We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of calm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Estate
Ranked #24 of 1,049 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

This homestay is set in a peaceful garden in Delhi . The room was clean and comfortable. Another pillow would have been nice, but I am sure they would have provided it if asked. The evening meal ( provided on request) was good value and tasty. Breakfast was fine with toast eggs and juice. Wifi didn't work in our room but did downstairs . When we needed to print something we had use of their computer and printer( with money to be put in honesty box). It's near to the metro with good access to Delhi from there. The rooftop terrace was a pleasant haven in the winter morning sunshine.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordJulieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    27
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
52
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Haven, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

My daughter was finishing her study abroad in India and we were recommended to stay at the Estaten when I came to visit her. The landscaping was gorgeous, the staff very pleasant, sincerely kind and helpful! We also enjoyed the food!!! We were there during the slower season so prices were discounted. We felt that they were very reasonable. Would definitely recommend the Estate and would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caboolture, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed at The Estate in August 2011 on what was our first trip to Delhi and couldn't have been more pleased with the hospitality afforded by Mamta and her staff in this oasis to the south of the city proper. The Estate's rooms and dining area are slightly removed from the main residence, separated by gloriously manicured gardens. The garden and air conditioned rooms provided a great refuge from the searing heat of summer and space for the children to relax away from what was a hectic schedule.

We scored both a reasonable rate for the low season and dual rooms linked by a private living area that could also be shut off from the other guests - an ideal setup for our young family. All staff were welcoming and Mamta went out of her way to greet and plan some outings to the sights with us.

The home-cooked food was a great choice, whether for breakfast or optionally for lunch or dinner - and we found ourselves returning for evening dining at the residence more often than not.

Drivers and even tour operators for a day trip to Agra were organised efficiently on request and we didn't encounter any problems with the vast majority of them outside of the usual trip to commission shops - and even these we were politely asked if we were interested in, in advance.

We won't hesitate to come back to The Estate on what will be an inevitable return journey to Delhi in the coming years.

Room Tip: If you have a larger family or some friends staying with you, try to book the adjoining rooms just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elandant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrow-in-furness
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Peaceful location in the midst of the Delhi chaos. Very helpful and attentive staff (...if a little too attentive at times if you can appreciate this !). Food basic, but carefully prepared and reasonably priced. Rooms OK, if not he cleanest we have come across. A good choice if you don't want big hotels but don't want to go too down market.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hykev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theestatebnb, Owner at The Estate, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time and reviewing our property. Hygiene and cleanliness in all aspects are very important for us at The Estate. Based on your feedback we will look more closely into our housekeeping and ensure that the cleanliness of our rooms is improved even further. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm regards,
Mamta Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We enjoyed everybit of our stay..best place for a getaway...V couteous staff... Simple & delicious home food..
Its a home away from home...
One cant go wrong with this B&B...
Overall Excellent :)
Paarul bansal

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.6 km away
Avalon Courtyard
Avalon Courtyard
#149 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
10.5 km away
Colonel's Retreat
Colonel's Retreat
#4 of 1,049 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
4.9 km away
Tree Of Life
Tree Of Life
#5 of 1,049 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Chhoti Haveli
Chhoti Haveli
#30 of 1,049 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
12.2 km away
76 Friends Colony
76 Friends Colony
#28 of 1,049 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
4.8 km away
Saket Bed and Breakfast
Saket Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 1,049 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Estate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Estate

Property: The Estate
Address: 29 Sultanpur Estate Mandi Road | Mandi Jaunapur Road, Mehrauli, New Delhi 110030, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,049 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,778 - ₹ 7,462
Hotel Class:2 star — The Estate 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Estate is a charming bed and breakfast located in the green and exclusive Sultanpur Estate in Mehrauli. A registered Gold Category accommodation, it is ideally located in a twenty-five minutes driving radius from the Airport, Gurgaon, Vasant Vihar and Saket. The guesthouse is located in the annex of the main house - welcoming yet private. There are 6 rooms (including one family suite) and they all have individual charm, whether lawn facing or with private balconies, all have attached bathrooms and are well appointed with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Estate Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing