We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good, but better value elsewhere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottage Ganga Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cottage Ganga Inn
Ranked #64 of 704 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good, but better value elsewhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

We stayed here for three nights in May, before finding better value elsewhere. The rooms were spacious and clean, with AC and cable TV. We did however need to light incense because the bathroom got a bit stinky (not our doing!). The unfriendly management (one man in particular) were the biggest flaw here.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trina1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    105
    49
    13
    4
See reviews for
35
68
77
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

The hotel and rooms are descent, quiet and clean. They have these huge beds that take up almost the whole room, I'm talking about bigger then king that make it some what crowded, so if your staying with a friend you have to share the bed. The front desk is a different story, upon check out my bus did not leave until late at night when I told them I wanted to check out, they said fine. Would not give me a receipt for my stay because I shared the room with a friend that was continuing to stay. They asked me when I was leaving I told them my bus did not leave until 9:30pm but I wanted to check out in the morning. They told me if I came back even for 20 minutes they would charge my friend for the nights stay, even if I came back to get my bags. I had never experienced such a thing at any hotel most hotels will allow you to leave you luggage until you depart. Watch out for erroneous charges. I had stayed there for 10 days already. I ended up having to talk to the owner, the people at the front desk are primitive in thinking, is the best way to describe it and they are religiously prejudice. Ordering chai at their hotel was difficult, we consistantly didn't get what we asked for.

Room Tip: watch out for erroneous charges
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

1. Good location: close to the train station. Even though you need to get an auto-rickshaw or walk for 10 minutes.
2. Room: just ok, and not all clean.
3. Price: 1,400 Rupies/AC- double bed room (room at the back side) is not worth for a budget and its quality. 1,100 for a single one.
4. Staffs are friendly. Food is not good in the restaurant on the roof.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hhtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for five nights whilst we explored Delhi and the Taj Mahal. The location is spot on - it is located in the horrible Paharganj area of Delhi, but the hotel is down a side street so far enough away to forget about it. The room itself was ok (not entirely sure it was clean though) and always had hot water. The staff were friendly, however I found them overly pushy when it came to room services such as food or laundry. Beware of the hidden "luxury" tax as well as service tax. Not sure what the service tax is as they add on individual service tax to any room service, and the room was not once clean. Just a warning to add on an extra 20% to any price quoted.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CF87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

Regarding the budget accommodation situation in Delhi, this hotel is a good choice. After inspecting rooms in about 10 “hotels” (or “holes”?!), we discovered this inn with the help of Lonely Planet. It is not exactly a charming place, but it's clean, well organised and situated in a calm alley. Other hotels were so incredibly run down (unbearable stink of mould and sometimes even excrement, impressive holes in walls, rubbish everywhere, druggy staff), that this place felt like heaven as none of the surprises is to be found there.
We had a non ac room without window for 800rs, which was ok as windows in Paraganj don't show you anything nice anyway but let dust inside instead.
Rooms come with clean sheets, towels, toilet paper, cable TV and free WiFi in the lobby. At least the two rooms we have seen were in good condition and seemed to have been renovated just recently.
Stuff is very helpful and makes you feel welcome. There is a reasonable priced restaurant in the hotel that offers a comfortable 24h room service as well.
The hotel is very close to metro station so its easy to get around the city.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goforcandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#39 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#57 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Hotel Toronto
#96 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Shelton
Hotel Shelton
#82 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Hotel Sunshine
#98 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
Check In Room Chuna Mandi
#36 of 704 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Ganga Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Ganga Inn

Property: Cottage Ganga Inn
Address: 1532 Bazar Sangtrashan Main Bazar, | Behind Khanna Cinema, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,290 - ₹ 1,969
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Ganga Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayzilla, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Cottage Ganga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Ganga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing