We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food, poor ambience”
Review of Saravana Bhavan

Saravana Bhavan
Ranked #18 of 12,580 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice food, poor ambience”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I like going to this place only because it serves very good south indian food. Ambience though is a turn off but taking into consideration the cost of the food, its fine.

You can have dal, rice, chutneys and enjoy them while gossiping with friends.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mirzabab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,192
    1,169
    239
    53
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious and authentic”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Very nice south Indian food, Dhosais and thalis can be recommended, lassis were a bit thick. Service okay. Mostly Indian people and it felt very authentic. Cheap!

Helpful?
Thank Stefanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cockroach in Sambar”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We wanted to eat South Indian Food so went to Saravana Bhavan in CP. Ordered Idli and Rava Dosa for me and my mom. Ordered extra sambar after eating 2 spoons of Sambar I find a Dead Cockroach in the sambar. Called the waiter and he called the manager who told sorry and said he will not charge me for the dosa but the thing is I was feeling sick all thinking about that sambar.

Check out first the sambar to see any Cockroach and then eat. I would not go back again to this place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great food. Rush kills the appetite though!”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Great food, no doubt. However you lose out on your hunger waiting outside for your turn, especially during Lunch and dinner time. That wait may simply spoil your entire enthusiasm. It is therefore better either to avail a prior reservation, or have the food home delivered.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debapriyo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“clean food, consistent quality, affordable and tasty”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I survived 1.5 years in Tamil Nadu on the food of this chain. My standard order used to be the "lunch thali". Very nice!

Helpful?
Thank Debaprabho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saravana Bhavan also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Saravana Bhavan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing