We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fake www”
Review of Hotel New India

Hotel New India
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel New India
Ranked #639 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed 22 March 2012

fake web site, photos of other good hotels, hotel location in the slums. Rooms dirty, for renovation and repair, full of cockroaches, on the ground ha ha ha reception desk in a room full of junk, broken sTUFF and pricing of the big money. book .MY RESERVATION BY ... the internet was a great mistake, after 10 pm we went to look for another hotel, znalazlismy lucky HARI PIORKO

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sp6smj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE (unless you want to get scammed!)

I pre-booked online which i really regret. The airport pick-up wasn't there for us, even though we had pre-arranged.

On arrival, we were led to another hotel, because they said that 'New King' was getting renovated. They said they had upgraded our room, and we were very lucky as it was worth $25 per night (as if!). Room was basic, not the cleanest but had a fan and tv.

Once we woke up, Lucky the hotel manager invited us for a chai and asked us what we were doing. We had pre-arranged a walking tour, and he basically told us that it was a load of rubbish, and the tour company wasn't using the money properly. When we said we wanted to go the Indian Government Tourism office, he said that his driver would take us free-of-charge, and show us a local place for breakfast on the way. We got totally scammed. There was no Gov. office, they just took us to a travel agency who tried to over-charge us. Basically we wasted half a day and missed our tour because they decieved us and took advantage of the fact that it was our first day in delhi.

THe rest of our stay Lucky was quite rude and at times, aggresive (i'm guessing because we didn't end up using his friend's services, which he would have got money from). He really only wants your money, so just be prepared when you stay here that you will be played and they WILL try to scam you. Avoid this place!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jossy201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I would never recommend this place unless you were down to your last rupees and simply needed the cheapest possible place for 1 night to crash before leaving India..even then you might be better saving your money and sleeping at the airport. I'm confused as to why it gets such a high rating from some people unless they are rating it based on price alone. The rooms are what you expect for such a low price but its the general vibe from the staff that ruin this place. To begin with though, it has 2 names..its also known as Kuldeep. Did it change because the old name had bad ratings?? Second, the alleyway it's down is bad even for Delhi's standards. The rooms themselves are unclean, tablecloths-used-as-sheets are old and dirty, the bathrooms are dark, damp, dirty, the shower barely works, most dont have western style toilets (but you can ask for one that does) and a lot of rooms don't have windows. The ones with aircon have airconditioners that are so old, noisy and useless it's not even worthwhile asking for one. It's basically the cliched cheap Delhi room you know you're gonna get coz you're only paying a few bucks a night. The staff however, are really what lowers the score. The main guy at reception almost explodes with creepy enthusiasm if you arrive and havent booked further travel plans, forcing his mates travel agency onto you. You could explain it away as just an eager personality until you ask a simple question, disagree with what he is offering or tell him you're going to look around. Then he gets aggressively defensive and seems to try and provoke an argument and will later badmouth you to other guests. This kind of treatment continues everytime you pass him at reception which sucks because thats the only place the wifi reaches. When he sees you trying to use wifi (and potentially book travel plans online) he walks to the computer terminal and switches wifi off - this happened too many times for it to just be a coincidence. Finally, when I checked out, he said he would give me a discount if I promised to write a good review online.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ineedtopacklighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

awful place.
manager is so rude and quite aggressive. The porter boy was friendly but spent his day getting screamed at by manager.
bathroom was filthy.
Is it situated next to stinking outdoor public toilet!
and everything is a scam even pick up from airport- use metro is far better and very cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berwyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The hotel was clean and nice enough and fairly well placed if you want to stay in touristy delhi. However the try and get you to buy tickets for a tour of your next area from a government office. The office is not a government office and the price is ridiculously high. The Delhi train-station tourist office is open and not burned down and you can book trains 3-7days in advance or less.. The hotels in rajastan are never full so don't believe the lies

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beatnikalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Amax Inn
#23 of 779 in New Delhi
829 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#25 of 779 in New Delhi
2,982 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#56 of 779 in New Delhi
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 779 in New Delhi
3,079 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#37 of 779 in New Delhi
4,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New India? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New India

Address: T-169 | Main bazar, Pahar ganj, New Delhi 110055, India (Formerly Hotel New King)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #639 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: ₹ 350 - ₹ 2,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You have come to right place if you are looking for a neat & budget place to stay in New Delhi’s Paharganj Area that is 5 minutes walk from New Delhi Railway Station. With rooms reasonable priced and facilities like private bath with 24 hrs. hot water, very neat rooms with clean linen, TV & telephone in rooms, it makes us the best value for your money in town. All our rooms are very clean with windows and a unique airflow system that keeps stale air away from the rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing