We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clever menu, attentive staff, enjoyable evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wasabi By Morimoto

Wasabi By Morimoto
Ranked #148 of 12,530 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clever menu, attentive staff, enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

My husband and I ate at Wasabi in late December 2011. We went with family members that don't eat much Japanese cuisine. We started with specialty cocktails, which were expertly prepared. Since the menu is so extensive, we were able to able to select several starters and entrees to share. The quality of the seafood and all other ingredients was excellent - fresh and well prepared. After our meal, we enjoyed unusual ice cream flavors - black pepper, red plum, and avocado, which I would recommend highly.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellengk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    44
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The only place I eat when in New delhi.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Fish is flown in every 3 days from Japan. Excellent creations by the chef! I eat here every single night while in India. The food is light and healthy and much better on my body than heavy curries. Staff go above and beyond which makes this place a real gem. Food easily competes with the better Japanese restaurants in NYC etc. I have eaten at all morimoto restaurants worldwide and this location is top. It feels more sophisticated than the others. Fish is always fresh!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dougie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhutan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“pricey, but isnt exactly japanese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I had chirashi, and never had Sashimi chopped and scattered all over my rice, and called it chirashi

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank GoGoRicea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Great food, superlative service at prices that are certainly within reason given the ambience and setting. A must visit for lovers of Japanese cuisine and one that is gaining popularity with each passing day.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank shonalidatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
168 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Not cheap but superb quality, best Japanese in Delhi for sure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

The only drawback of this restaurant is that it's expensive, there's no way around it. If you're not prepared to spend 5000 Rs/80 EUR/100 USD a head for a starter, mains and a couple of bottles of water then don't go, it's as simple as that. The food, however, is absolutely fabulous. I had a sashimi platter as starter and the slices of octopus, scallop, 2 kinds of tuna etc were absolutely crackling fresh and nicely presented with raw japanese vegetables, pickled ginger, soy sauce, fresh wasabi paste etc. My main was blackened cod and it was absolutely perfect, which is no men feat and something many restaurants err in, making it either too dry or undercooking the fish. This was perfection, my fellow diners echoed my experience. If you're in Delhi, crave japanese food and quality is paramount then this is the only place to be, I've tried a number of other options including some renowned ones but nothing comes close. Service was also very good, attentive but without being overbearing.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Xenophon2NewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wasabi By Morimoto also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Wasabi By Morimoto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing