We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Did the Zip Line”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We did not stay at Red Frog Beach Resort, but we did go for the Zip Line. It was $100 for my wife and I ($50 Each) and it lasted about 2 hrs with the safety lesson and walking time. So about 1.5 hrs on the lines or course total. It was great because we only had another person on the zip line tour/course with us. It would probably taken a lot longer if we were in peak season, so make sure to call and get a good time to go so its not so packed... Over all, glad we did it and would do it again.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Porfiriopicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 401 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

if you are looking for a beautiful ocean setting with no crowds this is the place..five star hotels have nothing on this place.one can lay by the ocean peacefully. the villas were beautiful and immaculate.the island service help second to none.Iwe fell in love with red frog beach resort.great staff. I will be back as soon as possible..unlike cancun or similar resort beaches one leaves completely rested. no noise. a must place to visit..

Room Tip: the villa we stayed in was a mansion.completely furnished.very upscale furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michael562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Went in with low expectations since our family just traveled to the Galapogos Islands last spring break - But we were happilly surprised by the Villas - Beaches - Fun Food -I agree that a higher quality restaurant is need but the development is new and I am sure someone will build one. The zipline/obstacle course rivaled Costa Rica's Zips and the owners were very friendly and helpfull. Tours were easily set up and the guides were great. We are planning on going back to Red Frog beach, possibly to purchase a villa.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JerryP315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed at villa #9, which was huge, very comfortable and a little secluded. Nice terrass and swimming pool. You definitely need a golf cart to travel the Island. Canopy-Tour and renting a boat for a day was fun (snorkeling, spotting dolphins). Winston, at the entree-desk, was a great help arranging boats. Bocas town and Old town on Bastimentos were fun to go to for lunch and dinner.
Bad experiences were the beaches. Not only because of the sandflies, but the laid-back backpacker-atmosphere did not fit with the luxury of the villa. Kayukos is a poor restaurant, on the quality of the food, but especially on service, which was below any level. Too bad you can't buy anything to eat on the island.
All together, no regrets, but we will not be back here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Diederik_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BocasBound, Manager at Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your visit to Red Frog Beach. We appreciate your feedback and we apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. We do take your concerns very seriously and appreciate your comments.

There are 5 beaches on Isla Bastimentos. Red Frog Beach proper has a reputation for being one of the top beaches in Panama so on a given day there will be 50 to 400 people there. However, the other 4 beaches on Bastimentos are equally as beautiful and have far fewer visitors. In fact, Turtle Beach which is located right below the Villa accommodations has much less traffic than Red Frog Beach even though it is only a 10 minute walk to Red Frog Beach.

We have recently welcomed to our Red Frog team a very experienced restaurant manager who is in the process of improving Red Frog’s food options. Kayukos is meant to be an affordable food option and fun atmosphere for guests. In addition to the two restaurants at Red Frog we also offer a Private Chef Service to cook and serve a personal meal in your villa.

We also do appreciate your kind, positive comments on your stay and hope to welcome you back at some point.
Sincerely,
The Red Frog Team…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My family and I stayed 3 days at the red frog villas in july. I had a ton of questions...not knowing exactly what i was getting into. Katie from customer service led me through the entire process..answering questions and making me feel more at ease. Getting to the island is an adventure in itself with the water taxis. Sherryl our villa host was great..she met us and took us to our fabulous villa..and showed us around. We toured, we ziplined, we body surfed in the great waves, we hung out at the lodge. Fun experience!!
Things to know/additional costs: the villas charge extra for electricity over a certain kilowatts..being on light patrol can be somewhat of a bummer on vacation..especially with kids watching tv etc..satellite tv has majority spanish channels, there is no housekeeping services during your stay, villa deposit if damage occurs is $1000 usd, golf cart rentals are expensive ($40/day) but the walking can be extreme with luggage and/or children as roads are unpaved and unlit, beach can be very rough with strong currents ..be careful, going back and forth to Bocas island can be expensive ($6-10/person)..activity center will help arrange tours and restaurant has tasty and well priced food..the zipline rocks! Hail out to Alex, Kas, Jesus and Rouseu!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oneglobehopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Bastimentos
6.1 km away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
437 reviews
5.9 km away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
565 reviews
5.9 km away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
74 reviews
12.6 km away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
317 reviews
16.6 km away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa

Address: Bocas del Toro, Isla Bastimentos, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Bastimentos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Isla Bastimentos
Price Range: ₹ 12,372 - ₹ 26,212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Frog Beach offers upscale villas, rooms and Jungle Lodges to rent with private pools and so much adventure to enjoy on Isla Bastimentos. If you like nice beaches and exploring jungle. Awarded at Panama's most beautiful beach and resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Frog Beach Hotel Isla Bastimentos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing