We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Staff, Crazy Location”
Review of Hotel Pearl Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pearl Plaza
Ranked #260 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Salt Lake
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value, Great Staff, Crazy Location”
Reviewed 3 February 2010

The Pahar Ganj location is convenient to most parts of New Delhi but the culture shock upon arrival is off the charts. Look beyond the street scene and you will find a great value in the Pearl Plaza. Hot water (when requested) and good pressure in the shower. The room is relatively clean with warm blankets on the beds and flat screen TV with dish access. Most travelers will feel more comfortable bringing their own sheet as the linens are not the best. The staff is the high point - they can get you everything from breakfast in the morning to beers in the evening. Trust their judgement and put yourself in their capable hands for restaurant choices, shops and drivers. We stayed four nights and enjoyed all of the time spent their. Request a room off of the street if you are not a heavy sleeper. Spend some of your down time up on the roof with a sunset beer and definitely spend some time talking with the Nepali staff. Great meals can be obtained down the street and internet access is also available across the street from the hotel. Laundry service is inexpensive and reliable. Keep in mind this is a value rate lodging choice (three of us shared a room at $32 (US) per night. We felt safe and secure throughout the stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IM1_4_da_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
9
11
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Centrally located in a rather noisy street, this is a low budget hotel with few frills. The rooms are large and reasonably clean but, in January, very cold. On asking for a heater we were offered a single bar electric fire for 300 rupees a day that made little impact. Plenty of blankets on the bed but no sheets. We asked for a car to meet us at the airport which was there when we arrived but unfortunately would not start. Our first impression of India was push starting the recalcitrant vehicle! Although we did not request it the staff were quick to put us in contact with a local vehicle hire company who tried hard to sell us a car & driver package instead of our railway reservations using exaggerated claims of unreliability on the trains as threat. We did not appreciate this and other attempts to make additonal money out of us. Finally on settling the account they failed to credit us with our prevously paid deposit - a modest sum but upsetting never the less. I would not return to this hotel if I could find any better.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvertraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

My wife and I stayed here just one night in January. As others have noted, you are likely to be "encouraged" to book travel by the folks that pick you up at the airport, but if you are not interested, just tell them your onward travels are taken care of and be firm about it. The location is convenient to the train station, but this area of town is definitely not for the faint of heart any time of day, so especially take note if you have a really early morning train and it‘s dark. It’s creepy as hell.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottQG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamnagar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2010

one of my friend told me about this hotel. i stayed there for two days. it is nice place to stay and it is cheap also.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Singhjeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and found the staff very helpfull, the rooms were large and kept very clean, the hotel is in a very manic part of delhi but was great fun just watching the street life. Very good value for money, but Paharganj area is not for the faint hearted.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollywood_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Indo Continental
Hotel Indo Continental
#228 of 716 in New Delhi
33 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Heritage Home
Hotel Heritage Home
#319 of 716 in New Delhi
95 reviews
Mahipal Pur
Hotel Global Radiance
Hotel Global Radiance
#299 of 716 in New Delhi
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Lal's Haveli
Hotel Lal's Haveli
#109 of 716 in New Delhi
274 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Kelson DX
Hotel Kelson DX
#491 of 716 in New Delhi
1 reviews
Vivek Hotel
#217 of 716 in New Delhi
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pearl Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pearl Plaza

Property: Hotel Pearl Plaza
Address: Rajguru Road | Chuna Mandi, Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,034 - ₹ 1,938
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pearl Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, TravelGuru, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pearl Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing