We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very hospitable family where nothing is too much trouble. Clean, warm and welcoming !”

Delhi Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Delhi Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #418 of 1,053 New Delhi B&B and Inns
West Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very hospitable family where nothing is too much trouble. Clean, warm and welcoming !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

i enjoyed a stay here with my parents and daughter. We were attending a family wedding and then being atourist seeing Delhi, Agra and Jaipur. The Homestay is a real gem. Lovely family including the delightful Google, the family pet dog. The accommodation was comfortable, clean and well decorated. The meals were lovley. We could have what we wanted whenever we wanted !! The recommendations for trips, eateries, shopping, etc... were very informative and accurate without any pushiness. The Talwar family organised our trip to Agra and Jaipur and the hotels were well chosen, especially the one in Agra - just awesome !! The taxi drivers were friendly enough and ensured our safety at all times. When we revisit we shall stay here again and would have no hesitation recommending them !

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
4
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay. The knowledgeable family go out of their way to make your stay in their home as fun and enjoyable as possible, leaving you alone to do your own thing when you want to whilst at the same time offering to introduce you to a side of life in India that you just won't see staying in a regular hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious with a fridge stocked daily with drinking water and other drinks. There's also a table tennis table on the balcony which I lost several games on :)

The homecooked food was varied and delicious and the driver who collected me from the airport and the train station when i returned there later on in my trip was both courteous and efficient.

The centre of the City is only about 25mins away on the Metro, the local station being a couple of minutes walk away. This makes it an ideal place to get used to adjusting to Delhi life before venturing out in the madness of the busy city centre to see the wonderful sites.

This was the first place I stayed in India, and the nicest. A perfect introduction to Indian life from a kind and friendly family.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugardrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

We had a pleasant stay in the caravan house. delhi was very cold at the time we arrived, and their room heaters, hot water, and the tea that they served provided much comfort versus the harsh delhi environment outside. the t&b was very clean, the beds were warm and comfortable. The family is also very hospitable (talked to us during breakfast, was attentive about the things we need) and the food is good. The owner lent us his internet connection.

the decoration of the room was also very nice and they had good books on their shelves. very homey and very comfortable. their tv was clear and had cable. its the small things that convince you if your money worth it.

What i didn't like about the experience was that the trip to Agra that they outsourced to a cab driver. The trip to agra was a very big head ache - the cab driver was a reckless driver (imagine 4 hours of tiny earth quakes), he spoke very minimal english, we were thrown to arguing tourist guides and placed in the middle of a fight about who will take us (english tour guide that they said they will provide is actually someone the driver will get onsite agra). Good thing the taj was AMAZING so that made up for the bad trip we experienced going from delhi to agra and back. My suggestion is you find a tourist guide that specializes on giving you a comfortable tour to agra.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairyprincess08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

I stayed at Caravan Homestay several times during my 2 month trip in India. I chose to keep going back between the various legs of my journey because I always felt really at home with them. The location is not in a touristy part of town, which is nice because you get to see the normal daily life the minute you walk out the door. There is a metro stop nearby which can take you in 30min to all the major Delhi destinations. The family is very welcoming and friendly, and they help you plan your trip, arrange for taxis, trains etc. (they speak fluent English). They cook excellent food if you decide to eat with them, and they can arrange for people to come to their house to show you pashminas, jewelry and even do Mendhi if you don't know the best place to shop. Its reasonably priced for the comfort (nice beds and clean bathrooms) and quality.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lapaisagista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

My adult daughter and I selected Caravan Homestay in New Delhi [--] after an exhaustive search on the web for a comfortable, safe and hospitable place to stay on our first trip to India. We are so happy we found this home and family. We were in close touch with the older son (a computer engineer getting his Masters degree in the US) before we left for India via email and they had a car and driver waiting for us at the airport for our arrival late at night. The family greeted us and the mom had prepared a warm snack. She is an excellent cook and we joined the family for our breakfasts and dinners for three days. They are an educated family who were available to us for guidance (drivers, transport ideas, etc.) but never tried to push anything on us. The dad, a pharmacist, was always reachable by cell phone during our travels throughout India and he also arranged for a driver to meet us at the train station in Delhi and kept in close touch when our train was 12 hours late. So they did more than give us a comfortable and clean place to stay (queen sized bed in a large room with private bath) - they offered us friendship and made us feel at home during our first trip to India.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DistantLandsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 708 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#49 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#46 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#34 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,606 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#60 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delhi Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delhi Bed and Breakfast

Property: Delhi Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1/13, Single Storey, Tilak Nagar, New Delhi 110018, India (Formerly Caravan Homestay)
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #418 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,232 - ₹ 3,878
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are thousands of Bed and Breakfasts, Homestays, Hotels, Apartments, Hostels and rentable Taj Mahals in New Delhi and then there's Caravan Delhi Bed amd Breakfast, where we introduce you to New Delhi and India in an non-overwhelming way. At our B&B, you'll enjoy the perfect blend of Indian culture and traditions in the lap of modern contemporary comforts. All 4 rooms are Air-conditioned with en-suite washrooms. We provide personalized attention to each guest with impeccable service, excellent food and good company! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing