We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful of overbooking here...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cottage Crown Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cottage Crown Plaza
Ranked #441 of 702 Hotels in New Delhi
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Be careful of overbooking here...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I reserved a room here in September 2011, which was confirmed by email by a Mr Baweja and re-confirmed the day before my arrival in India.

When i reached the hotel, i found my reservation was no where to be found. They then sent me to the sister hotel Cottage Crown Plaza which had no free rooms either.

Without any kind of explanation, I was then sent to the most grubby hotel i stayed in during my entire stay in India, allbeit for the same price. It was past midnight and I was so tired, i took the room, but found myself another hotel the next day.

I have rated my experience as poor as opposed to terrible, as i never actually managed to stay at the guest house.

This review is a warning of overbooking, and poor customer service here.

Mr Baweja, what happened to my reservation ?

I suspect the staff here are relying on publicity generated by their listing in the lonely planet .... i shall be writing to the LP as well..

Very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CSMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    25
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
6
21
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed here twice is September 2011, for 5 nights all together.
This guest house is situated in Pahar Ganj, a 15 minute walk from the New Delhi train station & a 3 minute walk from the Metro (Rama Krishna Ashram Marg station). This is Pahar Ganj with the indescribable smell, filth, pollution and craziness that Pahar Ganj is, so don't expect clean air or a 4 star hotel. That said, if you do choose to stay in Pahar Ganj, Cottage crown Plaza is a good budget option.
The AC worked well, shower was hot, TV worked fine, service was good and it was not noisy. On top of all, I did not encounter a single mouse in the hotel (although I assume there were) and for Pahar Ganj this is impressive.
I paid 900 rs. for a room per night. I know that others bargained and paid less.
By the way, the photo of the lobby on Tripadvisor, is not connected to reality. In reality, this guest house has no real lobby.

Room Tip: A pone notifying the staff how badly I hate mice, they recommended I stay on the top floor and so I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank batyapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed in and inspected a variety of places in Delhi and found Hotel Cottage Crown Plaza to be of reasonable standard (not easy to find in Delhi) for a reasonable price (Rs900 p/n).

Room was very clean, good air conditioning, hot water, TV and quiet.

It is in a good location to the bustling Main Bazaar (street) with great little rooftop restaurants surrounding it. Very close to the New Dehli train station and Metro (about 1km).

For Delhi this is an excellent option and we would stay here again if we went back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairecim675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandalay Region, Myanmar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Got to know about this property through a common friend, it was a last minute booking.

Would rate if good on all parameters, don't expect them to go out of their way to make your stay comfortable.

They won't deny what you ask for but you have to ask maybe twice

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arvind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

I have visited this hotel in year 2010 May. The ambience of the hotel is exemplary. The best part is the lawn where you can have best night time with music. The view from top to lobby area is great. I could find friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in this hotel. The staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home.
The room is cozy with good bed accessories and toiletories.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hkdutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
The White Klove
The White Klove
#136 of 702 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Heritage Home
Hotel Heritage Home
#256 of 702 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Indo Continental
Hotel Indo Continental
#211 of 702 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Chanchal Continental
Hotel Chanchal Continental
#282 of 702 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Hotel Maanvi
#433 of 702 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Anoop Hotel
#542 of 702 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cottage Crown Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cottage Crown Plaza

Property: Hotel Cottage Crown Plaza
Address: 5136 Main Bazar | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #441 of 702 Hotels in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 936 - ₹ 1,671
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cottage Crown Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cottage Crown Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing