show Delhi as the Delhiites experience their city daily. Intense, sometimes overwhelming, but always satisfying in unexpected ways.Have a great tour!
Cambridge
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Incredible India for all senses”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We were recommended this tour by a local resident and it is the best thing we did in India (bar a few of the forts we stayed in in Rajasthan). You have to be there at 6.45 am as otherwise the streets are impassable and frankly it gets too hot.

You see life in all its glory and poverty. You see the Spice Market where the chaps who carry unimaginable weights on their backs still are not used to the clouds of spice in the air. They cough and splutter their way up the bannister-less stairs.

You meet dogs, sights and smells you never imagined. But people still wave and smile. We were amazed and delighted.

The guides are informative and friendly. We did tip - I don't know if it's necessary.

The best tour is the Shah Jahan tour of the backstreets Old Delhi. Do your best to get on that one.

Thank you DelhiByCycle - brilliant, essential experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    54
    10
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cycle tour is great, but don't hire Akarsh for additional trips!”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Akarsh, one of the cycle tour guides, also offers "tours" on the side. A "tour" involves bouncing around the back of his SUV while he drives like a maniac (this is not normal Indian driving) to destinations that have not been confirmed. His lack of organization and lack of an itinerary results in a huge amount of time wasting. Time is valuable, especially on a weekend trip, and we hired a tour guide to SAVE time, not waste it. Our last trip was supposed to be to Jaipur but he dragged us up to Pushkar, got lost on the way, booked a terrible hotel, and didn't have anything planned to do in the city besides go to a temple that we didn't want to see anyway! What a waste! Then he tried to take us to stay at an organic farm in Jaipur that was completely nonoperational - they didn't even have any food! For the money we paid him, all these these should have been confirmed and approved by us ahead of time. To be fair, he took us to a delicious restaurant during a trip to Amritsar but hadn't properly booked accommodations for that trip either. Don't waste your time, money, or patience booking a trip with Akarsh or his company, I Am Adventure.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank hersheylc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“AMAZING EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I was a little wary of tackling Old Delhi by bicycle, but would do it again in a heartbeat, it was absolutely the only way I can imagine having traveled the small side streets and visiting the spice market. I absolutely loved this cycle tour and it was one of the highlights of my 10 day trip to Delhi and Rajasthan. Guides speak perfect english, are very knowledgeable and lookout for your safety.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank cvb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Immerse yourself in the morning routines of Old Delhi's residents”
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Just wrapped up a morning tour of Delhi with the guys from Delhi By Cycle -- it was great!

The meeting spot can be a bit hard to find in the morning. It is between and across the street from the Turkman Gate and Delite Cinema (my cabby had no trouble finding these). AFTER YOU CROSS THE STREET, you have to go down a small ramp and then take a right into a car park area. It's not very clearly marked -- and you won't see the bikes until you get to the bottom of the ramp and turn right -- just go for it though, there really is only one ramp on that side of the street.

After saddling up the bikes we dove right in to Old Delhi -- First stop was a butcher's market area where I was greeted immediately by a van full of goat carcasses -- like I said, we dove right in.

We then weaved our way through the narrow streets of the walled city. We rode through the flower market where piles and piles of flowers awaited buyers to take them as offerings to temples. We climbed to the top of the old spice market to look out at the city. We passed lots of kids -- dressed up in uniforms -- being taken to school by parents and siblings. Some practiced their "hellos," others just stared (we did get lots of stares, guess that's part of being a tourist).

I felt safe with our guide Veejay, he was responsible and experienced. I'll still say the tour was intense at times -- motos honking behind you, smells of all sorts, butcher shops with meat hanging out, people bathing in streets, etc. -- but it was worth it.

We were done by 1015.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveMaslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Most memorable way to see real Delhi”
Reviewed 14 April 2011

An innovative, thought provoking way to see real Delhi. Basic cycling skills needed, but guides are very attentive. A real eye opener with authentic sights, sounds and smells.

Helpful?
1 Thank WWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DelhiByCycle also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to DelhiByCycle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing