We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Highly Recommend!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koko Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koko Resort
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Isla Colon
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

If you are looking for a great B&B near Bocas town that still feels isolated and tranquil - this is the spot!

Jack and his wife Lee are the best hosts you could ask for. They are extremely helpful with arranging excursions. They helped us book every single activity we did while we were there for 5 nights. They would just ask us what we wanted to do the next day, make some suggestions, and then have a boat waiting for us the next morning to take us off to explore the gorgeous islands surrounding Bocas.

Be sure and read the "Must Read FAQ" on their website and if you qualify I would highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seanaboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    64
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
71
147
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Valley, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

A lovely place to stay. It was like living on a boat. Very clean and comfortable. Delicious breakfast while being entertained by our host. Certainly recommend this facility.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnacolangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bocas Town, Panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We spent 5 nights here in late january and we loved it. It was a cute Cabin clean and breezy and we hade a wonderful terass. The owner Jack made us wonderful breakfast everey morning. The location was good. We highly recommend these cabins. Try it! you vill never forget it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bippe60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We use tripadvisor all the time, but we've never written a review, and we've decided to review Koko Resort because that's how much we loved it! My boyfriend and I stayed there for 5 days at the end of Jan to beginning of Feb, and it is in the top 2 of all time best places we've ever stayed in the world. Koko Resort is the sister establishment of Bahia Del Sol, which is a bed and breakfast two doors down, which is where a delicious home cooked breakfast is served every morning. Jack (breakfast cook) and Lee have opened up their home to guests, 8 people can stay in Bahia Del Sol, and Koko is a series of 6 cabins IN (not ON) the water. We're from NYC, so one cabin was huge for us!
It is located in Saigon Bay, not in downtown Bocas, which is only a 15 minute walk or a 60 cent per person, 3 minute cab ride away. Most restaurants, shops, and tour companies are located in Bocas Town. Koko is located in a charming residential neighborhood, but remember Panama is a third world country. You will see children running around barefoot playing baseball, lazy dogs lying in the sun, the lady across the way cutting coconuts in the morning and then doing the neighborhood's laundry by hand the rest of the day. The 5 year old boy next door even taught us how to fish off our dock using just a hook and line. You will also see trash all over the island, but the hotel itself is immaculately clean.
We stayed in the Palm Cabin, it is two floors like all the cabins, it has two futons on the first floor that can be used as couches or beds, a fully equipped kitchen and bathroom on the first floor, and a bedroom on the 2nd floor with a large bed. Each cabin also has a porch overlooking the water, which contains a hammock, two lounge chairs, and two bar style high chairs and a ledge to eat meals on. There is also a balcony upstairs. There is AC in the cabins, however we only used it a few times, because there is always a nice cool breeze from the water.
Jack and Lee are two ex-pats from the states. Jack cooks breakfast, also run 9 Degrees, a fantastic restaurant in Bocas Town, he is very charming and funny, and my boyfriend is convinced he is mayor of Bocas del Toro because he knows EVERYONE and can get anything done. Of course, behind every successful man, is a woman who runs the entire show. Lee is a smart ex-lawyer and retired professor. They set up all our excursions, of which we did many, and then they always wanted to hear about what happened. They treated us like family. Jack picked us up from the airport at 7:30AM, and our cabin was already ready when we arrived. He even cooked breakfast for us that morning (breakfast was also different every day!). Breakfast is technically served from 7 to 11, but on our last day our flight left at 7:30, so Jack and Lee woke up at 5:30 to get breakfast ready for us. We did a few very muddy hikes in the rainforest and Lee offered to do our laundry because she didn't want us taking muddy clothes back. Service doesn't get better than that :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatD1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed in the Koko cabins for a few days at the end of January. The cabins are open and clean. We spent a whole day just lying in the hammock and relaxing on the dock. In the evening we would bring our chairs out to the end of the dock and chat with over travelers.

The cabins are a 15 minute walk to Bocas Town and the walk is very safe. The cabins are in a more residential location, and the locals are friendly - they always smile and say good morning. The Town is nice and busy in the evening, there are a few good places to eat but the highlight is finding places with homemade hot sauce!We bought some to bring back - it was delicious!

Jack and Lea are friendly and very helpful. They will help arrange anything you need and give great recommendations. They hooked us up with a private boat with a few other travelers and we had an amazing tour of the islands, snorkeling and an amazing local lunch in a cabin on the water!

The last night of the trip, we opened up all the windows of the cabin and let the sea air cool us off. It was amazing, especially to wake up to the sounds of the water underneath you,

I highly recommend these cabins! An amazing experience I'll never forget.

Room Tip: We stayed in Orchid. Perfect for a couple and a great view of the sunset at night. But they all loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibblestick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Colon
1.4 km away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotelito Del Mar
Hotelito Del Mar
#4 of 13 in Bocas Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.5 km away
Bocas Paradise Hotel
Bocas Paradise Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bocas Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
7.1 km away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koko Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koko Resort

Property: Koko Resort
Address: Las Cabanas, Isla Colon, Panama
Region: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Colon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Isla Colon
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,513 - ₹ 10,129
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a picture postcard. Cabins built over the water of a beautiful bay. Various size houses. Steps from the beach. 5 Minutes to town. Fantastic sunsets from the dock and lit up fish viewing at night. Full kitchens, AC, fans, maid and laundry service. Full time security, Safety boxes in rooms. Wireless Internet. Kayaks, bikes, snorkel masks free. Grocery delivery. We speak English and Spanish and will help you with arrangements for a perfect vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Koko Hotel Isla Colon
Koko Resort Isla Colon, Panama - Bocas Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing