We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible!! Stay away!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
iLodge @ DB Gupta Rd
Ranked #129 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible!! Stay away!!!”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I have read good reviews before, which is why I booked this one online for 3 nights. My experience was really bad.

The location: watch out for stray dogs and water in front of it. Seems like no one even close to the hotel has heard it's name before. However, the proximity to the railway station could be a plus.

The room: Spacious, but bathroom was not up to the mark, sheets were dirty. The water pressure is large enough and it feels like needles.No temperature control.

The staff: Ready to rip you off at any opportunity. Do not book taxis from the hotel, the rates are arbitrary and unreasonable. The security guy 'offered to help' get an auto by calling his fried and I ended up paying 3 times the fare. I was able to take 'complementary' print outs from the lobby, but the next day, a different manager insisted that I pay Rs. 10/ page as this was 'how they did their business'. Ask for a bill and they will give you something hand written all over, don't expect anything professional, perhaps that's how they do their business. I must say that some of the staff were nice.

Restaurant/ room service: Despite their cheap look, they are expensive. Pay Rs. 70 for a bottle of chilled coca-cola that retails for around Rs. 30ish. The food is bad and comparatively expensive. My wife got 'Delhi-belly' eating their food and it took a while for her to recover. Room service is bad too; you need to make several calls reminding them of your order.

Overall: Really bad. My Delhi experience is limited having stayed only in 3 other hotels earlier, but this one is easily the worst. Surprised by the good reviews.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank U_K_Murty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    76
    48
    41
    26
See reviews for
75
57
28
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is clean hotel near New Delhi railway station. The excellent shopping complex PALIKA BAZZAR is 10 mins away from here.
But the please DON'T rent taxi from this Hotel. Taxi Drivers are very very very bad of this hotel. I have taken a full day city tour and driver was very bad. he didn't drop us in right places. we need to take a long walk to visit the required places. His behave was too bad and almost 70% time when he was driving, talking in the mobile phone. Sometimes he stops are car to attend the phone call for long time. His name was Anil. So beware of that driver. in 2nd day we took another taxi to do some shopping. The driver was good but he took us to very far way for shopping and later I found that, he is only taken us to that shopping place where he got commission to each purchase.

Room Tip: Double Delux and Familly suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavel9905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Guest Relations Manager at iLodge @ DB Gupta Rd, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear pavel9905,

We Thank You for your review and feedback. We sincerely apologize for the issues that you had to face with the drivers.

I would also like to share with you that we have a 24x7 Guest Relations Desk (with a Toll Free number) wherein you can share any complaint that you have about any of the services and corrective action will be taken right there and then.

We have taken punitive action against the driver and ensure that no such issue will re-occur.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

After our wedding in Pune, we organised a group tour for everyone who came over so they could see Delhi/Agra. We stayed here for one night. As a group of around 28, we had completely mixed reviews. But then again I have traveled India so maybe I am just used to it all, rather than the higher standards most westerners require from hotels?

I think the hotel is in the process of renovations and some of the rooms are brand new and modern, while other rooms are quite run down. My husband and I being just married were treated to a beautiful large bedroom with a huge and lovely shower room. They went to so much effort to decorate our room with flowers and balloons and it was really appreciated. I'm not sure they get many honeymoon couples (well it was pre-honeymoon really but still) and they went to a lot of effort for us which was really nice. On departure they had even bought/made us a little congratulations cake! The staff were great and they really are trying extremely hard to get themselves sorted and into the market. They even gave us business cards asking for feedback on Tripadvisor so they clearly value the feedback!

Others in the group were not so happy. Some had small (but clean rooms) some had larger but more grubby rooms. Moans about sheets etc. I have never organised a group tour before, but I think some people are more picky than others. The hotel ran around after our group for a while getting cleaner sheets, more loo roll etc. and we had arrived really late, so I felt a bit bad about that!

Location wise, it was extremely loud. There is a main road right outside and the noise in Delhi traffic wise is always horrendous at all times of the night. However, wherever I seem to stay in Delhi (aside from really expensive hotels) they always have noise pollution from the insane amount of traffic so I'm not sure this is escapable.
We were only there one night but didn't really like the area too much as seemed unsafe. After staying in another hotel around this area a couple of days later, arriving at night and then having to walk down some dodgy streets to find the hotel, this was confirmed. It's not somewhere anything is going to happen, it's just a very downtown India location and we felt a little awkward after walking for a few minutes.

Breakfast was fine. Not sure what everyone is complaining about. As for the review below. 'Breakfast not good, croissants weren't even included'? What is that about? Your in INDIA why would you want croissants and jam for breakfast?!
All in all, it was okay for a one night's stay, but I wouldn't want to stay here for more than a night as area wise there isn't much to do and don't feel I would go out after dark!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Guest Relations Manager at iLodge @ DB Gupta Rd, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Rene,

We Thank You for your generous review and would like to assure you that the renovation work in rest of the rooms is also being done.

We have also tweaked the breakfast menu a bit to accomodate both Indian as well as Western taste and are working towards having the old windows (road facing) replaced with sound proof windows to do away with the noise as much as possible.

Looking ahead to serving you again as well as the guests whom you recommend.

Regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2012

It is a clean hotel for the indian standard. It has real hot shower, clean beds and rooms. The restaurant is weak, specially on breakfast. Kamal Gupta, on travel services, was very helpful helping us organize a trip over Rajasthan. Also helpful with booking trains. I would recommend this hotel to backpackers who are willing to pay 25usd for a double room. Good location from the railway station and the main bazaar.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can so you can escape the noisy street and so that you can clear the nearby buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Guest Relations Manager at iLodge @ DB Gupta Rd, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Tobicus,

We Thank You for your review and recommendation.

Looking forward to serving you again :)

Regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I travelled alone, first time to India, the hotel was very helpful, room was beautiful and service excellent

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adventuress_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S, Guest Relations Manager at iLodge @ DB Gupta Rd, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Adventuress_12,

We Thank You for your review and reiterate that Hotel Singh Empire Dx is a safe hotel for single travelers.

Regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Singh Empire Dx
#155 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Delhi 55
Hotel Delhi 55
#172 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Lal's Haveli
Hotel Lal's Haveli
#108 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Biden Pura
Hotel Pooja Palace
Hotel Pooja Palace
#115 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Wood Castle
#14 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Pahar Ganj
FabHotel Paharganj
FabHotel Paharganj
#116 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iLodge @ DB Gupta Rd? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iLodge @ DB Gupta Rd

Property: iLodge @ DB Gupta Rd
Address: 8707 D B Gupta Road | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,616 - ₹ 3,361
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of city,suitably located very close to new Delhi railway station. Just 15 km from international airport . All rooms fully centrally A/C with soundless glass. All rooms with free Wifi enabled, The reception staff is very congenial and will provide guests with all information, related to sight-seeing tours, air and rail ticket booking services, etc. Another plus to the comfortable rooms and convenient location, is the attractive tourists spots- India gate ,red fort, qutubminar ,parliament house, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Yatra so you can book your iLodge @ DB Gupta Rd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singh Empire Dx Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing