We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Palma Royale(Bocas Town)
US$ 94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Panama's Paradise Saigoncito(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$ 34
US$ 22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotelito Del Mar(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$ 64
US$ 55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Jardines Vista del Mar Condos(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$ 67
US$ 50
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 106
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lula's Bed and Breakfast(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$ 64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 116
US$ 113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostal Hansi(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$ 26
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Surfari B&B(Bocas Town)(Great Value!)
US$ 39
US$ 28
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
61
56
51
31
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
56
51
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig balconylate night noisestar hoteloverlooking the baynight lifespacious roomevery morningthe ownerfresh fruitwaterbocasislandtowndylandecktaxis
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Bocas Paradise Hotel was good for a weekend in Bocas town. We didn’t spend much time in the room but occasionally when we were there the water wasn’t running. ( possibly because of construction on the main road/ island living) We has a room on the side of the hotel with a balcony( nice to watch the water taxis going in and out), however on the weekend the club next door was blasting music till 3 am... didn’t bother us because we are heavy sleepers but for someone who is a light sleeper/ goes to bed early- probably not for you. The bed was comfy, however the blanket had an odd smell to it. Breakfast is included however- you must get up early to eat. We went down to eat around 9:45 and they were packing things up. We never ended up eating the breakfast but I have heard good things. Friendly staff.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

First, let me tell you where Bocas Paradise Hotel is located: on either side, you have the town’s busiest water taxi stations, which means that from 7am onwards, you feel like you are in the middle of the Saigon river, boat engines and diesel fumes included. Then, 10 meters to the left, you have Barco Hundido, the town’s best known and loudest (open air, of course) disco. Which means that until 4am you are basically “sleeping” in the middle of a Latin music festival. So, if you are lucky, you get 3 hours of rest, between 4 and 7am. BTW contrary to what the manager will tell you, the open air disco noise is not an unavoidable curse in Bocas Town, the hotel we went to after we left “Paradise” was perfectly quiet.

Granted, these handicaps are not the hotel’s fault, but the least you can say is that the establishment doesn’t really make up for them by taking customer service to the next level. We had chosen the Deluxe room (US$ 126 rack rate, 94 for 4 nights+, which was our case). For this we were promised a large room (check), with a nice sea view (check), a kitchenette with a micro-wave (not there). The room was extremely bare: not even a chair, not even a table! Two plastic chairs on the balcony. The huge and tired “kitchen” serves absolutely no purpose: not even one glass, one cup, one spoon, nada. Just a sink. There were stains on the sheets and hairs in the bathroom. Drainage in the shower does not work, neither does one of the lamps (which gives this already cell-looking room a very spooky atmosphere at night). The A/C must have been bought out of a lot of decommissioned 1972 US motels: you know, the kind of machine that is hanging off the wall, has two positions (freeze /extra freeze) and makes the noise of a DC8. Everything is severely rusted, which is understandable in this location, but when you charge these rates, you should use some of your income to maintain the place. Breakfast, like everything else there, is under the motto “let’s charge the customer big time and cut corners big time”: stale bread, mushy watermelon, margarine, orange juice straight out of the can.

There is plenty of staff, none of whom seeming really concerned/interested/in charge. The only thing that makes the desk staff tick is to have you pay for your whole stay as soon as you check in; given the rip off that the place is, this is understandable on their behalf, but we smelled a rat and did not give in to their insistence (lucky us, so we escaped early unscathed financially).

So, in a nutshell: the reason why this “Paradise Hotel” has been labelled by a major guidebook an “upmarket inn” really escapes me. It is just an over-priced place that has seen better days, located in an extremely noisy environment and staffed by employees with an attitude.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brindavoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyllan M, General Manager at Bocas Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Well firstly let’s be polite and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Let’s look as some of the truths here - yes we are located centrally in a busy little Caribbean village, it can be noisy sometimes, but we are located perfectly for tours, bars and restaurants. Your did have a large suite furnished with Bali furniture and breathtaking views. We do not promise a kitchen, we do not want our guests cooking in the rooms for safety reasons. The air conditioners in the hotel are all brand new. Myself and my staff are always present and take great pride in our work and in the hotel. The breakfast is coffee, juice, 3 fruits, breaks, a choice of 4 eggs styles including and omelette and sausage, what you described is simply not true. Now as for payment on arrival - I travel all over the world and am always asked to pay at check in, try get on a flight or a cruise ship without paying, this is perfectly normal and done everywhere, why would you see this as strange ? I’m sorry you did not enjoy the hotel, it is so important to us that you do, in this case this is such a divorce from reality I really have no words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

Okay, this is not a 5 star hotel. But it is a comfortable and clean hotel. It is close to many restaurants, shopping etc. Our room was clean. Wi-Fi worked well. We had a room facing the water with a big balcony that was very nice. Bed very comfy. Front staff very nice and helpful, as was the server at breakfast. Breakfast choices were decent, fresh fruit, coffee, bottled juice, toast, eggs. Room safes not working during our stay, but we’re able to keep our valuables in the office safe. Hot water in the shower not long lasting, but we didn’t fret. I would suggest that maybe they could provide glasses in the room, and at least one bottle of water to get you started. There is a bit of late night noise from a bar close by, so would suggest choosing a room on the side away from there (rhs if you are looking at the water), if noise is a problem.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank laxjunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Bocas Paradise Hotel is a great jumping off place for discovering Bocas Town. Located in the very heart of this colorful, vibrant, and sometimes crazy pueblo, Bocas Paradise is an oasis. I enjoyed a genuine welcome at reception and the smiling faces and greetings from kitchen and housekeeping staff. The owner Dylan is a warm and gracious host.

I loved my spacious room and the big balcony overlooking the bay and the islands beyond. The sunrises were beautiful and a late night thunderstorm produced a light show that was spectacular from that vantage point. Birders will especially like the endless flights of pelicans, gulls and frigate birds.

My room featured a king-size bed, a kitchen area with a sink and mini-fridge, an excellent a/c and a dependable Wi-Fi connection. The bathroom shower had an ample supply of hot water. However, I was glad that I'd packed my own hair dryer since there was not one available in my bath

I slept very well; the mattress and soft linens were wonderful. I didn't even hear the noisy music down the way over the a/c and was glad for that! Housekeeping did a good job keeping the room and hallway shipshape.

Breakfast in the dining room or waterside in the adjoining outside deck is a treat. Made-to-order eggs, bacon, toast and jam, and fresh tropical fruit were topped off with hot coffee and cold orange juice.

In short, I was pleased with everything about this hotel, including the price!

Room Tip: There are six rooms that face the bay, so request them early if the view is important for you.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Hotel is pretty standard, rooms have a balcony which makes it nice and clean service goes in every day, the view of the sea is cool and peaceful, its close to everything and makes it easier to go around the islands, we stayed for 3 nights and it was AOK, breakfast included and a mini fridge in the room, plus the AC and private bathroom.. if you stay on the west side of the hotel you will hear the music at the close Clubs at night.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank zerjzuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyllan M, General Manager at Bocas Paradise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Many thanks for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews