We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Try the Chutney Dal, delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chutney Bar + Tandoor

Chutney Bar + Tandoor
Ranked #133 of 12,350 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 75
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cuisine Served : Pan-Indian cuisine accompanied with an amazing selection of various Chutneys Chutney, Bar + Tandoor offers diners an indigenous fusion of Indian cuisine paired with various home-made chutneys prepared from rare fruits, vegetables and herbs is sure to satisfy even the heartiest appetite. Top Chefs bring to Chutney an unparalleled art of Indian cooking resulting in classic cuisine with a contemporary twist. The modern ambience of Chutney, exudes a contemporary yet intimate relaxed charm, and serves an extensive selection of exotic cocktails, champagnes, fine wines, liqueurs and spirits in its bar section. Chutney, Bar + Tandoor set amidst luxurious setting provides with ultimate dining experience. Chutney, Bar + Tandoor is a new kind of stylish Indian restaurant, smart but not stuffy, where a fusion of flavours from across India has been tastefully crafted for your appreciation.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Try the Chutney Dal, delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

The restaurant decor is really nice and clean. Loved the artistic 3 wheeler displayed at the entrance- nice touch. When we were looking for the hotel metropolitan no one knew where it was and apparently it was called another name previously.the appearance of the hotel lobby, the unfinished lifts and the service of the coffee shop were lacking. Without even looking at the rooms I would not stay there. But we only came for the chutney restaurant.

The service overall was fantastic and it was an enjoyable experience. The complimentary chutney's and poppadums were nice and had some different flavorsIndian resturants, a nice addition and helped with our hunger before the mains arrived.

I was craving a veg biryani and ordered one but it was nothing special and there was no
paneer inside, I asked the waiter if there was paneer and he said yes without even looking. But clearly there was no paneer.It was ok but nothing fantastic, I have had much better.

What I would come back for and order delivery to Australia if I could is the chutney Dal, a nice healthy lentil dish packed with loads of flavor. I finished the whole dish on my own.it was so creamy and wow.

Overall a pleasant experience and good food. Enjoyed everything, I would go back if in Delhi again if only for that chutney Dal and attentive, clean service. Although i also Thought it was a little pricey, maybe because it is part of the hotel the prices are more expensive, but i dont think the Met is at a 5 star hotel standard and you can find this food at other restaurants
and alot cheaper.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WillowSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanzeev, Asst General Manager at Chutney Bar + Tandoor, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and specially liking & mentioning our Chutney Dal. Trust us We always ensure that our prices are inline with other competitive hotels in new delhi and we do not believe in overpricing our food. We also wish to share with you that The Metropolitan is an 5 star deluxe hotel and we have recently renovated the entire property. So next time whenever you are planning to come to New Delhi please stay with us to experience our brand new renovated products.

Will look forward to your visit in near future

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    54
    16
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“For a #2 ranking on TripAdvisor, i expected a lot more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Portions were small, comparatively expensive and tasted average.

Friendly staff nice ambience.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank joellehaddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanzeev, Asst General Manager at Chutney Bar + Tandoor, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Though our team is committed to extend the world class hospitality, excellent services and great food to its guests, we regret to note we couldnt be to your expectation. We always ensure that our prices are inline with other competitive hotels in new delhi.

Will request you to visit us again to give us an opportunity to offer you better experience

Will look forward to your visit in near future

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Indian food, prices a bit high”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

After reading many good reviews We had lunch at Chutney metropolitan. It was 300 pm so was not busy at all. There were 2 more tables apart from ours so we got really good service from the staff. We had vegetarian food, it was good. The best part of the meal was Dal Chutney (slow cooked lentils) and A paneer curry ( soft cheese in an Indian sauce). We also had naan and kulcha ( types of bread) and a spinach and corn dish. Nothing special about spinach and corn. biryani was supposed to have Vegetables and paneer but we could not find any paneer. Overall we enjoyed the service and food was good, a bit expensive. I would go back again just to have the Dal.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wickedhappydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanzeev, Asst General Manager at Chutney Bar + Tandoor, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to note that you had excellent services and few of the items you really liked. We have noted your opinion on other dishes and will surely review and needful will be done.

Regarding prices, please be rest assured as we conduct a regular price comparison excercise to ensure we stay in line with other competitive hotels in New Delhi.

We will look forward to welcome you again

With Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one of the best reataurant - ever tried”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

we planned visit the reataurant on 14th feb but we didnt made any prior booking. so we waited at the bar and had few rounds of excelled drinks.So it is advisable to do reservation before going to the restaurant.let me tell it was worth waiting as food was out of the world .still i can feel the aroma of Pathar ke kebab , Sunahari macchi and rasooli tikka .food was very ternder and delicious.i never experience such a hospitality anywhere.it was sooooooooooo excellent.Must try once.Cheers chutneyyyyyyyy

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gunjan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanzeev, Asst General Manager at Chutney Bar + Tandoor, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank a lot for such an excellent review. We all are delighted to know that you had such an excellent experience at Chutney Bar + Tandoor restaurant

Our team is committed to extend the world class hospitality, excellent services and wonderful meal experience to its guests. Your recognition of our efforts motivates us.

The Met team will look forward to welcome you again

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, drinks overpriced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Great chutney! The chicken in the Tikka Masala was tender and lean. Yum! The prices are pretty equivalent to what you'll find in the US. The only problem I had was paying $4 for a can of Diet Coke. Seems a bit steep.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank opinionblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanzeev, Asst General Manager at Chutney Bar + Tandoor, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review and making us happy & motivated. We appreciate your review.

Regarding pricing please be rest assured we are in line with the price trend in the competitive hotels in new delhi

Will look forward to your future visit

With Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chutney Bar + Tandoor also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Chutney Bar + Tandoor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing