We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home!”
Review of Colonel's Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colonel's Retreat
Ranked #3 of 1,076 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home!”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Having travelled all over the world, the Colonel's Retreat is a real ambassador to true Indian hospitality. Arun is an outstanding host and a real stickler to detail, something vital in this line of work. The room was extremely clean and comfortable and the bathroom spotless. The decor and ambience was absolutely wonderful and the food-real home food! The staff were very courteous and efficient, especially in ensuring that I got taxis on time with excellent drivers. A stay here is highly recommended. Belliappa-Director, Maxgrid Securicor (India) Pvt. Ltd.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KONGETTIRA CHEN... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    159
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
138
250
67
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Colonel's Retreat is an excellent stay-option in crazy Delhi. Well-equipped, clean, quiet rooms and courteous and prompt service always leave pleasant memories of repeated visits. The banana bread at breakfast is to die for. My congratulations for a job well-done.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puneet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here on our first trip to India, Delhi. The staff were just lovely. When we arrived at the airport it was fairly easy to get a pre paid taxi and paid 300R inside the airport as suggested by the Colonel's retreat. We were then directed to a numbered stand outside were a taxi was waiting. There seemed to be a few different taxis of different quality (seat belts etc) We got the really old yellow and dark green ones. I'm not sure if the better ones are more expensive or where you book them. When we arrived at the Colonel's Retreat late in the evening they made loads of effort to ensure we were happy and comfortable. They gave us some cold bottled water and the opportunity to order food from a selection of restaurants after 10pm. The staff then offered to collect it for us as delivery had stopped so late at night. So kind! We had Indian food which was great! The rooms and accommodation were very clean and comfortable, no mosquitoes (they did provide a plug in but I didn't need it) the shower had good pressure and was lovely and warm with a ceiling fan, air con, safe, free wireless wifi and tv with some decent channels to fall asleep in front of. Breakfast in the morning was fab with a good selection and all produce was lovely and fresh. The bread/toast and banana bread were lovely and fresh. You do share a breakfast table with others who are staying there but everyone was lovely with interesting chat with lots of tips for our travels. Very useful resource. The hotel staff provided us with lots of information regarding the local area and services they could offer but didn't force anything on us at all. They were there when you needed them which was just great. It was in a great area with a couple of good markets within walking distance. The Defense Colony market and Lajpat Nagar just a short walk from the Metro station. We left Delhi on our travels and the hotel helped to book our train tickets to Agra, (we were advised by other travelers that car travel can be a little scary and not very comfortable) a guide and a driver who were very good. (tip: if you are going to take a train from Delhi book in advance perhaps before you arrive in Delhi as first class tickets can be difficult to get last min. We got the lowest class and stood for the 3 hour train ride to Agra not for everyone but a great experience) They also had someone in Agra book our tickets leaving Agra to Jaipur which were 2nd class much more comfortable. The driver stayed with us on the platform until we were on our train. Very sweet man! All in all a great safe comfortable place to stay in Delhi. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannah1010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Tasteful decor, spotless, comfortable and quiet rooms, convenient location, copious breakfasts and attentive service, Colonel's Retreat is all this and more. The attention to detail was evident in the personalized (but never intrusive) service that was offered. In addition to the breakfasts with the heavenly banana bread, over our six day stay our family of eight sampled some delicious meals whipped up by the in-house cook. What we loved about the place was its homely charm coupled with its efficient management. It is quite simply excellent value for the money and is the place to stay if you're visiting Delhi.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La_terrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I said it all, but I think it would be unfair to all the efforts of the owner not to give more details. Perfectly clean rooms, bathrooms and common areas, extremely friendly and helpful staff, and yes, a breakfast you will not forget! Try in particular the banana bread, the delicious paranthas with jam, oh and the fresh fruit...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank le_liman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
4.4 km away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,766 reviews
6.5 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,888 reviews
14.6 km away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 716 in New Delhi
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#35 of 716 in New Delhi
1,993 reviews
3.9 km away
Tatvamasi Homestay
Tatvamasi Homestay
#1 of 1,076 in New Delhi
278 reviews
6.0 km away
Saket Bed and Breakfast
Saket Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 1,076 in New Delhi
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonel's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonel's Retreat

Property: Colonel's Retreat
Address: D - 418, New Delhi 110024, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,076 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,648 - ₹ 6,782
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colonel's Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great favorite with business travelers and overseas tourists alike, offering a truly comfortable, elegant place to stay. Colonel's Retreat has been lovingly created by people who are frequent global travelers themselves and who take pride in maintaining the highest world-class standards of hospitality. All rooms are air-conditioned rooms with cable TV, refrigerator, free wi-fi, electronic safe. Attached baths, with hot and cold running water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, OYO Rooms, Expedia, HotelQuickly, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Colonel's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonel`s Retreat Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing