We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonel's Retreat
Nearby Hotels
US$ 114
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Piccadily Hotel(New Delhi)
US$ 78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lodhi(New Delhi)
US$ 211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eros Hotel(New Delhi)
US$ 136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 123
US$ 110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Godwin Hotel(New Delhi)(Great Value!)
US$ 38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 113
US$ 93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Roseate(New Delhi)
US$ 209
US$ 184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (782)
Filter reviews
782 results
Traveller rating
545
183
41
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
183
41
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdefence colonybanana breadrooftop terracehomemade jamshome away from homelajpat nagarquiet neighborhoodguest househome staycommon areasliving roomplace to stayindian breakfastbed and breakfastsafe areapacked breakfastrooms are comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 782 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Colonel's Retreat is an excellent stay-option in crazy Delhi. Well-equipped, clean, quiet rooms and courteous and prompt service always leave pleasant memories of repeated visits. The banana bread at breakfast is to die for. My congratulations for a job well-done.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puneet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here on our first trip to India, Delhi. The staff were just lovely. When we arrived at the airport it was fairly easy to get a pre paid taxi and paid 300R inside the airport as suggested by the Colonel's retreat. We were then directed to a numbered stand outside were a taxi was waiting. There seemed to be a few different taxis of different quality (seat belts etc) We got the really old yellow and dark green ones. I'm not sure if the better ones are more expensive or where you book them. When we arrived at the Colonel's Retreat late in the evening they made loads of effort to ensure we were happy and comfortable. They gave us some cold bottled water and the opportunity to order food from a selection of restaurants after 10pm. The staff then offered to collect it for us as delivery had stopped so late at night. So kind! We had Indian food which was great! The rooms and accommodation were very clean and comfortable, no mosquitoes (they did provide a plug in but I didn't need it) the shower had good pressure and was lovely and warm with a ceiling fan, air con, safe, free wireless wifi and tv with some decent channels to fall asleep in front of. Breakfast in the morning was fab with a good selection and all produce was lovely and fresh. The bread/toast and banana bread were lovely and fresh. You do share a breakfast table with others who are staying there but everyone was lovely with interesting chat with lots of tips for our travels. Very useful resource. The hotel staff provided us with lots of information regarding the local area and services they could offer but didn't force anything on us at all. They were there when you needed them which was just great. It was in a great area with a couple of good markets within walking distance. The Defense Colony market and Lajpat Nagar just a short walk from the Metro station. We left Delhi on our travels and the hotel helped to book our train tickets to Agra, (we were advised by other travelers that car travel can be a little scary and not very comfortable) a guide and a driver who were very good. (tip: if you are going to take a train from Delhi book in advance perhaps before you arrive in Delhi as first class tickets can be difficult to get last min. We got the lowest class and stood for the 3 hour train ride to Agra not for everyone but a great experience) They also had someone in Agra book our tickets leaving Agra to Jaipur which were 2nd class much more comfortable. The driver stayed with us on the platform until we were on our train. Very sweet man! All in all a great safe comfortable place to stay in Delhi. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susannah1010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Tasteful decor, spotless, comfortable and quiet rooms, convenient location, copious breakfasts and attentive service, Colonel's Retreat is all this and more. The attention to detail was evident in the personalized (but never intrusive) service that was offered. In addition to the breakfasts with the heavenly banana bread, over our six day stay our family of eight sampled some delicious meals whipped up by the in-house cook. What we loved about the place was its homely charm coupled with its efficient management. It is quite simply excellent value for the money and is the place to stay if you're visiting Delhi.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank La_terrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I said it all, but I think it would be unfair to all the efforts of the owner not to give more details. Perfectly clean rooms, bathrooms and common areas, extremely friendly and helpful staff, and yes, a breakfast you will not forget! Try in particular the banana bread, the delicious paranthas with jam, oh and the fresh fruit...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank le_liman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

it is all said in their visitors book.. people from around the world and lots of repeat customers... everything said on their web site is true

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hornhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews