We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for 1-2 nights but check the room first!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Rak International
Ranked #577 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ok for 1-2 nights but check the room first!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed in two different rooms in this hostel. The first one was horrible, the mold was falling down from the ceiling onto the toilet seat, it was gross. We asked and were promised a different room for the next day but had to go down to the reception ourselves when we saw that another room had become free, they did not offer it to us by themselves, so if we had not seen it they would have just given it to someone else.

Anyway, that second room was decent, it had a big window towards the quiet street so mold was not an issue in this room. The beds were ok, pretty comfortable and no bugs.

The reception staff organized a private driver to Taj Mahal for 3,500 Rupies for the whole day, which we thought was a fair price for a car that actually had seatbelts in the back and a driver that did a good job. (However: if you plan to go there, rather take the train, we got stuck in traffic and it took us about 2-3 times as long as by train).

So all in all, definitely not the best hostel I ever stayed at, but these are hard to come by in Delhi… it’s ok for 1-2 nights if you just need a place to sleep and check the room for mold before you move in.

Room Tip: look at the room before moving in and check for mold. The bigger the window and air circulation the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank around_the_GL0BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAKNewDelhi, Owner at Hotel Rak International, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Hello

Thanks u so much for ur precious review trust me it really motivates us for improvement and I am so sorry about the first room(As I seriously aware of this situation ) that was given to u mam actually the thing is us u'v arrived during peak season and just because of that the hotel is full for all days and just because of that may be that fault was neglected anyways we worked on that fault immediately after leaving the room by u and it is fine now and in concern of another room it was very good and we already feel regret about it. And pls one ore thing any of our guest never complain about the insects as the hotel is very clean and we pay special attention about cockroaches, bed bugs, ants etc.


Best regards
Baljeet Chawla
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    17
    32
    15
    18
See reviews for
2
32
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We came to Delhi in the evening so we decided to choose one of the hotel recommended by LP guide and this was not very good idea. Room which we got was cheesy with small window but we were exhausted and we decided to stay. The real problem came later – noise. We had the room at ground floor near the reception and we hear all the voices. About 10pm service had always some kind of meeting I think and they didn’t talk normally but they always shouted.
Another thing that is annoying there is hot water. If you want to have hot water you have to ask each time to turn it on. Additionally staff sometimes forgets about it and you have to ask once again.
I think that you can find there better place for the same price. I don’t recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrzejPuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAKNewDelhi, Owner at Hotel Rak International, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Thanks u so much for ur precious review sir here I'd like to defend our team as u choose the room behind the reception it was completely ur wish as we gave the option to u and u choose the room with less price and in concern of noise after 10:00 p.m sir we provide 24 hrs check in so little bit noise is obvious and I hope u also believe that conversation is very important part of life specially when u r here to provide ur services any ways I am really sorry about this from my heart on behave of my team and myself.

And in concern of hot water sir again I'd like to put my point here and that is we gave u an individual geyser and it is I think happened in each and every budgeted hotel of world to hold the main power supply in hands of hotel staff for the sake of conservation of electricity otherwise the guests sometimes actually most of the time forget to close/ off the electricity appliance and resultant wastage of electricity or loss of the appliance but I think u must have noticed that we never refused to switch on the geyser.

So pls forgive us if u really find all this unsuitable for ur standard but we tried to gave all those infact more than that which we charged from u.

Best Regards
Baljeet
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Mussoorie, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

You won't wallow in luxury: but clean sheets, working fans, clean bathrooms, and a good kitchen make this a welcome stop. If you're looking to spend your time out in the city seeing sights and have a welcome place to return to once you're done - this is a perfect stop. I've stayed here twice (one with an air conditioned room, the other just with a fan) and the only wildlife that's come to visit has been a lizard--and that gecko was very happy to leave once he realised that there were neither roaches, ants, gnats, flies, spiders, or other such critters inside (which is a difference from a number of other stops!). The front desk staff is helpful, and the owner even helped get me something to darken my mehndi after it came out too pale - that's going above and beyond.

Room Tip: "AC" means Air Cooled - a fan. Ask for a room with air conditioner if you want one. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maitreyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAKNewDelhi, Owner at Hotel Rak International, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Hello

Thank u for the review and I am sorry about the lizard I still personally remember that incident and I am sorry about that actually that was the coincidence I don't know from where that lizard came into the room even after we really pay special attention that no insect can be there in the room but anyways we r really sorry about it it and from than we put peacock feather in each and every room they help in keeping the lizards out from the room.


Regards
Baljeet
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Hi people, this hotel was one of my last in india, like many people travelling via train and really getting a good taste for indian culture and cusine, The Rak International is a must, the staff are so friendly, both me and my travel buddy and best mate Gaz spent the evens sat on the roof talking to Ram and the other guys who work there. All of them worked so hard to privde you with what ever you wanted at anytime of the day of night. The indian people are very warm and willing to help, I think the only problem is the euorpean travellers sometimes dont understand how to show repect when in another country. Hats off to the Rak international and all its staff and many thanks for my pleasent stay and fantastic food.. PS loved the horse raddish Ram! it was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johncook14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAKNewDelhi, Owner at Hotel Rak International, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Thank you so much for the appreciation, trust me this motivate us and we try to serve much better than this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

For India standards this is a good place, but is not excellent. They sell you the toilet paper, so it is a good idea to pack some in your back pack. This hotel is in the middle of Main Bazar. It is crowed, and noisy but the Rak is a little bit away from the Main street so you can rest. If you are looking for a cheaper place so can check in the Main Bazar and for sure you will find something. But maybe not as clean, and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancyboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAKNewDelhi, Owner at Hotel Rak International, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Thank u so much for the precious review and thank so much too for putting the toilet paper point into the review as this activity of my staff is not into my knowledge but now I'll take care of it that they do not sell toilet paper as they are provided for free as a part of room service. We r really sorry about this.

Ur review is very beneficial for us so pls keep on reviewing.


Regards
Hotel RAK International
(owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Cottage Yes Please
#216 of 707 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#82 of 707 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Aman Continental
Hotel Aman Continental
#100 of 707 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Amax Inn
#34 of 707 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Vivek Hotel
#163 of 707 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Hotel Avtar
#238 of 707 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rak International? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rak International

Property: Hotel Rak International
Address: 820, Main Bazar, Chowk Bowli | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Region: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #577 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,232 - ₹ 1,426
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best hotel of area and offers serene refuge of comfort and hospitality. Offers blend of Indian Tradition and Modernity and become impressive with time. All rooms are filled with fresh air and light & special attention is paid on ventilation system and windows (every room has front and street view windows). Guest here can be assured of personal service and every 21st century convenience for a comfortable, quite and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rak International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing