We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Time at Red Frog Beach and Villas!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed in Villa 9 (shared villa) in one of the queen bedrooms in November 2012.

The villa definitely exceeded our expectations. The private pool was a great spot to have a dip after a day at red frog beach and the villa was spacious and great to relax in. The kitchen was more than large enough and the laundry machine was useful. Everything was clean and we really couldn't think of any complaints. As it was a shared villa, we were concerned of the noise from other guests, but after our 6 night stay we were never bothered once due to noise.

Red frog beach was beautiful and was never too crowded when we were there. I imagine the beach does get busier December onwards. Isla Bastiementos was a great place to get away and a good escape away from the business of Bocas Town. We were careful with our stuff on the beach but didn't feel like there was any threat to our belongings. There are sometimes local kids that come around with the "red frogs". Worth a $1 just to snap a picture.

We found the food to be at Kayukos and and Punta Lava great. Kayukos is more dinner fare, whereas Punta Lava is more burgers, nachos, etc. And local beer is cheap - $2/beer at Punta Lava! Panama, Atlas, Balboa are all very tasty. I personally enjoy eating local food while on vacation and Kayukos catered to my tastes. While we were there, Hans, the Resort Manager hosted an "Italian Night" at Punta Lava. We had an amazing time and couldn't believe that Hans actually sang (I swear that we actually thought it was a CD at first, but it was actually him!). We also found it very easy to go to Bocas Town for dinner. There are a few great dining options there for a change of pace. Pick up some food at the grocery store prior to coming over to cook some meals in the villa.

There is a "red frog taxi" at designated times, but essentially a lot of water taxis stop by the red frog dock so you can take any taxi. I believe the standard rate is $5 each one way, and then after 10pm it is $10 pp for all the taxis. We never had to wait for more than 5 mins for a taxi. Maybe could get it less with more people. If going at night, make sure the taxi has a pilot light as it gets quite dark. Taxi to bocas town from red frog is about 10 minutes.

For the comments about construction, Villa 9 is located in an area where the construction is primarily complete, and it was not a bother at all. From what we saw, much of the construction is in specific areas - perhaps inquire beforehand to see if villas getting constructed are nearby.

There is constantly resort staff cleaning around the villas (trimming shrubs, adding chlorine to the pool, etc.) and the condition of the villa was great.

Our one knock on the resort is that unfortunately the spa wasn't open when we were there. From what I understood it would be open sometime soon - best to check if this is something you are looking forward to do. The roads are unpaved but wasn't any hassle in our golf cart. We recommend getting a golf cart, but we are of the lazy type.

Lastly, I just wanted to say that Hans, the Resort Manager, helped make our experience one of the best vacations we have had thus far. He has tons of interesting stores and if you're lucky enough to be able to run into him at Kayukos or Punta Lava definitely try to have a chat! His hospitality is phenomenal and went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. We had an early morning flight at 8am to Costa Rica and had to leave red frog by 6am. Hans woke up and was at the dock at 6am making sure that we were able to get a water taxi that early.

We really can't wait to come back to Red Frog sometime in the future!!

Room Tip: Villa 9 is the shared villa. The queen bedrooms in Villa 9 are well appointed, but the king room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stewartjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 334 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

We enjoyed our trip but did not expect to feel so isolated. The villa was nice and there was a small pool. We used the golf cart which is a must as there is still a lot of construction and some of the villas are far away. The kids found the golf carts to be a lot of fun though and it made the trip feel more adventurous, but be prepared for potholes. The beach is very beautiful and the surf was very strong, my kids had a lot of fun playing in the water. The people working there are VERY friendly, especially the Manager and the hosts and the people working at the restaurants. But there are limited dining options and if you are there for a bit you will get tired of it. (very good pizza). It is a bit of a backpacker atmosphere but we felt that lent some charm to the place. We liked to hang out there, have coffee, play ping pong etc. The food was reasonably priced and of a decent quality. We enjoyed a few of the themed dinners at the restaurant by the beach which is generally only open at lunch (hamburgers etc) There were a lot of hard panamanian partiers at the beach during a few of our days, drinking a lot and out of control which was disappointing. (it was holiday time and I guess they all go to that beach in particular) We also felt that there is little concern for the environmental impact of this place. There was visible garbage scattered and the beach definitely had garbage laying around. There is a bit of a feeling that the panamanians just don't care what they are doing to the world and are looking to make a quick buck. The restaurant there was allowing styrofoam for take out from the restaurant. Not sure where those were going to go. You will see a lot of garbage as well in Bocas town. We felt the zipline was the best activity we did- my kids loved it and we felt it was fairly priced. We unfortunately felt we were taken for a ride with some of the other activities. The Red Frog needs to do a better job of controlling their vendors for the activities from the outside which are not cheap and are CASH only. Be prepared that it is expensive to go back and forth from the Red Frog resort to Bocas Town, but it is the only way to get food and money. Overall a good place but just stay for 3-4 days, have cash and be a little bit flexible on the food options.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ToniS1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastimentos, Manager at Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for coming during the holidays with your family! We think Red Frog Beach is an ideal place for families that want a beautiful peaceful setting with things to do and experience.
Glad you liked the zipline and enjoyed our friendly staff. Red Frog is a 10 or 15 minute water taxi ride away from Bocas town. Getting to Bocas during the day is $7 round trip on Jampan (sometimes less if you have more people). If you want to go at night, the water taxi boat driver will charge more.
Our staff and management care very much about the environmental impact on Isla Bastimentos. The resort has allowed for the reforestation of the island and has one of the best water treatment facilities in Central America. We can find suitable substitutes for recyclable materials and we keep our beaches clean. Note that the surf can range from larger waves to no waves at all during the year - check with our staff ahead of time if you are interested how the waves look during certain times of the year.
There are several food options at Red Frog. Villa guests can order food directly to their villa or have a private chef come and cook them an authentic meal. Punta Lava on the beach has a typical lunch menu with occasional theme night dinners and Kayukos offers many inexpensive options as well as some nicer dishes.
The geography of the island is very spread-out which makes it unique. We do have regular events at Punta Lava on the beach as a gathering spot for guests – You need to check with resort staff before arriving to know about the schedule for these events.
Thank you for coming – we hope you will come back again after our Grand Opening in 2013 and see all the improvements.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Having just spent eight days at Red Frog Beach in Villa #13 (which is the best two bedroom unit available), I leave with mixed feelings. While the villa was everything we had hoped for, there were some other negatives worth considering before you plan a stay at Red Frog Beach.

Having researched the property extensively online, I knew that the dining options on the island were limited, however, I had anticipated that we would go "off island" and try some other places in Bocas for dinner. We arrived from the airport in a rainstorm, and I can assure anyone that we were completely soaked despite wearing rainwear and taking a large water taxi with a rain/sun canopy. While the time of our travel was during the supposed "dry" season, it rained everyday and was overcast approximately 70% of the time. Since the rains were rather intense, it was virtually impossible to leave the island without getting completely soaking wet which would have made for a rather miserable dinner. As such, we did not leave the island (although we would have liked to) for the entire week. While the food at the restaurants on the island was reasonable (sometimes good, other times not very good at all), it became repetitive over time. Fortunately, we had stocked up on food and drinks upon our arrival at Bocas town, but this was not really sufficient to round out all of our meals.
I also realized that the roads are under development as are some of the villas, but it would seem to me that the gravel roads could be grated to smooth out the rather extensive potholes. I will add that you should definitely rent a golf cart as the distances from the villas to the beach and dock are significant.
I was positively impressed with the Manager and the staff at the property, but felt that they were short staffed, especially for the peak season between Christmas and New Year's. At the beach bar, Punta Lava, there was typically only one server at the bar who had to do the work of at least 3 or 4 people, taking orders, making drinks and saving food all at once. While it may not make sense to have that many staff all season, it would make sense to hire some additional people to cover the peak holiday season.
The zip line tour was a great experience, however, we did not go snorkeling or fishing given the poor weather/visibility. When we did our zip line tour, it was pouring rain, but that did not detract from the experience and even made it a little more exciting/interesting.
All in all we had a relaxing trip and loved our villa. I can't fault the place for the poor weather, but potential visitors should be aware that rain can negatively impact their experience as it negates the ability to take a water taxi (unless you don't mind arriving to your destination soaking wet). My suggestion would be to plan your trip in late January or February to mitigate the chances of rain negatively impacting your holiday.

Room Tip: Villa 13 has great views and a nice plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SlickWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

After travelling with our sailboat for 3 winter seasons in the caraibeen form the BVI we really loved the island. We decided to stay at the marina on our sailboat... After inviting to many friends to join us we decided to rent a villa for extra special time. Well, with vast space, magical view, access to internet my husband and I decided to have our second home on the island. It's been a year of pur pleasure, we go back to our villa as many time we can (every 6-8 weeks). Any time is great, the lush forest, the sound of the nature, the smell of the flowers is just pure paradis! We have 3 bedrooms, 2 washrooms and a 3 level infinity pool with a amazing view. The staff is very respecfull and always smilling. We love going at bocas town for fresh fruits and veggies. We also enjoye teasty seafood. Ir's been so pleasent that our sailboat is going for sail since we never bern back in it since we have the villa. Down side the flights... Air panama web booking is a pain... But with time more ootions to get to bocas will be provided i am certain of this.

Gillianne and family from villa mariposa

Room Tip: The villas are luxerious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gillianneandstephane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I visited the Resort with friends in spring 2012. It consists of bungalows scattered on the island's hills. Ours was villa 26 which is one of the highest with a splendid view of the ocean. It was very roomy, clean and has all amenities and is decorated with gusto. It has a beautiful veranda where you can lounge and read while looking at the sea. It is situated where the zip line starts, it is recommended to use a cart especially when bringing shopping back. You need to organize food as you arrive on the main island to take with you to Red Frog as there are no shops on the island itself except a small convenience store. If you have forgotten, the local boats wait for you at the marina or you can book them and they show up on time even very early in the morning to take you to the main island. The main island has all types of shops for all tastes and is very pleasant, we did numerous trips back and forth between both islands. The Red Frog island has a small beach restaurant where you can eat excellent fish tacos at lunch with great cold beers and you can have a very tasty dinner by candlelight. The beaches are spotless and surfers love their waves. It is safer to swim on the side with a lifeguard as there are strong currents. We booked a snorkelling trip, saw dolphins and beautiful unspoilt and protected corals and ate great tasting langoustes. All in all, it was a very good and relaxing trip where you can stay at the villa and enjoy a day at the pool or go out and visit the surrounding islands and shop or just go to the beach. The local Panamanian people are very welcoming and willing to let you try your spanish without laughing too much, I'd go back anytime.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Citadellian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
6.1 km away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
423 reviews
5.9 km away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
551 reviews
5.9 km away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#5 of 20 in Isla Colon
313 reviews
16.6 km away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
7.0 km away
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa

Address: Bocas del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range: ₹ 10,407 - ₹ 21,398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Frog Beach offers upscale villas, rooms and Jungle Lodges to rent with private pools and so much adventure to enjoy on Isla Bastimentos. If you like nice beaches and exploring jungle. Awarded at Panama's most beautiful beach and resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Frog Beach Hotel Isla Bastimentos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing