We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay in Delhi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tree Of Life

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tree Of Life
Ranked #5 of 1,049 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Delhi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

I've always struggled to find somewhere to stay in Delhi but my recent visit to india uncovered the find of the century, The Tree of Life in South Delhi area.
It's a bed and breakfast with modern and clean rooms. The staff are quiet and helpful while the owner speaks fluent English and is also helpful without falling all over you.
The Tree of Life is set in a small, leafy street away from traffic and city noise and yet you can take a short taxi drive to get to the metro or City Walk for serious shopping or the Sheraton for a cool drink in a bit of comfort and luxury.
It's won three consecutive Trip Advisor awards for best bed and breeakfast for the last three years and it's easy to see why. It's got my vote and I certianly will make it home every time I'm in Delhi.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosyposyAmritsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    59
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
90
146
45
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

big room, very secure, clean, wifi in room. breakfast was great, the staff was excellent. one night i had gone to Kingdom of Dreams to see a show and came back late, one of the staff was waiting for me outside the hotel, i couldn't believe it!

Room Tip: i was next to the kitchen and some other group was using while i was trying to sleep, pretty noisy w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edithrusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Tree of Life is a well-run, cozy hotel in a lovely area with good proximity to the airport and sites. Our driver was late picking us up from our late-night train to Delhi, but once we reached the hotel, we were quickly shown to our room and left to get some sleep. The beds were comfy and the rooms quiet and a reasonable size. Ashwani was very helpful in planning out our last day in Delhi - we greatly enjoyed his suggestions! However, upon returning that evening, the colony gate had been locked and we were unable to reach anyone to find out where to get in, so we ended up wandering about trying to find another gate.

Overall, Tree of Life is a pleasant place to stay in a quiet neighborhood, though it is run more like a hotel than a B&B.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Do yourself a favor and rather than staying in a Marriott or Hilton, stay in this small BnB. Charming, excellent friendly staff that make you feel like family, clean, and away from the chaos of Delhi. This is a great, reasonably priced BnB. Only 6 rooms (but large rooms) so the staff can really help you out. Ashwani, the owner, is an excellent host and truly looks to see that you enjoy your time in Delhi. He also runs an excellent car and tour service that is also very well priced. Your best bet is to hire a car for the day and take a tour around the sites of Delhi. So like I said, pass on the big chains and treat yourself to family run experience when your in Delhi.

Room Tip: Only 6 rooms - if you get a front facing room he'll get a balcony with a nice view of the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I can't say enough good things about this place. The location is great -- within walking distance of the metro and shopping. The decorating and architecture are beautiful and relaxing. The bathrooms are modern and clean (with plush towels -- yay!!!). And Ashwani, the owner, and his staff were charming and helpful.

We also hired a driver through Ashwani's Metropole Car Rental service. Gajju took us sightseeing from Delhi to Agra to Jaipur and back again. He made sure we always had water or pop, kept us safe, and made sure we saw all the big sights.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boltonbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.2 km away
Sheraton New Delhi
Sheraton New Delhi
#16 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
16.3 km away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
6.3 km away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn New Delhi / Saket
0.4 km away
Saket Bed and Breakfast
Saket Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 1,049 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
5.7 km away
Colonel's Retreat
Colonel's Retreat
#4 of 1,049 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Of Life? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Of Life

Property: Tree Of Life
Address: D - 193, New Delhi 110017, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,049 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,188 - ₹ 5,301
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run with loving care and sensitivity by Suruchi, a teacher / practitioner of Yoga and Foot Reflexology, and Ashwani, a travel professional having his car rental agency featured in the Lonely Planet, Le guide du Routard, Footprint India, Love Delhi, Reise Know-How, etc. Furnished with large solid wood beds, in warm honey hues, sourced from Jodhpur, Rajasthan, each room features a 32" LCD TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tree Of Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tree Of Life Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing